Anna Clementi

Anna Clementi

© Federica Tuzi

Music Theatre

Kassandra

Monodrama for actress, instrumental ensemble and electronics (1993/1997)
based on the story by Christa Wolf (adaptation Gerhard Wolf)

Music Theatre

“Kassandra” is the story of an outsider in a state at war. In Greek mythology she prophecies the fall of her hometown Troy, which at first no one believes. Bound socially to the ruling elite and emotionally to her father, she fights for her autonomy until her death.

At the beginning of the 1980s, during the Cold War between East and West which culminated in the nuclear arms race, German author Christa Wolf (1929-2011) took up the myth of this tragic figure in her story titled “Kassandra”. The emblematic story, which was able to be published simultaneously in both the German Federal Republic and the German Democratic Republic in 1983, suddenly catapulted the author to fame. In an encrypted form she related the antique myth to the authoritarian patriarchal conditions in her country.

Swiss composer Michael Jarrell placed the inner monologue of the intellectual “soothsayer” at the centre of his dramatic musical production. The grueling self-analysis, spoken by the charismatic Anna Clementi, is incorporated into the exciting music of a “miniature orchestra” that includes electronics and in which the drums play a prominent role.

“I have always found myself more drawn to images than to words, I suppose that is strange and a contradiction to my calling. The end will be an image, not a word. Images die before words”, says Kassandra.

The new staging of the monodrama takes up these thoughts. The imagery of Christa Wolf’s texts is emphasized using video sequences that give speaker Anna Clementi the opportunity to “enter” via live camera.

Anna Clementi, Cassandra

Michael Jarrell, composition
Pamela Hunter, direction
Dalibor Pyš / Vox MultiMedia Ostrava, film
Andre Bartetzki, live electronics

ensemble unitedberlin
Andrea Pestalozza, conductor
Nimrod Opera Zurich, production

A production of Nimrod Opera Zurich, organized by media arts productions, Zurich in collaboration with Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik and Radialsystem V. With support of Pro Helvetia

Anna Clementi

Anna Clementi

© Federica Tuzi

Musiktheater

Kassandra

Monodrama für Sprecherin und Instrumentalensemble mit Elektronik (1993/1997)
nach der Erzählung von Christa Wolf (Bearbeitung Gerhard Wolf)

Musiktheater

„Kassandra“ ist die Geschichte einer Außenseiterin in einem kriegführenden Staat. In der griechischen Mythologie prophezeit sie den Untergang ihrer Heimatstadt Troja, findet jedoch kein Gehör. Sozial gebunden an die herrschende Oberschicht und emotional an ihren Vater gefesselt, ringt sie bis zu ihrem Tod um ihre Autonomie.

Zu Beginn der 1980er Jahre, während der Kalte Krieg zwischen Ost und West mit der nuklearen Hochrüstung einen Höhepunkt erlangt, greift die deutsche Schriftstellerin Christa Wolf (1929–2011) in ihrer Erzählung Kassandra den Mythos dieser tragischen Figur auf. Die emblematische Erzählung, die 1983 zeitgleich in der Bundesrepublik und der DDR publiziert werden konnte, machte die Autorin auf einen Schlag berühmt. In verschlüsselter Form bezieht sie den antiken Mythos auf die autoritär-patriarchal geprägten Verhältnisse in ihrem Land.
Der Schweizer Komponist Michael Jarrell stellte in seinem Musiktheaterwerk den inneren Monolog der intellektuellen „Seherin“ in den Mittelpunkt. Die aufreibende Selbstanalyse, gesprochen von der charismatischen Anna Clementi, ist eingebunden in die spannungsvolle Musik eines „Miniatur-Orchesters“, das Elektronik mit einbezieht und in dem das Schlagzeug eine prominente Rolle spielt.
„Ich habe immer mehr an Bildern gehangen als an Worten, es ist wohl merkwürdig und ein Widerspruch zu meiner Berufung. Das letzte wird ein Bild sein, kein Wort. Vor den Bildern sterben die Wörter“, so spricht Kassandra.
Die neue Inszenierung des Monodramas greift diese Gedanken auf. Durch Videosequenzen, in die die Sprecherin Anna Clementi per Live-Kamera „eintreten“ kann, wird die Bildhaftigkeit des Textes von Christa Wolf betont.

Anna Clementi, Kassandra

Michael Jarrell, Komposition
Pamela Hunter, Inszenierung
Dalibor Pyš / Vox MultiMedia Ostrava, Film
Andre Bartetzki, Live-Elektronik

ensemble unitedberlin
Andrea Pestalozza, Leitung
Nimrod Opera Zurich, Produktion

Eine Produktion von Nimrod Opera Zurich, organisiert von media arts productions, Zürich in Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik und Radialsystem V. Mit Unterstützung von Pro Helvetia