Thomas Ankersmit

Thomas Ankersmit

© Mich Leeman

Concert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Thomas Ankersmit / Marcelo Aguirre & Jens Brand

Sonic Arts Lounge

The fascinating thing today about analogue synthesizers, the dinosaurs of electronic music of the 20th century, is their unpredictable and imprecise nature. Sounds oscillate, shift, modulate. The electric current, which flows through resistors, condensers and circuits, and also the synthesized sound become tangible. Timbre and tonal intensity are directly accessible.

It is for this reason that Dutch-born musician and artist Thomas Ankersmit, who divides his time between Berlin and Amsterdam, has focused on the tonal possibilities offered by analogue audio technologies for many years now. “Stress Patterns” is a four channel audio composition for Serge analogue modular synthesizer, contact microphones and computer. In his concert, Thomas Ankersmit combines recordings he made of old original Serge synthesizers at the CalArts Electronic Music Studios with a live performance on his own instrument.

Argentine musician Marcelo Aguirre and Berlin-based artist Jens Brand have named their three-part performance for percussion and video “Zé Bif – bloody conceptualism in three parts”. Their point of departure is the congruence of several aspects of death metal – extremely loud, extremely fast, extremely slow – with certain characteristics of conceptual art – extreme focus, extreme structure. There is as little room for death metal music in conceptual art as there is for the concept in death metal, say the artists. Marcelo Aguirre and Jens Brand want to change this.

Thomas Ankersmit
Stress Patterns
Audio composition (2012) GP

Marcelo Aguirre & Jens Brand
Zé Bif – bloody conceptualism in three parts
for percussion, video and electronics (2011/2013) WP of the new, complete version
I Zé Mit
for percussion and video
II Zé Bohn
for percussion and microphone
III Zé Hart
for four snare drums, sampler and video

Thomas Ankersmit, Serge analog synthesizer / computer / microphone

Marcelo Aguirre, percussion
Jens Brand, video/electronics
Sukandar Katardinata, programming

In collaboration with Technical University Berlin – Audio Communication Group – Electronical Studio and Berghain

Thomas Ankersmit

Thomas Ankersmit

© Mich Leeman

Konzert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Thomas Ankersmit / Marcelo Aguirre & Jens Brand

Sonic Arts Lounge

Das heute Faszinierende an analogen Synthesizern, den Dinosauriern der elektronischen Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts, ist ihre unberechenbare und unpräzise Natur. Töne schwanken, kippen, modulieren. Der durch Widerstände, Kondensatoren und Schaltkreise fließende Strom und auch der synthetisierte Klang wird damit in seiner Physis greifbar. Ein direkter Zugriff auf Klangfarbe und Klangintensität ist somit möglich.

Der niederländische, in Berlin und Amsterdam lebende Musiker und Künstler Thomas Ankersmit beschäftigt sich aus diesem Grund seit vielen Jahren mit den klanglichen Möglichkeiten analoger Audiotechnologien. „Stress Patterns“ ist eine vierkanalige Audiokomposition für analoge modulare Serge Synthesizer, Kontaktmikrophone und Computer. In seinem Konzert kombiniert Thomas Ankersmit Aufnahmen, die er von alten originalen Serge Synthesizern in den CalArts Electronic Music Studios gemacht hat, mit einer Live-Performance an seinem eigenen Instrument.

„Zé Bif – bloody conceptualism in three parts“ betiteln der argentinische Musiker Marcelo Aguirre und der in Berlin lebende Künstler Jens Brand ihre dreiteilige Performance für Perkussion und Video. Ihr Ausgangspunkt ist die Kongruenz einiger Aspekte des Death Metal – extrem laut, extrem schnell, extrem langsam – mit bestimmten Merkmalen der Konzeptkunst – extremer Fokus, extreme Struktur. Die Musik des Death Metal hat ebenso wenig in der Konzeptkunst einen Platz, wie das Konzept einen Ort im Death Metal, so die Künstler. Marcelo Aguirre und Jens Brand wollen diesen Umstand ändern.

Thomas Ankersmit
Stress Patterns
Audiokomposition (2012) DE

Marcelo Aguirre & Jens Brand
Zé Bif – bloody conceptualism in three parts
für Perkussion, Video und Elektronik (2011/2013) UA der neuen, vollständigen Fassung
I Zé Mit
für Perkussion und Video
II Zé Bohn
für Perkussion und Mikrophone
III Zé Hart
für vier Snare Drums, Sampler und Video

Thomas Ankersmit, Serge Analog-Synthesizer/Computer/Mikrophone

Marcelo Aguirre, Perkussion
Jens Brand, Video/Elektronik
Sukandar Katardinata, Programmierung

In Zusammenarbeit mit Technische Universität Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation – Elektronisches Studio und Berghain