Sharif Sehnaoui

Sharif Sehnaoui

© Tanya Traboulsi

Concert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Mazen Kerbaj & Sharif Sehnaoui / Erdem Helvacioğlu & Ulrich Mertin

Sonic Arts Lounge

“Wormholes” is an ongoing audiovisual project by Mazen Kerbaj and Sharif Sehnaoui, two artists from the free improvisation scene in Lebanon who have been collaborating since the late 1990s. In 2008, painter, cartoonist, author and musician Mazen Kerbaj devised a set-up in which he draws live on stage, projecting his painting process onto a screen. He draws on a prepared, illuminated glass panel using a wide array of inks and bottles with various brushes, window wipers, colours and solvents. His movements turn into textures and figures that are constantly painted over, reappearing and disappearing. Coincidental effects determine the nature of his improvisation.

In the meantime, Sharif Sehnaoui coaxes unusual sounds from his guitar: it transforms into his percussive instrument. Sometimes energetic, sometimes gentle, he pounds on its corpus with his sticks. Audible are heavy sounds and rhythms that draw circles and then become thin and tamed again. Between these and the sequences of Kerbaj’s drawings emerge unintended, coincidental points of interference that provide the impetus for an open and free colour-sound voyage.

As any filmmaker knows, one of the most powerful aspects of music is its ability to construct emotional arcs and guide narrative by purely sonic means. Simultaneously ethereal and concrete, both spectral and textural, “Planet X”–the debut collaboration between guitarist Erdem Helvacioğlu and violist Ulrich Mertin – tells the story of the appearance in the sky of a new heavenly body and follows one hapless explorer’s quest to discover what lies at its heart. Over the course of two years, Helvacioğlu and Mertin composed and crafted this project, building up layers of jagged scratching sounds, plaintive melodies, percussive hits, and dark drones. The two artists grounded the sound of the album in strings but also employed unorthodox recording techniques, sophisticated processing algorithms, and multi-tracking to achieve a rich, complex, resonant texture. Throughout, the sound is unmistakably forward-looking, evocative of the project’s science fiction themes and redolent of the eerie, sometimes dark feel of sci-fi films like “Alien”, “Moon”, and “2001”.

Mazen Kerbaj & Sharif Sehnaoui
Wormholes (2009)

Erdem Helvacioğlu & Ulrich Mertin
Planet X (2012)

Mazen Kerbaj, ink/solvent
Sharif Sehnaoui, prepared guitar

Erdem Helvacioğlu, TogaMan GuitarViol/e-guitar/electronics
Ulrich Mertin, viola/5-string-e-violin/voice

In collaboration with Berghain

Sharif Sehnaoui

Sharif Sehnaoui

© Tanya Traboulsi

Konzert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Mazen Kerbaj & Sharif Sehnaoui / Erdem Helvacioğlu & Ulrich Mertin

Sonic Arts Lounge

„Wormholes“ ist ein fortlaufendes audio-visuelles Projekt von Mazen Kerbaj und Sharif Sehnaoui, zwei Künstler aus der freien Improvisationsszene im Libanon, die seit den späten 1990er Jahren zusammenarbeiten. Im Jahr 2008 entwickelte der Maler, Comiczeichner, Autor und Musiker Mazen Kerbaj ein Set-up, bei dem er live auf der Bühne zeichnet und seinen Malprozess auf eine Leinwand projiziert. Er agiert zwischen Farbtöpfen und Flaschen mit diversen Bürsten, Wischern, Farben und Flüssigkeiten auf einer präparierten, beleuchteten Glasfläche. Seine Bewegungen werden zu Texturen und Figuren, die stetig übermalt werden, auftauchen und wieder verschwinden. Zufällige Effekte bestimmen den Gestus seiner Improvisation.

Währenddessen entlockt Sharif Sehnaoui seiner Gitarre ungewöhnliche Klänge: Sie wird sein Schlagwerk. Mal energisch, mal sanft schlägt er mit seinen Sticks ihren Korpus. Schwere, Kreise ziehende, dann wieder dünne und verhaltene Klangmuster und Rhythmen werden hörbar. Zwischen ihnen und den Sequenzen der Zeichnungen Kerbajs entstehen unbeabsichtigte, zufällige Interferenzen, die den Anstoß für eine offene und freie Farb-Klangimagination geben.

Die große Stärke von Musik ist, durch rein akustische Mittel emotionale Bögen schlagen und den Zuschauer durch eine Geschichte führen zu können. „Planet X”, die erste Zusammenarbeit des Gitarristen Erdem Helvacioğlu und des Geigers Ulrich Merten, erzählt auf zugleich ätherische und konkrete, spektrale und strukturelle Weise, wie ein neuer Himmelskörper am Firmament erscheint und ein Forscher sich aufmacht, um herauszufinden, was in dessen Kern liegt. Zwei Jahre lang haben Helvacioğlu und Mertin an dieser Komposition gearbeitet und gefeilt, haben Schichten aus schroffen, kratzenden Tönen, klagenden Melodien, treibenden Percussionbeats und dunklem Dröhnen übereinandergelegt. Streichinstrumente bilden die Grundlage für den Klang des Albums, aber die beiden Künstler nutzten auch ungewöhnliche Aufnahmetechniken, ausgeklügelte Verarbeitungsalgorithmen und Multitracking, um ein dichtes, komplexes und resonantes Klanggewebe zu erzeugen. Das Ergebnis wirft einen Blick in die Zukunft, evoziert das Science Fiction-Thema des Projekts und erinnert an die unheimliche, manchmal dunkle Atmosphäre von Filmen wie „Aliens”, „Moon” und „2001”.

Mazen Kerbaj & Sharif Sehnaoui
Wormholes (2009)

Erdem Helvacioğlu & Ulrich Mertin
Planet X (2012)

Mazen Kerbaj, Tinte/Lösungsmittel
Sharif Sehnaoui, präparierte Gitarre

Erdem Helvacioğlu, TogaMan GuitarViol/E-Gitarre/Elektronik
Ulrich Mertin, Viola/5-Saiten-E-Violine/Stimme

In Zusammenarbeit mit Berghain