Anne-Sophie Mutter

Anne-Sophie Mutter

© Harald Hoffmann / Deutsche Grammophon

Concert
Opening Concert

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

Opening Concert

19:00 work introduction

The concert will be streamed live on www.arteliveweb.com and is available for three weeks. The orchestra works will remain in the archive of ARTE Live Web and on the website of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra for six months.

The first time I heard her play “Łańcuch II” (“Chain II”) it was a unique and unforgettable experience for me. I had never dared to dream of such a sound and that kind of interpretation of my violin compositions. The memory of her playing has constantly accompanied my thoughts surrounding later violin compositions. For that I am endlessly grateful to her.
Witold Lutosławski on Anne-Sophie Mutter

It is over a quarter of a century ago that Anne-Sophie Mutter premiered Witold Lutosławski’s “Łańcuch II” (“Chain II”). Already then it seemed as if a new chapter in the history of concert music had been opened at a single stroke. And the unbroken force of fascination that Lutosławski’s composition has had on interpreters as well as audiences since then has proven this assumption correct.

That Anne-Sophie Mutter, as the first and without a doubt the most well-versed interpreter of this composition, will perform at Musikfest Berlin 2013 is one of the highlights of a programme that, along with other focal points, is dedicated to Lutosławski’s 100th birthday. The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and conductor Manfred Honeck will accompany this exceptional violinist in this concert. Also to be heard are an early string suite by Leoš Janáček and Richard Strauss' autobiographical tone poem “A Hero’s Life”.

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Suite for String Orchestra [1877]

Witold Lutosławski [1913-1994]
Chain II
Dialogue for violin and orchestra
dedicated to Paul Sacher [1985]

Richard Strauss [1864-1949]
Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life)
Symphonic poem for large orchestra op. 40 [1886-98]

Anne-Sophie Mutter

Anne-Sophie Mutter

© Harald Hoffmann / Deutsche Grammophon

Konzert
Eröffnungskonzert

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

Eröffnungskonzert

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

Das Konzert wird live auf www.arteliveweb.com übertragen und kann drei Wochen lang online abgerufen werden. Die Orchesterwerke verbleiben für sechs Monate im Archiv von ARTE Live Web sowie auf der Webseite des Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

Als ich sie zum ersten Mal „Łańcuch II“ („Chain II“) spielen hörte, war dies für mich eine einzigartige und unvergessliche Erfahrung. Von solch einem Klang und einer derartigen Interpretation meiner Kompositionen für Violine hätte ich nie zu träumen gewagt. Die Erinnerung an ihr Spiel hat meine Gedanken an spätere Violinkompositionen ständig begleitet. Ich bin ihr dafür unendlich dankbar.
Witold Lutosławski über Anne-Sophie Mutter

Vor über einem Vierteljahrhundert spielte Anne-Sophie Mutter die Uraufführung von Witold Lutosławskis „Łańcuch II“ („Chain II“). Schon damals schien es, als sei mit einem Schlag ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte konzertanter Musik aufgeschlagen worden. Und die ungebrochene Faszinationskraft, die Lutosławskis Komposition seitdem auf Interpreten wie Hörer gleichermaßen ausübt, hat dieser Vermutung Recht gegeben.

Dass Anne-Sophie Mutter als erste und zweifellos versierteste Interpretin dieser Komposition im Rahmen des Musikfests Berlins 2013 zu erleben ist, zählt zu den Höhepunkten einer Programmgestaltung, die neben weiteren Schwerpunkten nicht zuletzt auch dem 100. Geburtstag von Lutosławski gewidmet ist. Die musikalischen Partner der Ausnahmegeigerin sind in diesem Konzert das Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra und der Dirigent Manfred Honeck. Außerdem zu hören sind eine frühe Streichersuite von Leoš Janáček sowie Richard Strauss’ autobiographisch geprägte Tondichtung „Ein Heldenleben“.

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Suite für Streichorchester [1877]

Witold Lutosławski [1913-1994]
Chain II
Dialog für Violine und Orchester
Paul Sacher gewidmet [1985]

Richard Strauss [1864-1949]
Ein Heldenleben
Tondichtung für großes Orchester op. 40 [1886-98]