Mariss Jansons

Mariss Jansons

© Marco Borggreve

Concert

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

17:30 Exhibition Foyer
Kammermusiksaal of the Philharmonie
Work introduction by the “Critics’ Quartet” of the German Record Critics’ Award

The Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks is considered to be one of the best orchestras worldwide. At Musikfest Berlin 2013, it will be presenting an exquisite programme under its chief conductor Mariss Jansons. It will even be performing two compositions that have the orchestra itself appear as a soloist. A contradiction in terms? Not at all!

Only a few months before his death, Béla Bartók wrote a “Concerto for Orchestra” in American exile. At the premiere of the work, the composer stated that “the title of this symphonic orchestral work finds its explanation in the soloistic treatment of individual instruments or sections of instruments.”

Approximately ten years later, Witold Lutosławski followed in Bartók’s footsteps. He also placed a great importance in “the ‘virtuosic’ treatment” of all orchestral parts. At the same time, Lutosławski defended his music, which was subject to a performance ban in Communist Poland, by arguing that Polish folksongs provided the basis for his “Concerto for Orchestra”.

With their “Concerto for Orchestras”, Lutosławski and Bartók created touchstones for every world-class symphonic orchestra. With their works, both composers also established themselves in the collective musical subconscious of the 20th century. And this concert programme will include a reminiscence of the once popular hit song “El Cumbanchero” as well as the signature tune of the ZDF television station’s Magazin programme – both interpreted by one of the best orchestras in the world.

Witold Lutosławski [1913-1994]
Concerto for orchestra [1954]

Béla Bartók [1881-1945]
Concerto for orchestra [1941-43]

Mariss Jansons

Mariss Jansons

© Marco Borggreve

Konzert

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

17:30 Uhr Ausstellungsfoyer
Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie
Einführung mit dem „Quartett der Kritiker“ des Preises der deutschen Schallplattenkritik

Das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks gilt als einer der besten Klangkörper weltweit. Beim Musikfest Berlin 2013 ist es unter der Leitung seines Chefdirigenten Mariss Jansons mit einem Programm zu erleben, das es in sich hat. Präsentiert es doch zwei Kompositionen, die das Orchester selbst als Solist in Erscheinung treten lassen. Ein Widerspruch in sich? Keineswegs!

Wenige Monate vor seinem Tod schrieb Béla Bartók im amerikanischen Exil ein „Konzert für Orchester“. Anlässlich der Uraufführung des Werkes erläuterte der Komponist: „Der Titel dieses sinfonischen Orchesterstücks findet in der konzertierenden oder solistischen Behandlung einzelner Instrumente oder Instrumentengruppen seine Erklärung.“

Rund zehn Jahre später trat Witold Lutosławski in Bartóks Fußstapfen. Auch ihm lag „die 'virtuose' Behandlung“ aller Orchesterstimmen am Herzen. Gleichzeitig verteidigte Lutosławski seine in der Volksrepublik Polen mit einem Aufführungsverbot belegte Musik, indem er seinem „Konzert für Orchester“ polnische Volksliedmelodien zugrunde legte.

Lutosławski und Bartók schufen mit ihren „Konzerten für Orchester“ Prüfsteine für jeden symphonischen Klangkörper von Weltrang. Beide Komponisten haben sich mit diesen Werken aber auch in das kollektive musikalische Unterbewusstsein des 20. Jahrhunderts eingeschrieben. Und so wird in diesem Konzertprogramm sowohl eine Reminiszenz an den einstmals populären Schlager „El Cumbanchero“ als auch die Erkennungsmelodie des ZDF-Magazins zu hören sein – und das in der Interpretation eines des besten Orchester weltweit.

Witold Lutosławski [1913-1994]
Konzert für Orchester [1954]

Béla Bartók [1881-1945]
Konzert für Orchester [1941-43]