RIAS Kammerchor

RIAS Kammerchor

© Matthias Heyde

Concert

RIAS Kammerchor / Ensemble musikFabrik

Marches, Rhymes, Weddings

19:00 work introduction

Some processes are unpredictable; yet experimental music has become very predictable indeed. I am not interested in the old contrast between avant-garde and retreat. I am a classic example of someone who has done things that were not mainstream during avant-garde times. I have always resisted following style standards. Works that are written without anarchy, without violations against entrenched stylistic rules, are more or less unenjoyable.
Mauricio Kagel

Mauricio Kagel was one of the most unconventional compository phenomena of the 20th century: an original thinker whose complex musical oeuvre resisted any pigeonholing whatsoever. With his often irresistible humour Kagel, who died five years ago, pioneered a fascinatingly individual path through the music of the Modern period. Under the theme of “Marches, Rhymes, Weddings”, this concert erects several striking signposts, with compositions by two other individualists of the Modern period in addition to selected works by Kagel: cheeky “Children’s Rhymes” by Leoš Janáček and Stravinsky’s ballet music “Les Noces”, which newly interprets Russian folk music in a radical way.

In addition to vocals and percussion, Stravinsky also wanted to employ machines, mechanical pianos, pianolas: the sound was to be “completely homogenous, completely impersonal and completely mechanical”. He composed the first two scenes with this ensemble in mind but had to change his plans on account of the Pleyel instruments’ insufficient mechanics and objections from Sergej Diaghilew. Dutch composer Theo Verbey completed Stravinsky’s already advanced plans in 2007. At Musikfest Berlin, this version of “Les Noces” for soloists, choir, harmonium, percussion and live pianola will be presented to the public for the first time, with James Wood conducting RIAS Kammerchor and Ensemble musikFabrik.

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Ríkadla (Nursery rhymes)
for chamber choir and 10 instruments [1926]
© 1929, 1956 by Universal Edition A.G. Wien / UE 32920

Mauricio Kagel [1931-2008]
Marches No. 1, 2 and 5
from: 10 Marches to Miss the Victory
for wind and percussion [1978/79]
© C.F. PETERS Frankfurt Leipzig London New York

No. 3 Resurrexit Dominus
from: Rrrrrrr… 7 pieces for mixed choir and piano [1981/82]

Marches No. 7 and 8
from: 10 Marches to Miss the Victory

No. 5 Rex tremendae
from: Rrrrrrr… 7 pieces

Marches No. 8 and 4
from: 10 Marches to Miss the Victory

Mauricio Kagel
Verborgene Reime [2006/07]
for choir and percussion

Igor Stravinsky [1882-1971]
Les Noces
1919 version for two soloists, choir, pianola, 2 cymbaloms, harmonium and percussion
completed by Theo Verbey [2007]
First presentation of the Verbey version with live pianola

Anu Komsi soprano
Annamária Kovács alt
Nigel Robson tenor
Andreas Fischer bass

Enikö Ginzery, Françoise Rivalland cymbalom
Michael Weilacher, Adam Weisman percussion
Marie-Noëlle Bette harmonium
Rex Lawson pianola / realisation of the pianola rolls

Ensemble musikFabrik
RIAS Kammerchor
James Wood coach

A Berliner Festspiele event
in cooperation with the RIAS Kammerchor

RIAS Kammerchor

RIAS Kammerchor

© Matthias Heyde

Konzert

RIAS Kammerchor / Ensemble musikFabrik

Märsche, Reime, Hochzeiten

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

Manche Vorgänge sind unberechenbar; doch die experimentelle Musik ist sehr berechenbar geworden. Ich interessiere mich nicht für den alten Gegensatz von Avantgarde und Rückzug. Ich bin ein klassisches Beispiel für jemanden, der Dinge gemacht hat, die zur Zeit der Avantgarde nicht zum Mainstream gehörten. Stilvorgaben zu befolgen, dagegen habe ich mich immer verwehrt. Stücke, die ohne Anarchie geschrieben werden, ohne Verstöße gegen festgemauerte stilistische Regeln, sind mehr oder weniger ungenießbar.
Mauricio Kagel

Mauricio Kagel war einer der eigenwilligsten kompositorischen Erscheinungen des 20. Jahrhunderts: ein Querdenker, dessen vielschichtiges musikalisches Œuvre sich jeder Schubladisierung verweigerte. Mit oft unwiderstehlichem Humor hat sich der vor fünf Jahren verstorbene Kagel einen faszinierend eigenwilligen Weg durch die Musik der Moderne gebahnt. Einige markante Wegweiser stellt dieses Konzert auf, in dem unter dem Motto „Märsche, Reime, Hochzeiten“ neben ausgewählten Werken Kagels auch Kompositionen zweier anderer Individualisten der Moderne zu erleben sind: freche „Kinderreime“ von Leoš Janáček und Igor Strawinskys die russische Volksmusik radikal neu interpretierende Ballettmusik „Les Noces“.

Strawinsky wollte für die Musik der „Bauernhochzeit“ neben Gesangsstimmen und Schlagzeug auch Maschinen, mechanische Klaviere, Pianolas einzusetzen; „vollkommen homogen, vollkommen unpersönlich und vollkommen mechanisch“ sollte der Klang sein. Die ersten beiden Bilder arbeitete er für diese Besetzung aus, doch dann ließen ihn die unzureichende Mechanik der Pleyel-Instrumente und die Einwände Sergej Diaghilews von seinen Plänen absehen. Der holländische Komponist Theo Verbey hat Strawinskys damals schon weitgediehene Pläne 2007 zu Ende geführt. Beim Musikfest Berlin wird diese Fassung von „Les Noces“ für Solisten, Chor, Harmonium, Schlagzeug und live gespielter Pianola erstmals der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert, aufgeführt vom RIAS Kammerchor und dem Ensemble musikFabrik unter der Leitung von James Wood.

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Ríkadla (Kinderreime)
für Kammerchor und 10 Instrumente [1926]
© 1929, 1956 by Universal Edition A.G. Wien / UE 32920

Mauricio Kagel [1931-2008]
Märsche Nr. 1, 2, und 5
aus: Zehn Märsche um den Sieg zu verfehlen
für Bläser und Schlagzeug [1978/79]
© C.F. PETERS Frankfurt Leipzig London New York

Nr. 3 Resurrexit Dominus
aus: Rrrrrrr… 7 Stücke für gemischten Chor und Klavier [1981/82]

Märsche Nr. 7 und 9
aus: Zehn Märsche um den Sieg zu verfehlen

Nr. 5 Rex tremendae
aus: Rrrrrrr… 7 Stücke

Märsche Nr. 8 und 4
aus: Zehn Märsche um den Sieg zu verfehlen

Mauricio Kagel
Verborgene Reime [2006/07]
für Chor und Schlagzeug

Igor Strawinsky [1882-1971]
Les Noces
Fassung von 1919 für vier Solisten, Chor, Pianola, 2 Cymbaloms, Harmonium und Schlagzeug
vervollständigt von Theo Verbey [2007]
Erstmalige Präsentation der Verbey-Fassung mit Live-Pianola

Anu Komsi Sopran
Annamária Kovács Alt
Nigel Robson Tenor
Andreas Fischer Bass

Enikö Ginzery, Françoise Rivalland Cymbalom
Michael Weilacher, Adam Weisman Schlagzeug
Marie-Noëlle Bette Harmonium
Rex Lawson Pianola / Realisation der Pianola-Rollen

Ensemble musikFabrik
RIAS Kammerchor
James Wood Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin
in Kooperation mit dem RIAS Kammerchor