Philharmonia Quartett

Philharmonia Quartett Berlin

© Stefan Röhl

Concert
String Quartets III

Philharmonia Quartett Berlin

String Quartets III

10:00 work introduction

Internationally renowned string quartet formations – the American Emerson String Quartet, France-based Quatuor Diotima and the Philharmonia Quartett from Berlin – will perform all of Béla Bartók’s string quartets on three evenings as part of Musikfest Berlin 2013. A special highlight: in each concert, Bartók’s music is contrasted with pathbreaking works for string quartet by other composers.

The Philharmonia Quartett has put together an especially enlightening programme for this small but distinguished Bartók cycle: the four musicians complement Bartók’s String Quartet No. 1, which was composed in 1908 and bears influences of the late Romantic period and French Expressionism, with the Ludwig van Beethoven’s String Quartet Op. 18, No.1, which was published in 1801. This work was Beethoven’s first compository encounter with the supreme discipline of chamber music.

In this concert it not only becomes apparent how different the quartet debuts – one hundred years apart – by these two important composers turned out. The Philharmonia Quartett has also included Bartók’s String Quartet No. 5 from 1934 on the programme. And this work attests in an impressive way to the enormous stylistic and compository developments Bartók underwent in his decades-long exploration of the genre of the string quartet.

Béla Bartók [1881-1945]
String Quartet No. 1 [1908/09]

Ludwig van Beethoven [1770-1827]
String Quartet in F major op. 18,1 [1799]

Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 5 [1934]

Philharmonia Quartett Berlin
Daniel Stabrawa, violin I
Christian Stadelmann, violin II
Neithard Resa, viola
Dietmar Schwalke, cello

Philharmonia Quartett

Philharmonia Quartett Berlin

© Stefan Röhl

Konzert
Streichquartette III

Philharmonia Quartett Berlin

Streichquartette III

Einführung 10:00 Uhr

International renommierte Streichquartettformationen – das amerikanische Emerson String Quartett, das französische Quatuor Diotima und das Berliner Philharmonia Quartett – bringen im Rahmen des Musikfests Berlin 2013 an drei Abenden sämtliche Streichquartette von Béla Bartók zur Aufführung. Der besondere Clou: In jedem Konzerte wird Bartóks Musik für Streichquartettbesetzung mit wegweisenden Gattungsbeiträgen anderer Komponisten kontrastiert.

Für diesen kleinen, aber feinen Bartók-Zyklus hat das Philharmonia Quartett ein besonders erhellendes Programm entworfen: Die vier Musiker stellen Bartóks noch ganz im Banne der Spätromantik und des französischen Expressionismus stehende „Streichquartett Nr. 1“ aus dem Jahre 1908 Ludwig van Beethovens 1801 im Druck erschienenes „Streichquartett“ op. 18,1 zur Seite. Auch dieses Werk war Beethovens erste kompositorische Auseinandersetzung mit der kammermusikalischen Königsdisziplin.

Doch lässt sich in diesem Konzert nicht nur verfolgen, wie unterschiedlich die rund 100 Jahre auseinander liegenden Quartett-Debüts dieser beiden bedeutenden Komponisten ausfielen. Denn auf dem Programm des Philharmonia Quartetts steht auch eine Aufführung von Bartóks „Streichquartett Nr. 5“ aus dem Jahr 1934. Und dieses Werk belegt auf eindrucksvolle Art und Weise, welch enorme stilistischen und kompositorischen Entwicklungen Bartók in seiner Jahrzehnte andauernden Auseinandersetzung mit der Gattung des Streichquartetts durchlaufen hat.

Béla Bartók [1881-1945]
Streichquartett Nr. 1 [1908/09]

Ludwig van Beethoven [1770-1827]
Streichquartett F-Dur op. 18,1 [1799]

Béla Bartók
Streichquartett Nr. 5 [1934]

Philharmonia Quartett Berlin
Daniel Stabrawa, Violine I
Christian Stadelmann, Violine II
Neithard Resa, Viola
Dietmar Schwalke, Violoncello