Emanuel Gat

Emanuel Gat. The Goldlandbergs

© Emanuel Gat Dance

Dance

Emanuel Gat: “The Goldlandbergs”

On the occasion of Tanz im August

  • Length 1h, no interval

23 & 24-.08.2013, 1h before and after “The Goldlandbergs”
Emanuel Gat (FR/IL): “It’s people, how abstract can it get?”
“It’s people, how abstract can it get?” is a photographic installation which speaks of the priority of the individual experience. All photographs were taken during rehearsals of “The Goldlandbergs”, with the only light source being the natural light, capturing a group of people in a darkened space engaged in a choreographic moment. A beauty not of perfection, but one born out of vulnerabilities, uncertainties, doubts, and opportunities.
Production Emanuel Gat Dance
Co-production Festival Montpellier Danse 2013

The story of a family in fugal form: in “The Goldlandbergs” the Israeli choreographer Emanuel Gat conveys an intimate view of the complexity of human relationships. His piece is based on Glenn Gould’s recording of Bach’s “Goldberg Variations”, made several months before the pianist’s death in 1981, as well as on Gould’s 1977 radio documentary “The Quiet in the Land”. In the manner of a fugue Gould contrapuntally combined with music and sound effects the voices and noises collected in a Mennonite community in Manitoba, Canada. His portrait of a strictly religious family whose way of life comes under increasing pressure in the 20th century is also a multi-layered reflection on society and social co-existence, on art and politics. Gat works with movement in the same way Gould did with sound. Clear structures leaving space for spontaneity open multifaceted perspectives on social contexts and their influence on the individual. “The Goldlandbergs” investigates the contrapuntal essence of choreography and grants dancers and viewers alike the freedom to make their own artistic and interpretational decisions.

Choreography created in collaboration with and performed by Hervé Chaussard, Aurore Di Bianco, Michael Löhr, Pansun Kim, Philippe Mesia, Geneviève Osborne, François Przybylski, Milena Twiehaus
Music: “The Quiet in The Land” prepared and written by Glenn Gould
Additional Music J.S. Bach “Goldberg variations”, piano Glenn Gould
Stage and lights designs created in collaboration with Samson Milcent
Sound designs created in collaboration with Frédéric Duru

Organizer Tanz im August
Tanz im August is supported by means of the Capital City Cultural Funds from means of the Hauptstadtkulturfonds with the support of the governing mayor of Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.
www.tanzimaugust.de

Production Emanuel Gat Dance. Co-production Festival Montpellier Danse 2013, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), deSingel – International Art Campus (Antwerp), Lincoln Center Festival 2014 (New York), CCN Roubaix Nord-Pas de Calais, Carolyn Carlson. Supported by Conseil Général des Bouches du Rhône. In cooperation with Berliner Festspiele.

Tanz

Emanuel Gat: „The Goldlandbergs“

Im Rahmen von Tanz im August

Emanuel Gat

Emanuel Gat. The Goldlandbergs

© Emanuel Gat Dance

  • Dauer 1h, keine Pause

Vergangene Termine

23. & 24.08.2013, jeweils 1h vor und nach „The Goldlandbergs“
Emanuel Gat (FR/IL): „It’s people, how abstract can it get?“
„It’s people, how abstract can it get?“ ist eine fotografische Installation, die vom Wert individueller Erfahrung handelt. Alle Fotografien entstanden während der Proben zu „The Goldlandbergs“ und hielten – in einem abgedunkelten Raum mit Tageslicht als einziger Beleuchtungsquelle – eine Gruppe Menschen während eines einzelnen choreografischen Momentes fest. Eine Schönheit, die nicht aus Perfektion entsteht, sondern aus Verletzlichkeit, Ungewissheit, Zweifeln und Gelegenheiten.
Produktion Emanuel Gat Dance
Koproduktion Festival Montpellier Danse 2013

Eine Familiengeschichte in Fugenform: Mit „The Goldlandbergs“ gelingt dem israelischen Choreografen Emanuel Gat ein intimer Blick auf die Komplexität menschlicher Beziehungen. Als Vorlage dienen ihm Glenn Goulds Einspielung von Bachs „Goldberg Variationen“, wenige Monate vor dem Tod des Pianisten 1981 aufgenommen, und „The Quiet in the Land“, eine Radiodokumentation aus dem Jahr 1977. Glenn Gould sammelte in einer mennonitischen Gemeinde im kanadischen Manitoba Stimmen und Geräusche, die er mit Musik und Soundeffekten kontrapunktisch wie in einer Fuge montierte. Das Porträt einer streng religiösen Familie, deren Lebensweise im 20. Jahrhundert immer mehr unter Druck gerät, ist zugleich eine beziehungsreiche Reflexion über Gesellschaft und Zusammenleben, Kunst und Politik. Wie Glenn Gould mit Klang, so arbeitet Emanuel Gat mit Bewegung. Klare Strukturen, die Raum für Spontaneität lassen, eröffnen mannigfaltige Perspektiven auf soziale Zusammenhänge und deren Einfluss auf jeden einzelnen. „The Goldlandbergs“ erkundet die kontrapunktische Essenz von Choreografie und ermöglicht Tänzern wie Zuschauern die Freiheit künstlerischer und interpretatorischer Entscheidungen.

Choreografie in Zusammenarbeit mit und getanzt von Hervé Chaussard, Aurore Di Bianco, Michael Löhr, Pansun Kim, Philippe Mesia, Geneviève Osborne, François Przybylski, Milena Twiehaus
Musik: „The Quiet in The Land“ von und mit Glenn Gould
Zusätzliche Musik J.S. Bach „Goldberg Variationen“, Piano Glenn Gould
Licht und Kostüme in Zusammenarbeit mit Samson Milcent
Tongestaltung in Zusammenarbeit mit Frédéric Duru

Veranstalter Tanz im August
Tanz im August wird gefördert aus den Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds mit Unterstützung des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.
 www.tanzimaugust.de

Produktion Emanuel Gat Dance. Koproduktion Festival Montpellier Danse 2013, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), deSingel – International Art Campus (Antwerpen), Lincoln Center Festival 2014 (New York), CCN Roubaix Nord-Pas de Calais, Carolyn Carlson. Unterstützt von Conseil Général des Bouches du Rhône. In Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele.