Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

© Pieter Kers

Concert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Nicolas Collins, Alvin Lucier, Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

Sonic Arts Lounge

Experimental electronics, acoustic resonances, unusual instruments and extended tunes are the focus of the three-part concert at Berghain.

Nicolas Collins, one of the pioneers of “Handmade Electronics”, will acoustically explore the concert hall of the gutted former power plant at Berghain with his piece and perform together with Reinhold Friedl on the piano. In “Roomtone”, the natural frequencies of the hall will be mapped in real time from a computer using acoustic feedback and projected as graphic notation. The musician begins to play variations via spatial frequencies transformed into notes, moving step by step through a place-specific, or architecturally influenced, tone series.

Together with Volker Straebel, Nicolas Collins then realizes “The Bird of Bremen Flies Through the Houses of the Burghers”, a computer-controlled sound environment which Alvin Lucier conceived in 1972 – as one of the protagonists of the then sensational Sonic Arts Union – for Pro Musica Nova in Bremen.

In the third part of the concert, the “Orchestra of Excited Strings” ensemble established by Berlin-based American Arnold Dreyblatt is a crossover of Minimal, Krautrock and experimental electronics with its self-made instruments and extended playing techniques. At MaerzMusik, four musicians forming the ensemble take to the stage: Dreyblatt himself plays his Excited Strings Bass, Jörg Hiller introduces his digitally controlled motor-guitar, Joachim Schütz can be heard on the modified electric guitar and musician and composer Robin Hayward on his unique microtonal tuba. They perform new as well as early experimental solo and ensemble works.

Nicolas Collins
Roomtone Variations
for computer and instrumentalists (2013)
Version for piano at Berghain (2014) WP

Alvin Lucier
The Bird of Bremen Flies Through the Houses of the Burghers (1972)
Realisation for fixed media by Nicolas Collins and Volker Straebel (2014) WP
Commissioned work by Elektronic Studio of the TU Berlin, Audio Communication Group, with the support of the DAAD

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

Konrad Sprenger (Jörg Hiller)
Litotes (2012)

Arnold Dreyblatt
Nodal Excitation (1979)

Ensemble Compositions
Spedition
Fast in Place
Odd Shuffle
Sustain
Name Game

Reinhold Friedl, piano (Roomtone Variations)

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings:
Arnold Dreyblatt, “excited string bass” / electronics
Konrad Sprenger (Jörg Hiller), percussion / digitally controlled electric guitar
Joachim Schütz, modified electric guitar
Robin Hayward, microtonal tuba

In collaboration with Technical University Berlin – Audio Communication Group – Electronic Studio.
In collaboration with Berghain

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

© Pieter Kers

Konzert
Sonic Arts Lounge

Nicolas Collins, Alvin Lucier, Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

Sonic Arts Lounge

Experimentelle Elektronik, akustische Resonanzen, ungewöhnliche Instrumente und erweiterte Stimmungen stehen im Mittelpunkt des dreiteiligen Konzerts im Berghain.

Nicolas Collins, einer der Pioniere der „Handmade Electronics”, wird mit seinem Stück die Konzerthalle des entkernten, ehemaligen Heizkraftwerks im Berghain akustisch ausloten und sie gemeinsam mit Reinhold Friedl am Klavier instrumental einstimmen. In „Roomtone“ werden mittels akustischem Feedback die Eigenfrequenzen der Halle von einem Computer in Echtzeit gemappt und als grafische Notation projiziert. Der Musiker beginnt über die in Noten transformierten Raumfrequenzen Variationen zu spielen, wobei er sich Schritt für Schritt durch eine ortsspezifische, d.h. durch die Architektur bedingte Tonreihe bewegt.

Gemeinsam mit Volker Straebel realisiert Nicolas Collins im Anschluss „The Bird of Bremen Flies Through the Houses of the Burghers”, ein computer-gesteuertes Sound Environment, das Alvin Lucier im Jahr 1972 – als einer der Protagonisten der damals Aufsehen erregenden Sonic Arts Union – für Pro Musica Nova in Bremen konzipierte.

Das von dem in Berlin lebenden Amerikaner Arnold Dreyblatt formierte Ensemble „The Orchestra of Excited Strings“ bewegt sich schließlich im dritten Teil des Konzerts mit seinen selbst entwickelten Instrumenten und erweiterten Spieltechniken im Crossover von Minimal, Krautrock und experimenteller Elektronik. Bei MaerzMusik tritt das Ensemble wieder in vierköpfiger Besetzung zusammen: Dreyblatt selbst spielt seinen Excited Strings Bass, Jörg Hiller stellt erstmalig seine digital gesteuerte Motor-Guitar vor, Joachim Schütz ist an der modifizierten E-Gitarre zu hören und der Musiker und Komponist Robin Hayward an seiner einzigartigen mikrotonalen Tuba. Sie spielen neue wie auch frühe, experimentelle Solo- und Ensemblestücke.

Nicolas Collins
Roomtone Variations
für Computer und Instrumentalisten (2013)
Fassung für Klavier im Berghain (2014) UA

Alvin Lucier
The Bird of Bremen Flies Through the Houses of the Burghers (1972)
Realisation für Fixed Media von Nicolas Collins und Volker Straebel (2014) UA
Auftragswerk des Elektronischen Studios der TU Berlin, Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation, mit Unterstützung des DAAD

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings

Konrad Sprenger (Jörg Hiller)
Litotes (2012)

Arnold Dreyblatt
Nodal Excitation (1979)

Ensemble-Kompositionen
Spedition
Fast in Place
Odd Shuffle
Sustain
Name Game

Reinhold Friedl, Klavier (Roomtone Variations)

Arnold Dreyblatt & The Orchestra of Excited Strings:
Arnold Dreyblatt, „Excited String Bass“ / Elektronik
Konrad Sprenger (Jörg Hiller), Perkussion / digital gesteuerte E-Gitarre
Joachim Schütz, modifizerte E-Gitarre
Robin Hayward, mikrotonale Tuba

In Zusammenarbeit mit Technische Universität Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation – Elektronisches Studio.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Berghain