Music Theatre

Anschlag

Music Theatre

Michael Wertmüller “Anschlag”

Michael Wertmüller: “Anschlag”. [Excerpt]

Past Dates

19:15 artist talk
Mark Sattler in discussion with Lukas Bärfuss and Michael Wertmüller

The sublime beauty of the human body stands opposite an immense brutality, the wonder of existence, an impotence of the “I”. Neither meditation nor asceticism, neither intellect nor science help to rid oneself of this brutality and impotence.

While in his libretto for Michael Wertmüller, with texts about life, death and illness of both the individual and society at large, Lukas Bärfuss poses the question of whether the new vision of the nature of humanity corresponds to a new image of the body and whether we cannot transcend our corporeality through music, Michael Wertmüller focuses on time: “Time was always an attack on life”, and every artistic ambition an attempt to stand up to the flow of time.

Far away from any programme, Michael Wertmüller in a sense encounters Lukas Bärfuss’ texts with the elementary power of the musician’s interaction with his instrument: “He is the essence of physicality in music and the stroke the final bastion of the corporeality of time”.

Michael Wertmüller’s highly energetic music and Berlin literature prize recipient Lukas Bärfuss’ multi-layered libretto are performed by exceptional soloists and the “Hammond-Avantcore-Trio” Steamboat Switzerland in a stage production by George Delnon and Marie-Thérèse Jossen. Titus Engel conducts the work.

Michael Wertmüller
Anschlag (2012/2013) WP of the completed version
Text: Lukas Bärfuss

Titus Engel, conductor
Marie-Thérèse Jossen / Georges Delnon, scenic realisation
Cornelia Schmidt, directing assistance
Sebastian Dieringer, lighting design
Mark Sattler, production manager
Katharina Christen, production assistance
Georg Morawietz / Josh Martin, sound design
Gerd Rische, electronic recording

Karl-Heinz Brandt, speaker
Clara Meloni / Anne-May Krüger / Ruth Rosenfeld, vocals
Wojciech Garbowski / Ekkehard Windrich, violin
Jennifer Anschel, viola
Elena Cheah, cello
Michael Weilacher, percussion
Louisa Marxen et al., marching drum
Steamboat Switzerland:
Dominik Blum, Hammond organ
Marino Pliakas, electric bass
Lucas Niggli, percussion

Commissioned by Lucerne Festival, funded by Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council. Co-production of Lucerne Festival with Theater Basel and Akademie der Künste Berlin / Studio für Elektroakustische Musik. With the support of UBS Cultural Foundation, Landis & Gyr Foundation, Siemens Building Technologies. The performance in Berlin is funded by Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council

Michael Wertmüller „Anschlag“

Michael Wertmüller: „Anschlag“. [Ausschnitt]

Musiktheater

Anschlag

Musiktheater

19:15 Künstlergespräch
Mark Sattler im Gespräch mit Lukas Bärfuss und Michael Wertmüller

Der erhabenen Schönheit des menschlichen Körpers steht eine unermessliche Brutalität gegenüber, dem Wunder der Existenz, eine Ohnmacht des Ichs. Weder Meditation noch Askese, weder Verstand noch Wissenschaft helfen, sich dieser Brutalität und Ohnmacht zu entledigen.

Während Lukas Bärfuss in seinem Libretto für Michael Wertmüller mit Texten über Leben, Tod und Krankheit des Einzelnen und der Gesellschaft die Frage stellt, ob dem neuen Menschenbild ein neues Bild des Körpers entspräche und ob wir unsere Körperlichkeit nicht durch Musik würden transzendieren können, setzt Michael Wertmüller auf die Zeit: „Die Zeit war schon immer ein Anschlag auf das Leben“, und jede künstlerische Ambition ein Versuch, sich dem Zeitstrom entgegenzustellen.

Fernab jeder Programmatik begegnet Michael Wertmüller den Texten von Lukas Bärfuss gewissermaßen mit der elementaren Kraft der musikalischen Interaktion des Musikers mit seinem Instrument: „Er ist das Wesen der Körperlichkeit in der Musik und der Anschlag die letzte Bastion der Körperlichkeit von Zeit“.

Michael Wertmüllers hochenergetische Musik und das vielschichtige Libretto des Berliner Literaturpreisträgers Lukas Bärfuss wird von außergewöhnlichen Solisten und dem „Hammond-Avantcore-Trio“ Steamboat Switzerland in einer szenischen Realisation von George Delnon und Marie-Thérèse Jossen auf die Bühne gebracht. Die musikalische Leitung hat Titus Engel.

Michael Wertmüller
Anschlag (2012/2013) UA der komplettierten Fassung
Text: Lukas Bärfuss

Titus Engel, Musikalische Leitung
Marie-Thérèse Jossen / Georges Delnon, Szenische Realisation
Cornelia Schmidt, Regieassistenz
Sebastian Dieringer, Licht
Mark Sattler, Produktionsleitung
Katharina Christen, Produktionsassistenz
Georg Morawietz / Josh Martin, Ton
Gerd Rische, Elektronische Einspielung

Karl-Heinz Brandt, Sprecher
Clara Meloni / Anne-May Krüger / Ruth Rosenfeld, Gesang
Wojciech Garbowski / Ekkehard Windrich, Violine
Jennifer Anschel, Viola
Elena Cheah, Violoncello
Michael Weilacher, Perkussion
Louisa Marxen et al., Marschtrommel
Steamboat Switzerland:
Dominik Blum, Hammond-Orgel
Marino Pliakas, E-Bass
Lucas Niggli, Schlagzeug

Auftragswerk Lucerne Festival, gefördert durch Pro Helvetia – Schweizer Kulturstiftung. Koproduktion von Lucerne Festival mit Theater Basel und Akademie der Künste Berlin / Studio für Elektroakustische Musik. Mit Unterstützung von UBS Kulturstiftung, Landis & Gyr Stiftung, Siemens Building Technologies. Das Gastspiel in Berlin wird gefördert durch Pro Helvetia – Schweizer Kulturstiftung