Lecture

Durs Grünbein

My Years in the Zoo

Lecture by the writer
Introduction: Joachim Sartorius

Durs Grünbein

Durs Grünbein

© gezett.de

Past Dates

Durs Grünbein’s poetic oeuvre is still fairly young but has already received highly reputed awards like the Georg-Büchner Preis, the Friedrich-Nietzsche Preis and the Friedrich-Hölderlin Preis. Grünbein was born in 1962 in Dresden, studied dramaturgy at Humboldt University in Berlin, where he still lives and works as an author, essayist and translator.

According to Grünbein, to be modern means to be conscious of one’s own times. At the same time he calls himself an “accomplice of transience”. This has both a biological and a historical meaning: “It’s time you all rose. The sun won’t wait for you. / Arise from crumpled sheets before the glory / Melts and muck will dim your sight as always. / Freshly fallen snow is just as precious as those big diamonds, / For which wars are fought and provinces are traded. / A jeweller, the snow. It models where it falls. / It rounds up, rounds down and transcribes into beautiful curves, / And physics, quick as a swallow, will find the matching formula. / Monsieur, just think what you shall miss should you lose any time. / For you, for you the snow fell all night through.” [About Snow]

Grünbein describes his poetic as one that sees and marvels. What he likes about Berlin is a certain robust reality: “Berlin is a vacuum that has the ability to replenish itself over and over again, with no matter what as long as it is entertaining.”, said Grünbein when receiving the Berliner Literaturpreis 2006.

Vortrag

Durs Grünbein

Meine Jahre im Zoo

Vortrag des Schriftstellers
Einführung: Joachim Sartorius

Durs Grünbein

Durs Grünbein

© gezett.de

Vergangene Termine

Zwar ist sein dichterisches Werk noch jung, doch wurden Durs Grünbein dafür höchste Auszeichnungen zuteil, darunter der Georg-Büchner-, der Friedrich-Nietzsche- und der Friedrich-Hölderlin-Preis. 1962 in Dresden geboren, studiert Grünbein an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Theaterwissenschaften. Er lebt als Autor, Essayist und Übersetzer in Berlin.

Modern sein bedeute, ein Bewusstsein von der eigenen Zeit haben, so Grünbein. Zugleich nennt er sich einen »Komplizen der Vergänglichkeit«. Das ist biologisch und historisch gemeint: „Nun steht schon auf. Die Sonne wartet nicht auf Euch. / Erhebt Euch aus zerwühlten Laken, eh die Herrlichkeit / Zerschmilzt und Dreck die Sicht Euch trübt wie immer. / Neuschnee ist kostbar wie die großen Diamanten, / Für die man Kriege führt und tauscht Provinzen. / Ein Juwelier, der Schnee. Er modelliert, wohin er fällt. / Er rundet auf und ab und übersetzt in schöne Kurven, / Wofür Physik dann, schwalbenflink, die Formel findet. / Monsieur, bedenkt, was Euch entgeht, verliert Ihr Zeit. / Für Euch hat es, für Euch, die ganze Nacht geschneit.“ [Vom Schnee]

An Berlin gefällt Grünbein, der für sich eine Poetik des Sehens und Staunens reklamiert, eine gewisse kernige Realität: „Berlin ist ein Vakuum, das die Eigenschaft hat, sich immer von neuem zu füllen, ganz gleich womit, wenn es nur genügend Unterhaltungswert besitzt“, sagt er bei der Entgegennahme des Berliner Literaturpreises 2006.