Alan Gilbert

Alan Gilbert

© Chris Lee

Concert
Visiting orchestras

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

19:00 work introduction

“Nothing came of the prominent connections between the individual movements, of which I initially dreamt”, wrote Gustav Mahler in 1896 of his Third Symphony. The composer had, for a time, planned a sequence of movements that was based on Arthur Schopenhauer’s “hierarchy of ideas”: the progressive portrayal of the different stages of existence from inanimate material through flora and fauna to human beings and to the notion of a metaphysically idealized, comprehensive love. This is why Mahler once noted as a secret programme for his Third:

1st movement: What the Stony Mountains Tell Me
2nd movement: What the Meadow Flowers Tell Me
3rd movement: What the Forest Creatures Tell Me
4th movement: What Man Tells Me
5th movement: What the Angels Tell Me
6th movement: What Love Tells Me

Mahler never published these titles – not just because of a fear that the symphony could be misunderstood by the audience as programme music, but also because the work, together with its plans to draw connections between the movements, had grown beyond its original concept as it was created.

The performance of this monumental work is entirely in Leipzig’s hands this evening, represented by the ladies of the Gewandhaus Choir and the Leipzig Opera Chorus, the Gewandhaus Children’s Choir and the Gewandhaus Orchestra under Alan Gilbert.

Gustav Mahler [1860-1911]
Symphony No. 3 in D minor
for large orchestra, alto solo, boys’ choir and women’s choir [1895/96]

First Part
I. Strong and decisive

Second Part
II. In the tempo of a minuet
III. Comfortably, like a scherzo
IV. Very slowly, mysteriously
V. Cheerful in tempo and cheeky in expression
VI. Slowly, tranquil, deeply felt

Gerhild Romberger alto

Ladies of the Chor der Oper Leipzig
Alessandro Zuppardo vocal coach

Ladies of the GewandhausChor
Gregor Meyer vocal coach

GewandhausKinderchor
Frank-Steffen Elster vocal coach

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Alan Gilbert conductor

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Alan Gilbert

Alan Gilbert

© Chris Lee

Konzert
Orchester zu Gast

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

19:00 Uhr Einführung

„Aus den großen Zusammenhängen zwischen den einzelnen Sätzen, von denen mir anfangs träumte, ist nichts geworden“, schrieb Gustav Mahler 1896 über seine Dritte Symphonie. Der Komponist hatte zeitweise eine Satzfolge geplant, die auf der „Stufenfolge der Ideen“ von Arthur Schopenhauer beruhte: die fortschreitende Darstellung der verschiedenen Wesensstufen von der unbelebten Materie über die Pflanzen- und Tierwelt zum Menschen zu der Vorstellung einer metaphysisch verklärten, allumfassenden Liebe. Als geheimes Programm seiner Dritten notierte Mahler daher einmal:

1. Satz: Was mir das Felsgebirge erzählt
2. Satz: Was mir die Blumen auf der Wiese erzählen
3. Satz: Was mir die Tiere im Wald erzählen
4. Satz: Was mir der Mensch erzählt
5. Satz: Was mir die Engel erzählen
6. Satz: Was mir die Liebe erzählt

Diese Satzüberschriften ließ Mahler indessen nie veröffentlichen – nicht nur aus Angst, die Symphonie könne vom Publikum als Programmmusik missverstanden werden, sondern auch, weil das Werk im Laufe seiner Entstehung weit über die ursprüngliche Konzeption mitsamt ihren Plänen zu musikalischen Querverbindungen zwischen den Sätzen hinausgewachsen war.

Die Aufführung dieses monumentalen Werks liegt an diesem Abend ganz in der Hand Leipzigs, repräsentiert durch die Damen des Gewandhaus-Chors und des Chors der Oper Leipzig, durch den Gewandhaus Kinderchor und das Gewandhausorchester unter Alan Gilbert.

Gustav Mahler [1860-1911]
Symphonie Nr. 3 d-Moll
für großes Orchester, Altsolo, Knabenchor und Frauenchor [1895/96]

Erste Abteilung
I. Kräftig. Entschieden

Zweite Abteilung
II. Tempo di menuetto. Sehr mäßig
III. Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast
IV. Sehr langsam. Misterioso. Durchaus ppp. „Oh Mensch! Gib acht!“
V. Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck. „Es sungen drei Engel“
VI. Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin