Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

© Marco Borggreve

Concert
Solo and late at night

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Markus Hinterhäuser, Laurence Dreyfus

Late Night: Patricia Kopatchinskaja

  • Event finishes at approx. 23:30

Concerts at unusual times of the day often have their own atmosphere and intensity and this late-night concert promises to be a special event. Violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and pianist Markus Hinterhäuser will perform two works by Galina Ustvolskaya: the Duet for Violin and Piano from 1964 and the Sonata for Violin and Piano from 1952. Both are compositions in which the asceticism of musical means is in inverse proportion to the expressive force and monumental character of the works.

Deceased in 2006 at the age of 87 years, Galina Ustvolskaya is among the most important composers from the former Soviet Union. The musical autonomy of Ustvolskaya, who neither followed the aesthetic guidelines of socialist realism in her works nor pursued any other trend favoured by the Western European avant-garde, was first recognized by her teacher Dmitri Shostakovich: “I am convinced that Ustvolskaya’s music will achieve global recognition among everyone who values truth in music.” Shostakovich’s prophetic words have proven true in the past decades. In their performance, Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Markus Hinterhäuser trace this integrity with every fibre.

Music from the Middle Ages and the Early Renaissance can be heard between the two works by Ustvolskaya, expanding the associative space and introducing a special music-historical dimension. Patricia Kopatchinskaja plays with Laurence Dreyfus on the descant viola da gamba.

Galina Ustvolskaya [1919-2006]
Sonata for violin and piano [1952]

Galina Ustvolskaya
Duet for violin and piano [1964]

Two-part music from the Middle Ages and Early Renaissance, adapted for violin and descant viola da gamba, can be heard between the two Ustvolskaya works.

A Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation event
in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

© Marco Borggreve

Konzert
Solo und spät nachts

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Markus Hinterhäuser, Laurence Dreyfus

Late Night: Patricia Kopatchinskaja

  • Veranstaltungsende ca. 23:30 Uhr

Vergangene Termine

Konzerte zu ungewöhnlichen Tageszeiten haben oft eine ganz eigene Atmosphäre und Intensität. Ein besonderes Ereignis dieser Art verspricht das Late Night Konzert zu werden, das die Geigerin Patricia Kopatchinskaja und der Pianist Markus Hinterhäuser mit zwei Werken von Galina Ustwolskaja gestalten werden: Sie spielen das Duett für Violine und Klavier von 1964 und die Sonate für Violine und Klavier von 1952.Beides Kompositionen, in denen die Askese der musikalischen Mittel in umgekehrten Verhältnis zur expressiven Kraft und monumentalen Charakter der Werke stehen.

Die 2006 im Alter von 87 Jahren verstorbene Galina Ustwolstkaja zählt zu den wichtigsten Komponistinnen der ehemaligen Sowjetunion. Die musikalische Eigenständigkeit von Ustwolskaja, die in ihrem Schaffen weder den ästhetischen Richtlinien des Sozialistischen Realismus folgte, noch irgendeiner Strömung der westeuropäischen Avantgarde nacheiferte, hat ihr Lehrer Dimitri Schostakowitsch als erster erkannt: „Ich bin überzeugt, dass die Musik Ustwolskajas weltweite Anerkennung finden wird bei allen, die der Wahrhaftigkeit in der Musik entscheidende Bedeutung zumessen. “Diese prophetischen Worte von Schostakowitsch haben sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten bewahrheitet. Dieser Wahrhaftigkeit spüren Patricia Kopatchinskaja und Markus Hinterhäuser in ihrem Spiel mit jeder Faser nach.

Zwischen den beiden Werken von Ustwolskaja erklingt Musik des Mittelalters und der Frührenaissance, erweitert den Assoziationsraum und bringt eine besondere musikhistorische Dimension ins Spiel. Hier musiziert Patricia Kopatchinskaja mit Laurence Dreyfus an der Diskant-Gambe.

Galina Ustwolskaja [1919-2006]
Sonate für Violine und Klavier [1952]

Galina Ustwolskaja
Duett für Violine und Klavier [1964]

Zwischen den beiden Werken von Galina Ustwolskaja erklingt zweistimmige Musik des Mittelalters und der Frührenaissance, eingerichtet für Violine und Diskant-Gambe.

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker
in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin