Boris Charmatz: Levée des conflits

Boris Charmatz: Levée des conflits

© Caroline Ablain

Dance

Boris Charmatz / Musée de la danse

Boris Charmatz / Musée de la danse, Rennes
“Levée des conflits”
Dance

  • Length 80 min

Artist Talk
2 July 2014 following the performance

2 July 2014, from 17:00
“How To Dance With Art”
Symposium

In the Western world, it is considered a weakness to avoid conflict. Western thinking is oriented towards oppositions, dualities, and it asserts their struggle for dominance. In his 1978 lectures at the Collège de France, French philosopher Roland Barthes pondered a third position: the neutral. He eschews a definition, leaving readers to develop their own desire. Boris Charmatz’ fascination with this figure of thought has led him to adopt it as the basis of this choreography, replacing the neutral with the suspension of conflicts that we are ultimately all longing for. This arrangement of 25 sequences of movement for 24 dancers operates on the musical principle of the canon: A movement begins, a dancer carries it out, another takes it on, yet another brings it to a close. The installation remains open and centres on a final sequence of movement which will always be missing. Because even if all 24 performers have taken over a sequence, one of the 25 movements will remain absent. What is left open here is the undefined neutral which is intended to set in motion our curiosity and our desire. The virtuosity of this equally poetic and political work opens up latitudes far beyond its theoretical background.

With Or Avishay, Matthieu Barbin, Eleanor Bauer, Nuno Bizarro, Matthieu Burner, Ashley Chen, Sonia Darbois, Olga Dukhovnaya, Peggy Grelat-Dupont, Gaspard Guilbert, Dominique Jégou, Lénio Kaklea, Jurij Konjar, Élise Ladoué, Catherine Legrand, Anne-Karine Lescop, Naiara Mendioroz, Thierry Micouin, Andreas Albert Müller, Mani A. Mungai, Qudus Onikeku, Felix Ott, Annabelle Pulcini, Simon Tanguy

Choreography Boris Charmatz
Assistance Anne-Karine Lescop
Light Yves Godin
Sound Olivier Renouf
Orchestration software Luccio Stiz
Music Henry Cowell, Conlon Nancarrow, Helmut Lachenmann, Morton Feldman
Mass of excerpts David Banner, Médéric Collignon et Jus de bocse, Miles Davis, Daniel Johnston, Electric Masada, Angus McColl, RZA, Terror Squad, Saul Williams, Zeitkratzer
Stage-management Fabrice Le Fur
Dresser Stefani Gicquiaud
Clothes in collaboration with Laure Fonvieille

Production: Musée de la danse / Centre choréographique national de Rennes et de Bretagne – Head: Boris Charmatz
Musée de la danse is supported by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication - the Direction régionale des Affaires Culturelles, the city of Rennes, the regional Council of Brittany and the General Council of lle-et-Vilaine.
Co-production: Théâtre National de Bretagne à Rennes / Théâtre de la Ville Paris / Festival d’Automne à Paris / Manifesta 8 Murcia Cartagena / ERSTE Stiftung
With support of: Teatro Maria Matos Lissabon / Chassé Theater Breda / Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels

Thanks to: Maud Le Pladec, Marlène Monteiro-Freitas, Katja Fleig, Margot Joncheray, Carlos Maria Romero, the students of the Inter-University Center for Dance HZT (Berlin, year 2010), the residents of the Pavillon, laboratoire de création du Palais de Tokyo, and all those who took part in the different stages of research.
With a special thought for Vincent Druguet and Odile Duboc.

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

With support of Institut français as part of the programme IntégraleS and With support of Convention Institut français / City of Rennes / Rennes Métropole.

Boris Charmatz: Levée des conflits

Boris Charmatz: Levée des conflits

© Caroline Ablain

Tanz

Boris Charmatz / Musée de la danse

Boris Charmatz / Musée de la danse, Rennes
„Levée des conflits“
Tanz

  • Dauer 80 Min.

Artist Talk
2. Juli 2014 im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

2. Juli 2014, ab 17:00 Uhr
„How To Dance With Art“
Symposium

Konflikten auszuweichen gilt in der westlichen Welt als Schwäche. Das hiesige Denken orientiert sich an Oppositionen, an Dualismen und behauptet deren Kampf um Vorherrschaft. Der französische Philosoph Roland Barthes hat in seinen Vorlesungen am Collège de France von 1978 über ein Drittes nachgedacht: das Neutrum. Er enthält sich einer Definition und überlässt es damit den Lesern, ein eigenes Begehren zu entwickeln. Boris Charmatz’ Faszination für diese Denkfigur geht so weit, dass er sie zur Grundlage dieser Choreografie nimmt und an die Stelle des Neutrums die Aufhebung der Konflikte setzt, nach der wir uns letztlich alle sehnen. Die Anordnung für 24 Tänzer mit 25 Bewegungssequenzen funktioniert nach dem musikalischen Prinzip des Kanons: Eine Bewegung beginnt, eine Tänzerin führt sie aus, eine andere nimmt sie auf, ein weiterer Tänzer führt sie zu Ende. Die Anlage bleibt immer offen und zentriert um eine letzte Bewegungssequenz, die immer fehlen wird: Denn auch wenn alle 24 Performer eine Sequenz übernommen haben, bleibt eine der 25 Bewegungen abwesend. Was hier offen gehalten wird, ist das nicht definierte Neutrum, das unsere Neugier und unser Begehren in Gang setzen soll. Eine gleichermaßen poetische wie politische Arbeit, deren Virtuosität Spielräume weit jenseits des theoretischen Hintergrundes eröffnet.

Mit Or Avishay, Matthieu Barbin, Eleanor Bauer, Nuno Bizarro, Matthieu Burner, Ashley Chen, Sonia Darbois, Olga Dukhovnaya, Peggy Grelat-Dupont, Gaspard Guilbert, Dominique Jégou, Lénio Kaklea, Jurij Konjar, Élise Ladoué, Catherine Legrand, Anne-Karine Lescop, Naiara Mendioroz, Thierry Micouin, Andreas Albert Müller, Mani A. Mungai, Qudus Onikeku, Felix Ott, Annabelle Pulcini, Simon Tanguy

Choreografie Boris Charmatz
Assistenz Anne-Karine Lescop
Licht Yves Godin
Ton Olivier Renouf
Software Orchestration Luccio Stiz
Musik Henry Cowell, Conlon Nancarrow, Helmut Lachenmann, Morton Feldman
Auszüge David Banner, Médéric Collignon et Jus de bocse, Miles Davis, Daniel Johnston, Electric Masada, Angus McColl, RZA, Terror Squad, Saul Williams, Zeitkratzer
Inspizienz Fabrice Le Fur
Garderobiere Stefani Gicquiaud
Kostüme in Zusammenarbeit mit Laure Fonvieille

Produktion: Musée de la danse / Centre choréographique national de Rennes et de Bretagne – Leitung: Boris Charmatz
Musée de la danse wird unterstützt durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Kommunikation (Direction régional für kulturelle Angelegenheiten / Bretagne), Stadt Rennes, Conseil régional der Bretagne und Conseil général der Ile-et-Vilaine
Koproduktion: Théâtre National de Bretagne à Rennes / Théâtre de la Ville Paris / Festival d’Automne à Paris / Manifesta 8 Murcia Cartagena / ERSTE Stiftung
Mit Unterstützung von: Teatro Maria Matos Lissabon / Chassé Theater Breda / Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brüssel

Musée de la danse dankt: Maud Le Pladec, Marlène Monteiro-Freitas, Katja Fleig, Margot Joncheray, Carlos Maria Romero, den Studenten des Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum Tanz HZT (Berlin 2010), den Residents des Pavillon, laboratoire de création du Palais de Tokyo, und allen weiteren Mitwirkenden
Besonderer Dank an: Vincent Druguet, Odile Duboc

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Mit Unterstützung von Institut français im Rahmen des Programms IntégraleS und mit Unterstützung der Convention Institut français / Stadt Rennes / Rennes Métropole.