Performance

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), Larré
“We Have Never Been Here Before”
Performance
World premiere

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii): We Have Never Been Here Before

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii): We Have Never Been Here Before

© Labofii

  • In English

Past Dates

Workshop
5 July 2014, 10:00–18:00
6 July 2014, 10:00–18:00
Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Kassenhalle
Registration for the workshop is no longer possible.

7 Juli 2014, 19:00
“Art Empowering Politics?!”
Talk

An undercover police officer disguised as a clown, a man in drag losing his high heels in a riot, trees planted in the middle of a motorway, the audience invading the stage and collectively killing their fear... The autobiographical lecture performance “We Have Never Been Here Before” turns the theatre into an assembly of hope in the dark and asks how we can remain empowered when our worlds are being ripped apart and life itself is threatened with extinction.

For a decade, The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii) has brought artists and activists together to carry out theatrical direct actions across Europe. But for its 18th experiment, the collective is retreating for a moment to the relative safety of the stage to collectively ask some disturbing questions about how to change our world. Sitting uncomfortably between witty confessional, popular education and an absurd rehearsal for the apocalypse, including a game show-like “call a friend” skype conversation with key thinkers such as David Graeber and Naomi Klein, “We Have Never Been Here Before” is a journey of empowerment in a time when hope seems so slippery. Do we have the courage to take life so seriously that we are prepared to lose everything in order to protect it?

Performed by John Jordan, labelled a “domestic terrorist” by the UK police and “magician of rebellion” by the press, the show is combined with a two-day workshop run by Labofii co-founder Isabelle Fremeaux, which asks: “What holds us back from action that is appropriate to the scale of the social and ecological crisis unfolding today?”

Conceived by The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii)
Performance John Jordan
Workshop Isabelle Fremeaux
Live soundtrack Jack Jordan
Design Audrey Bouvier & Jonathan Vidal (of MIT Collective)
Film Kyp Kyprianou
Directorial advice Sascha Flocken
Light Olivier Bourguignon
Skype talks with David Graeber, Naomi Klein, Paul Mason, Rebecca Solnit et al.

Production: Berliner Festspiele – Foreign Affairs
Co-production: Kaaitheater

Fundesd by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

With generous support of the city of Larré

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii): We Have Never Been Here Before

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii): We Have Never Been Here Before

© Labofii

Performance

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii), Larré
„We Have Never Been Here Before“
Performance
Uraufführung

  • In englischer Sprache

Workshop
5. Juli 2014, 10:00–18:00 Uhr
6. Juli 2014, 10:00–18:00 Uhr
Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Kassenhalle
Die Anmeldung für den Workshop ist abgeschlossen.

7. Juli 2014, 19:00 Uhr
„Art Empowering Politics?!“
Gespräch

Ein Undercover-Polizist im Clownskostüm, ein Transvestit, dem bei einer Randale seine Stöckelschuhe abhanden kommen, Bäume, die inmitten einer Autobahn gepflanzt werden, das Publikum, das die Bühne einnimmt und im Kollektiv seine Angst tötet: Die autobiografische Lecture Performance „We Have Never Been Here Before“ verwandelt das Theater vorübergehend in einen Ort der Utopie und fragt, wie wir unseren Einfluss bewahren können, während die Welt um uns herum zerfällt und nicht weniger als das Leben selbst von der Ausrottung bedroht ist.

Seit zehn Jahren versammelt das Labor für aufständische Imagination (Labofii) Künstler und Aktivisten, um theatrale Protestaktionen in ganz Europa durchzuführen. Für ihr 18. Experiment zieht sich das Kollektiv kurzzeitig in die relative Geborgenheit der Bühne zurück, um sich gemeinsam mit einigen beunruhigenden Fragen nach dem Wie der Veränderung unserer Welt zu beschäftigen. „We Have Never Been Here Before“ zieht das Publikum in eine Explosion von autobiografischen Geschichten des Widerstands, in denen Unmögliches mit Unwahrscheinlichem verschmilzt. Unbequem verortet zwischen humorvoller Beichte, Volksbildung und absurder Vorbereitung auf die Apokalypse sowie Gameshow-artigen Anrufen bei Vordenkern wie David Graeber und Naomi Klein, entfaltet „We Have Never Been Here Before“ sich als eine Reise der Ermächtigung in Zeiten, in denen die Hoffnung zu entschwinden scheint. Haben wir den Mut, das Leben so ernst zu nehmen, dass wir bereit sind alles zu verlieren, um es zu beschützen?

Von der englischen Polizei als „domestic terrorist“ und von der Presse als „magician of rebellion“ bezeichnet, lädt John Jordan neben der Performance gemeinsam mit Isabelle Fremeaux zu einem Workshop: Was hält uns trotz der Größe der sozialen und ökologischen Krise davon ab, die angemessenen Mittel dagegen einzusetzen?

Konzept The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (Labofii)
Performance John Jordan
Workshop Isabelle Fremeaux
Live Soundtrack Jack Jordan
Design Audrey Bouvier & Jonathan Vidal (vom MIT Collective)
Film Kyp Kyprianou
Inszenatoirsche Beratung Sascha Flocken
Licht Olivier Bourguignon
Skype-Gespräche mit David Graeber, Naomi Klein, Paul Mason, Rebecca Solnit u.a.

Produktion: Berliner Festspiele – Foreign Affairs
Koproduktion: Kaaitheater

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Stadt Larré