Rosas & Ictus

Rosas & Ictus. Vortex Temporum

© Anne van Aerschot

Dance

Rosas & Ictus: “Vortex Temporum”

On the occasion of Tanz im August

  • Length 1h, no interval

The eddies and whirls of nature are as timeless and stately as the title. Belgian choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker is one of the greats of contemporary European dance, a master of abstract form. In 34 years of creative work her exploration of 20th-century and contemporary music has become increasingly powerful.

In Vortex Temporum seven dancers from De Keersmaeker’s company Rosas and six musicians from the new-music ensemble Ictus perform alongside and with one another on an equal footing. The French composer Gérard Grisey completed his intense and colourful chamber piece Vortex Temporum two years before his death in 1998. As if making a legacy, he describes the circling of an invisible axis of space and time. The 60-minute dance takes up this motif, becoming a part of the music. At the end, when the minute hand of the clock has returned to its starting point, the music itself has become dance.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker studied dance with Maurice Béjart in Brussels and the Tisch School of Arts in NYC. In 1983 she founded her company Rosas, which has been part of the Théatre Royal de la Monnaie since 1992. Since 1995 De Keersmaeker has been the director of the Brussels dance institution P.A.R.T.S., from which countless new talents have emerged.

Choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Carlos Garbin, Marie Goudot, Cynthia Loemij, Julien Monty, Michael Pomero, Igor Shyshko
Created with Chrysa Parkinson
Music Vortex Temporum, Gérard Grisey (1996)
Musical director Georges-Elie Octors / Matthew Coorey
Musicians Ictus
Piano Jean-Luc Plouvier
Flute Michael Schmid
Clarinet Dirk Descheemaeker
Violin Igor Semenoff
Viola Jeroen Robbrecht
Cello Geert De Bièvre
Lighting design Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Luc Schaltin
Artistic advisor light Michel François
Costumes Anne-Catherine Kunz
Musical dramaturgy Bojana Cvejić

Organizer Tanz im August/HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Tanz im August is supported by means of the Capital City Cultural Funds from means of the Hauptstadtkulturfonds with the support of the governing mayor of Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.
www.tanzimaugust.de

Production Rosas
Co-production: De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussels), Ruhrtriennale, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Sadler’s Wells (London), Opéra de Lille, ImpulsTanz (Vienna), Holland Festival (Amsterdam), Concertgebouw Brugge (Brugge)

Rosas & Ictus

Rosas & Ictus. Vortex Temporum

© Anne van Aerschot

Tanz

Rosas & Ictus: „Vortex Temporum“

Im Rahmen von Tanz im August

  • Dauer 1h, keine Pause

So zeitlos und gravitätisch wie der Titel sind die Wirbel und Strudel der Natur. Die Belgierin Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ist heute eine der ganz Großen des europäischen Tanzes, eine Meisterin der abstrakten Form. In den 34 Jahren ihres Schaffens wurden ihre Auseinandersetzung mit Werken der Klassischen Moderne und zeitgenössischen Musik immer eindringlicher.

In „Vortex Temporum“ agieren sieben Tänzer der De Keersmaeker-Kompanie Rosas und sechs Musiker des Neue-Musik-Ensembles Ictus gleichberechtig miteinander und nebeneinander. Der 1998 verstorbene französische Komponist Gérard Grisey vollendete sein äußerst intensives und farbenreiches Kammermusikstück „Vortex Temporum“ zwei Jahre vor seinem Tod. Darin beschreibt er vermächtnishaft das Umkreisen einer unsichtbaren Achse in Raum und Zeit. Der 60-minütige Tanz nimmt das Motiv auf und wird dabei selbst Teil der Musik. Gleichsam ist die Musik am Ende, wenn der Minutenzeiger der Uhr an seinen Ausgangspunkt zurückgekehrt ist, selbst zum Tanz geworden.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker studierte Tanz bei Maurice Béjart in Brüssel und an der Tisch School of the Arts in New York. 1983 gründete sie ihre Kompanie Rosas, seit 1992 ist diese Teil des Théatre Royal de la Monnaie. Seit 1995 leitet sie die Brüsseler Tanzinstitution P.A.R.T.S. aus der bisher unzählige Talente hervorgegangen sind.

Choreographie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Tänzer Boštjan Antončič, Carlos Garbin, Marie Goudot, Cynthia Loemij, Julien Monty, Michael Pomero, Igor Shyshko
Kreiert mit Chrysa Parkinson
Musik Vortex Temporum, Gérard Grisey (1996)
Musikalische Leitung Georges-Elie Octors / Matthew Coorey
Musiker Ictus
Piano Jean-Luc Plouvier
Flöte Michael Schmid
Klarinette Dirk Descheemaeker
Geige Igor Semenoff
Bratsche Jeroen Robbrecht
Cello Geert De Bièvre
Licht-Design Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Luc Schaltin
Künstlerische Beratung Licht Michel François
Kostüme Anne-Catherine Kunz
Musikalische Dramaturgie Bojana Cvejić

Veranstalter Tanz im August/HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Tanz im August wird gefördert aus den Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds mit Unterstützung des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.
www.tanzimaugust.de

Produktion Rosas
Co-Produktion: De Munt / La Monnaie (Brüssel), Ruhrtriennale, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Sadler’s Wells (London), Opéra de Lille, ImpulsTanz (Wien), Holland Festival (Amsterdam), Concertgebouw Brugge (Brugge)