Johannes Brahms

In the early autumn of 1853, Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) must have felt like a character out of a penny dreadful. A few months earlier, shortly before his 20th birthday, Brahms had embarked on a concert tour lasting several months as accompanist to the well-known violinist Eduard Reményi. It was the first professional venture for the young pianist, who came from a petty bourgeois, rather poor background. His father, a Hamburg musician, scraped by as best he could, but allowed his children to take music lessons. Brahms had begun playing the piano, but soon received extensive and competent instruction in composition and theory. Therefore, he already brought along some of his own piano works on his concert tour with Reményi. In the course of the summer, Brahms met many high-ranking musicians such as the Hungarian violinist and composer Joseph Joachim, with whom he was to share a lifelong friendship, and he was also introduced to Franz Liszt. Finally, long after the concert tour had ended, the young man found himself in Düsseldorf, at the home of Robert Schumann, at the table of one of Germany's most respected composers, who was simply enthralled by Brahms's piano playing and especially by his compositions. On 28 October 1853, Schumann published an almost prophetic article in which he emphatically celebrated Brahms as the long-awaited great composer who would decisively shape the music of the future. It was also thanks to Schumann's advocacy that Brahms quickly found publishers interested in his works, and when he returned to Hamburg in December 1853, the first compositions had already been published.

As glamorous as this introduction to the music scene was, these high expectations also caused Brahms a certain anxiety. He suffered a creative crisis from which he was only able to free himself with the completion of the 1. Piano Concerto in D minor op. 15, which was first performed in 1860. Although the work initially failed to be a resounding success, Brahms himself was sure of his creative strength from then on. He went on to create work after work, systematically testing himself in an ever-expanding range of genres, from piano and chamber music to songs and vocal works with large ensembles. Brahms initially earned his living mainly as a concert musician, as a pianist and also as a conductor. The publishing fees for his compositions, however, increased steadily and eventually reached enormous sums. With few exceptions, Brahms, who had taken up residence in Vienna in the early 1860s, avoided permanent employment in order to be able to devote himself to his work undisturbed. His life followed a set pattern. Brahms spent the winter season giving concerts, and in the summer, he retreated to the countryside to compose.

As an artist, Brahms was extraordinarily self-critical and only satisfied when he met the highest standards. We know from his letters, for example, that his first string quartet opus had been preceded by some twenty attempts over a period of years, all of which he judged to be inadequate and subsequently destroyed. He saw his mission as a composer less in breaking new ground, as did Liszt and Wagner, for example, but rather in enriching existing forms and genres with his own contributions and keeping them alive. In doing so, Brahms was able to do what only the greatest composers are able to do: appeal equally to the emotions, the senses and the appreciation of art.

Brahms' symphonies, which in the 19th century were considered the crowning achievement of instrumental music, did not come to him easily. It was not until Brahms had succeeded in developing the richly differentiated orchestral sound typical of him in the "Haydn Variations" op. 56 from 1873 and in creating a large orchestral work that he was sure he had the artistic means to compose a symphony of the highest order. Within three years, he completed his 1. Symphony in C minor op. 68, on which he had been working since 1862. The importance of the piece was universally recognized from its first performance. From then on, Brahms worked steadily and systematically on large orchestral works, and three more symphonies and three instrumental concertos infused with a great symphonic sweep were written. Brahms died in Vienna on 3 April 1897. A large funeral procession was held to honor him, and he found his final resting place in a grave of honor in Vienna's Central Cemetery, between the graves of Beethoven and Schubert.

Johannes Brahms

Photo: New York Public Library Archives

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Johannes Brahms

Foto: New York Public Library Archives

Johannes Brahms

Im Frühherbst des Jahres 1853 muss sich Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) wie eine Figur aus einem Groschenroman gefühlt haben. Einige Monate zuvor, kurz vor seinem 20. Geburtstag, hatte sich Brahms als Begleiter des bekannten Geigers Eduard Reményi auf eine mehrmonatige Konzertreise begeben. Es war die erste professionelle Unternehmung für den jungen Pianisten, der aus kleinbürgerlichen, geradezu ärmlichen Verhältnissen stammte. Sein Vater, ein Hamburger Musiker, schlug sich durch, so gut es eben ging, ermöglichte aber seinen Kindern Musikunterricht. Brahms hatte mit dem Klavierspiel begonnen, aber bald schon auch umfassende und kompetente Unterweisung in Komposition und Theorie erhalten. Und so hatte er bereits einige eigene Klavierwerke im Gepäck, als er zu der Konzertreise mit Reményi aufbrach. Im Verlauf des Sommers hatte Brahms viele hochrangige Musiker getroffen wie den ungarischen Geiger und Komponisten Joseph Joachim, mit dem ihn eine lebenslange Freundschaft verbinden sollte, und er war auch Franz Liszt vorgestellt worden. Und nun, nachdem die Konzerttournee schon längst beendet war, fand sich der junge Mann in Düsseldorf wieder, im Hause Robert Schumanns, am Tisch eines der angesehensten Komponisten Deutschlands, der von Brahms’ Klavierspiel und vor allem von seinen Kompositionen schlichtweg begeistert war. Am 28. Oktober veröffentlichte Schumann einen geradezu prophetischen Artikel, in dem er Brahms emphatisch als die lang erwartete große Komponistenpersönlichkeit feierte, die die Musik der Zukunft entscheidend prägen sollte. Auch auf Schumanns Fürsprechen hin fand Brahms rasch Verleger, die sich für seine Werke interessierten, und als er im Dezember 1853 nach Hamburg zurückkehrte, waren die ersten Kompositionen bereits erschienen.

So glanzvoll dieser Eintritt in die musikalische Öffentlichkeit war, lösten die hohen Erwartungen doch auch eine gewisse Beklemmung bei Brahms aus. Er verfiel in eine schöpferische Krise, aus der er sich erst mit dem Abschluss des 1860 uraufgeführten 1. Klavierkonzertes in d-Moll op. 15 befreien konnte. Dem Werk war zwar ein durchschlagender Erfolg zunächst versagt, Brahms selbst aber war sich von da an seiner schöpferischen Kraft sicher. Er schuf nun kontinuierlich Werk um Werk und erprobte sich dabei systematisch an einem immer größeren Kreis an Gattungen von der Klavier- und Kammermusik bis hin zu Liedern und groß besetzten Vokalwerken. Seinen Lebensunterhalt verdiente Brahms anfangs hauptsächlich als konzertierender Musiker, als Pianist und auch als Dirigent. Die Verlagshonorare für seine Kompositionen aber stiegen stetig an und erreichten schließlich enorme Summen. Festen Anstellungen hingegen wich Brahms, der seinen Wohnsitz seit Anfang der 1860er Jahre in Wien genommen hatte, von wenigen Ausnahmen abgesehen aus, um sich ungestört seinem Schaffen widmen zu können. Sein Leben folgte dabei einem festen Muster. Die Wintersaison nutzte Brahms zum Konzertieren, im Sommer zog er sich aufs Land zurück um zu komponieren.

Als Künstler war Brahms außerordentlich selbstkritisch und erst zufrieden, wenn er höchsten Ansprüchen genügte. Aus seinen Briefen wissen wir etwa, dass seinem ersten Streichquartett-Opus über Jahre hinweg an die zwanzig Versuche vorangegangen waren, die er allesamt als ungenügend bewertet und vernichtet hatte. Seine Aufgabe als Komponist sah er grundsätzlich weniger darin, völlig neue Wege zu beschreiten, wie dies beispielsweise Liszt und Wagner taten, sondern vielmehr darin, bestehende Formen und Gattungen um eigene Beiträge zu bereichern und lebendig zu halten. Dabei vermochte Brahms, was nur den größten Komponisten vorbehalten ist:Gefühl, Sinnlichkeit und Kunstverstand gleichermaßen anzusprechen.

Besonders lang und mühsam war Brahms’ Weg zur Symphonie, die im 19. Jahrhundert als die Krönung der Instrumentalmusik galt. Erst als es Brahms in den „Haydn-Variationen“ op. 56 aus dem Jahr 1873 gelungen war, den für ihn typischen, reich differenzierten Orchesterklang zu finden und ein großes Orchesterwerk zu gestalten, war er sich sicher, über die künstlerischen Mittel zu verfügen, eine Symphonie obersten Ranges zu komponieren. Binnen dreier Jahre erfolgte die Fertigstellung seiner 1. Symphonie in c-Moll op. 68, an der er seit 1862 gearbeitet hatte. Die Bedeutung des Stückes wurde von der Uraufführung an allgemein anerkannt. Von nun an arbeitete Brahms stetig und systematisch an großen Orchesterwerken, und es entstanden noch drei weitere Symphonien und drei von einem großen, symphonischen Atem durchwehte Instrumentalkonzerte. Brahms starb am 3. April 1897 in Wien. Er wurde mit einem großen Trauerzug geehrt und fand seine letzte Ruhestätte in einem Ehrengrab auf dem Wiener Zentralfriedhof zwischen den Gräbern Beethovens und Schuberts.

Stand: Juni 2017

Vergangene Veranstaltungen