Gustavo Dudamel

© Adam Latham

Gustavo Dudamel

As an internationally renowned symphonic and operatic conductor, Gustavo Dudamel is motivated by a profound belief in music's power to unite and inspire. Currently serving as Music & Artistic Director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic and Music Director of the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela, the impact of his leadership extends from the greatest concert stages to classrooms, cinemas and innovative digital platforms around the world. Dudamel also appears as guest conductor with some of the world’s most famous musical institutions: in 2017, he tours Europe with the Berlin Philharmonic and is the youngest-ever conductor to lead the Vienna Philharmonic’s famous New Year's Day Concert, watched annually by over 50 million people in 90 countries.

Now entering his eighth season as Music & Artistic Director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Dudamel’s contract has been extended to the end of the 2021-2022 season. At his initiative, the Los Angeles Philharmonic has dramatically expanded the scope of its community outreach programs, including most notably the creation of Youth Orchestra Los Angeles (YOLA), influenced by the philosophy of Venezuela’s admired El Sistema, which encourages social development through music. With YOLA and diverse local educational initiatives, Dudamel brings music to children in underserved communities of Los Angeles. These programs have in turn inspired similar efforts throughout the United States, as well as in Sweden (Hammarkullen) and Scotland (Raploch).

As Music Director, his 18th season, of the entire El Sistema project in Venezuela, he continues to lead the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra in Venezuela as well as on tour.

Recordings, broadcasts and digital innovations are also fundamental to Dudamel's passionate advocacy for universal access to music. A Deutsche Grammophon artist since 2005, Grammy winner Gustavo Dudamel has numerous recordings on the label, as well as many video and DVD releases that capture the excitement of significant moments of his musical life. He has independently produced an all-Wagner recording available exclusively for download, among others.

Gustavo Dudamel is one of the most decorated conductors of his generation. He received the “Americas Society Cultural Achievement Award” in 2016, and the “2014 Leonard Bernstein Lifetime Achievement Award for the Elevation of Music in Society” from the Longy School. In 2013 he was named “Musical America’s” “Musician of the Year” and inducted into the “Gramophone Hall of Fame”. Other awards include the 2010 “Eugene McDermott Award in the Arts” at MIT; 2009 “Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres” and being named one of “TIME Magazine’s” 100 most influential people; and the 2008 “Q Prize” from Harvard. Additionally, he has received several honorary doctorates.

Born in 1981 in Venezuela, access to music for all has been the cornerstone of Gustavo’s philosophy both professionally and philanthropically.

www.gustavodudamel.com

As of June 2016

Past Events

Gustavo Dudamel

© Adam Latham

Gustavo Dudamel

Als international renommierter Dirigent von Oper und symphonischer Musik schöpft Gustavo Dudamel seine Motivation aus einem tiefen Glauben an die Fähigkeit der Musik, Menschen zu vereinen und zu inspirieren. Zurzeit ist Dudamel musikalischer und künstlerischer Direktor des Los Angeles Philharmonic und musikalischer Leiter des Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela. Die Wirkung seiner musikalischen Arbeit erstreckt sich von den bedeutendsten Konzertsälen bis hin zu Klassenzimmern, Kinos und innovativen digitalen Plattformen weltweit. Außerdem konzertiert Dudamel als Gastdirigent mit den bekanntesten Klangkörpern der Welt: 2017 wird er eine Europatournee mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unternehmen und als jüngster Dirigent aller Zeiten das Neujahrskonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker leiten, das jedes Jahr von mehr als 50 Millionen Menschen in 90 Ländern verfolgt wird.

Soeben hat Gustavo Dudamel, der demnächst seine achte Spielzeit als musikalischer und künstlerischer Direktor des Los Angeles Philharmonic antritt, seinen Vertrag dort bis zur Spielzeit 2021/22 verlängert. Auf seine Initiative hin hat das Orchester seine Jugendprogramme deutlich verstärkt. Besonders bemerkenswert ist hier die Gründung des Youth Orchestra Los Angeles (YOLA), nach dem Vorbild des viel beachteten venezolanischen El Sistema, eines Systems, das soziale Entwicklung durch Zugang zu Musik verfolgt. Mit YOLA und diversen weiteren örtlichen Bildungsinitiativen bringt Dudamel Kindern in benachteiligten Gebieten von Los Angeles die Musik nahe. Diese Programme haben ihrerseits zu ähnlichen Bestrebungen in anderen Teilen der USA sowie in Schweden (Hammarkullen) und Schottland (Raploch) geführt.

Seit 18 Jahren ist er musikalischer Leiter des gesamten El Sistema-Projekts in Venezuela und dirigiert das Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela weiterhin sowohl in seinem Heimatland als auch auf Tourneen.

Auch Aufnahmen, Übertragungen und digitale Innovationen sind fundamentale Bestandteile von Gustavo Dudamels leidenschaftlichem Einsatz für den universellen Zugang zu Musik. Seit 2005 ist der Grammy-Gewinner Dudamel Künstler der Deutschen Grammophon und hat für dieses Label zahlreiche Aufnahmen eingespielt. Auf seinen Video- und DVD-Veröffentlichungen ist die Begeisterung der bedeutendsten Momente seines musikalischen Lebens nachzuempfinden. Unter anderem produzierte er eine unabhängige Gesamtaufnahme der Werke Richard Wagners, exklusiv zum Download.

Gustavo Dudamel ist einer der meist ausgezeichneten Dirigenten seiner Generation. 2016 erhielt er den Americas Society Cultural Achievement Award. Im Jahr 2014 wurde ihm der Leonard Bernstein Lifetime Achievement Award for the Elevation of Music in Society von der Longy School verliehen. 2013 erklärte ihn die Internetplattform „Musical America“ zum Musiker des Jahres und er wurde in die Gramophone Hall of Fame aufgenommen. Zu seinen weiteren Auszeichnungen gehören der Eugene McDermott Award in the Arts des MIT (2010), der Rang des Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (2009) und die Erwähnung unter den 100 einflussreichsten Menschen im „TIME Magazine“ (2009) sowie der Q Prize der Harvard University (2008). Außerdem wurden ihm mehrere Ehrendoktortitel verliehen.

Der universelle Zugang zu Musik ist ein Eckpfeiler in der persönlichen Philosophie des 1981 in Venezuela geborenen Gustavo Dudamel, sowohl hinsichtlich seines beruflichen als auch seines gesellschaftlichen Engagements.

www.gustavodudamel.com 

Stand: Juni 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen