Iván Fischer

Hungarian-born Iván Fischer is one of the most renowned conductors of our time. As Music Director of the Budapest Festival Orchestra, which he founded in 1983, he has positioned the ensemble as a leading symphony orchestra through concerts, tours and recordings for Philips Classics and Channel Classics. Iván Fischer was Music Director of Kent Opera, Opéra National de Lyon, Principal Conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington and from 2012 to 2018 chief conductor of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, which appointed him honorary conductor following his tenure. Iván Fischer also works closely with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, which appointed him honorary guest conductor in 2020.

Fischer has developed successful music education formats with his orchestras, such as surprise and request concerts or - at the Konzerthausorchester Berlin - the concert series “Mittendrin”, in which the audience takes a seat in the orchestra. Since the beginning of the millennium, Iván Fischer has also increasingly appeared as a composer. His opera “Die Rote Färse” received its first German performance in 2014 at the Konzerthaus Berlin.

Iván Fischer is the founder of the Hungarian Mahler Society and patron of the British Kodály Academy. He was awarded the Golden Medal by the President of the Republic of Hungary and the Crystal Award by the World Economic Forum for his services to the promotion of international cultural relations. The French government appointed him Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. In 2006 he was honoured with the Kossuth Prize, the most prestigious arts award in Hungary. In 2011 he received the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Award and the Dutch Ovatie Prize. In 2013 he was made an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Music in London. Iván Fischer is an honorary citizen of Budapest.

Fischer studied piano, violin, violoncello and composition in Budapest. In Vienna he studied conducting in the class of Hans Swarowsky. He was then Nikolaus Harnoncourt's assistant for two years before his international career began in 1976 with winning the Rupert Foundation Conducting Competition in London.

As of October 2022

Iván Fischer

© Marco Borggreve

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Iván Fischer

Der Ungar Iván Fischer gehört zu den namhaftesten Dirigenten des gegenwärtigen Musiklebens. Als Musikdirektor des von ihm 1983 gegründeten Budapest Festival Orchestra hat er das Ensemble durch Konzerte, Tourneen und Einspielungen für Philips Classics and Channel Classics als einen der führenden Klangkörper für symphonische Musik positioniert. Iván Fischer war Musikdirektor an der Kent Opera, der Opéra National de Lyon, außerdem Erster Dirigent des National Symphony Orchestra in Washington sowie von 2012 bis 2018 Chefdirigent des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin, das ihn im Anschluss an seine Amtszeit zum Ehrendirigenten ernannte. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet Iván Fischer außerdem mit dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, das ihn 2020 zum Ehrengastdirigenten ernannte.

Mit seinen Klangkörpern entwickelte Fischer in der Vergangenheit erfolgreiche Musikvermittlungsformate wie Überraschungs- und Wunschkonzerte oder – beim Konzerthausorchester Berlin – die Konzertreihe „Mittendrin“, bei der das Publikum im Orchester Platz nimmt. Seit Beginn des Jahrtausends tritt Iván Fischer zunehmend auch als Komponist in Erscheinung. Seine Oper „Die Rote Färse“ erlebte 2014 ihre erste deutsche Aufführung im Konzerthaus Berlin.

Iván Fischer ist Gründer der Ungarischen Mahler-Gesellschaft und Schirmherr der Britischen Kodály Academy. Vom Präsident der Republik Ungarn wurde er mit der Goldenen Medaille ausgezeichnet und das Weltwirtschaftsforum verlieh ihm den Crystal Award für seine Verdienste zur Förderung internationaler kultureller Beziehungen. Die französische Regierung ernannte ihn zum Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. 2006 wurde er mit dem Kossuth-Preis geehrt, dem angesehensten Kunstpreis in Ungarn. 2011 erhielt er den Royal Philharmonic Society Music Award und den Dutch Ovatie Prize. 2013 wurde er zum Ehrenmitglied der Royal Academy of Music in London ernannt. Iván Fischer ist Ehrenbürger von Budapest.

Fischer studierte in Budapest Klavier, Geige, Violoncello und Komposition. In Wien studierte er außerdem Dirigieren in der Klasse von Hans Swarowsky. Anschließend war er für zwei Jahre Assistent von Nikolaus Harnoncourt, bevor seine internationale Karriere mit dem Sieg beim Dirigentenwettbewerb der Rupert Foundation in London 1976 ihren Anfang nahm.

Stand: Oktober 2022

Iván Fischer

© Marco Borggreve

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen