Sir John Eliot Gardiner

John Eliot Gardiner is revered as one of the world’s most innovative and dynamic musicians and is a leader in the contemporary musical world. His work, as Founder and Artistic Director of the Monteverdi Choir, English Baroque Soloists and Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique has made him a key figure both in the early music revival and historically informed performance practice.

Gardiner is a regular guest of the world’s leading symphony orchestras, including the London Symphony Orchestra, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, conducting repertoire from the 16th to the 20th centuries. He has also conducted opera productions at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Wiener Staatsoper and the Teatro alla Scala in Milan. From 1983 to 1988 he was Artistic Director of the Opéra de Lyon, where he founded its new orchestra.

His broad repertoire is illustrated by his extensive catalogue of award-winning recordings with the Monteverdi ensembles and other leading orchestras on both major labels and his own Soli Deo Gloria label. He holds two Grammy awards and has received more Gramophone Awards than any other living artist.

Recent achievements with the Monteverdi ensembles include the Royal Philharmonic Society Award winning Monteverdi 450 project in 2017 – a reprise of the 2000’s famous Bach Cantata Pilgrimage, which toured to some of Europe’s most famous concert halls and churches in 2018 – a five-year exploration of Berlioz’s major works to mark the 150th anniversary of the composer’s death, and a landmark performance of Verdi’s Requiem at London’s Westminster Cathedral in aid of Cancer Research UK. In 2019 Gardiner conducted new productions of Handel’s “Semele” and Berlioz’s “Benvenuto Cellini”, and gave his debut performances in Colombia, Russia, Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina and Chile. The beginning of 2020 saw Gardiner conduct the ORR in three Beethoven symphony cycles as part of the Beethoven 250 anniversary celebrations, with concerts at Barcelona’s Palau de la Música, New York’s Carnegie Hall, and the Harris Theatre in Chicago.

An authority on the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, Gardiner’s book “Music in the Castle of Heaven: A Portrait of Johann Sebastian Bach” was published in October 2013 by Allen Lane, leading to the Prix des Muses award (Singer-Polignac). Among numerous awards in recognition of his work, Gardiner holds several honorary doctorates. He was awarded a knighthood for his services to music in the 1998 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

© Sim Canetty-Clarke

Past Events

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

John Eliot Gardiner wird als einer der innovativsten Musiker*innen der Welt geschätzt und ist aus der internationalen Musikwelt nicht wegzudenken. Seine Arbeit als Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter des Monteverdi Choir, der English Baroque Soloists und des Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique hat ihn zu einer Schlüsselfigur, sowohl für das Revival der Alten Musik als auch für die historisch informierte Aufführungspraxis, gemacht.

Gardiner ist regelmäßiger Gast bei den führenden Symphonieorchestern der Welt, darunter das London Symphony Orchestra, das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, das Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam und das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, und dirigiert dabei ein Repertoire vom 16. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert. Außerdem dirigierte er Opernproduktionen am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, an der Wiener Staatsoper und am Teatro alla Scala in Mailand. Von 1983 bis 1988 war er künstlerischer Leiter der Opéra de Lyon, wo er das neue Orchester gründete.

Sein breit gefächertes Repertoire wird durch seinen umfangreichen Katalog an preisgekrönten Aufnahmen mit den Monteverdi-Ensembles und anderen führenden Orchestern sowohl bei großen Labels als auch bei seinem eigenen Label Soli Deo Gloria illustriert. Er ist zweifacher Grammy-Preisträger und hat mehr Gramophone-Awards erhalten als jede*r andere lebende Künstler*in.

Zu den jüngsten Erfolgen mit den Monteverdi-Ensembles gehören das mit dem Royal Philharmonic Society Award ausgezeichnete Projekt „Monteverdi 450“ im Jahr 2017, eine Reprise der berühmten Bach-Kantaten-Pilgerreise aus dem Jahr 2000, die 2018 durch einige der berühmtesten Konzertsäle und Kirchen Europas tourte, eine fünfjährige Erkundung der Hauptwerke von Berlioz anlässlich des 150. Todestages des Komponisten und eine bahnbrechende Aufführung von Verdis Requiem in der Londoner Westminster Cathedral zugunsten von Cancer Research UK. Im Jahr 2019 dirigierte Gardiner Neuproduktionen von Händels „Semele“ und Berlioz' „Benvenuto Cellini“ und gab seine ersten Aufführungen in Kolumbien, Russland, Brasilien, Uruguay, Argentinien und Chile. Anfang 2020 dirigierte Gardiner das Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique in drei Beethoven-Symphoniezyklen als Teil der Beethovenjahr-Feierlichkeiten mit Konzerten im Palau de la Música in Barcelona, in der Carnegie Hall in New York und im Harris Theatre in Chicago.

Als Standardwerk über die Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach wurde Gardiners Buch „Music in the Castle of Heaven: A Portrait of Johann Sebastian Bach“ im Oktober 2013 bei Allen Lane veröffentlicht und mit dem Prix des Muses (Singer-Polignac) ausgezeichnet. Neben zahlreichen Auszeichnungen in Anerkennung seiner Arbeit hält Gardiner mehrere Ehrendoktorwürden. Für seine Verdienste um die Musik wurde er 1998 in der Queen's Birthday Honours List mit dem Ritterschlag ausgezeichnet.

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

© Sim Canetty-Clarke

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen