Daniel Harding

Daniel Harding, born in Oxford in 1975, began his career assisting Sir Simon Rattle at the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, which he himself conducted for the first time in 1994. He later worked as Claudio Abbado’s musical assistant, and in 1996 became the youngest conductor to appear at the BBC Proms in London. That same year he also made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker at the Berlin Festival, conducting works by Berlioz, Brahms and Dvořák.

After appointments with the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra in Norway and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra in Sweden, he served as music director of the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (1997–2003), principal conductor of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra (2003–2011), music partner of the New Japan Philharmonic (2010–2016) and principal guest conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra (2006–2017). Since 2007 Harding is music director of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. From September 2016 until summer 2019 he took on the same role with the Orchestre de Paris.

In constant demand in the world’s leading centres of music, he has appeared with many internationally acclaimed orchestras and conducted opera performances in houses as prestigious as the Royal Opera, Covent Garden, La Scala, Milan, the Vienna, Berlin and Munich State Operas and the Salzburg and Aix-en-Provence Festivals. In 2002 Daniel Harding was awarded the title Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government and in 2012 he was elected a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Music. The Mahler Chamber Orchestra honoured him with the lifetime title of Conductor Laureate. In 2018 he was named artistic director of the Anima Mundi Festival in Pisa. As a guest conductor with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Daniel Harding last appeared in September 2019 in the context of Musikfest Berlin 2019, when he conducted three concerts with Hector Berliozʼ “Roméo et Juliette”.

www.danielharding.com

As of May 2020

Daniel Harding

© Julian Hargreaves

Past Events

Daniel Harding

Daniel Harding, 1975 in Oxford geboren, begann seine Karriere als Assistent von Sir Simon Rattle beim City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, das er 1994 auch erstmals selbst dirigierte. Es folgte eine weitere Assistententätigkeit bei Claudio Abbado; 1996 debütierte Harding als jüngster Dirigent der BBC Proms in London und leitete erstmals die Berliner Philharmoniker in einem Konzert der Berliner Festspiele mit Werken von Berlioz, Brahms und Dvořák.

Nach Positionen bei den Symphonieorchestern in Trondheim (Norwegen) und Norrköping (Schweden) war Harding Musikdirektor der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (1997–2003), Erster Dirigent und musikalischer Leiter des Mahler Chamber Orchestra (2003–2011), Music Partner des New Japan Philharmonic (2010–2016) und Erster Gastdirigent des London Symphony Orchestra (2006–2017). Seit 2007 ist Daniel Harding Musikdirektor des Schwedischen Rundfunk-Symphonieorchesters. Von 2016 bis Sommer 2019 stand er auch an der Spitze des Orchestre de Paris.

Als ein in den internationalen Musikzentren begehrter Künstler gastiert er am Pult bedeutender Orchester und leitet Opernproduktionen an so renommierten Bühnen wie dem Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Mailänder Scala, den Staatsopern in Wien, Berlin und München sowie bei den Festspielen in Salzburg und Aix-en-Provence. Daniel Harding, der 2011 mit dem italienischen Kritikerpreis Premio Abbiati ausgezeichnet wurde, ist Mitglied der Königlich-Schwedischen Musikakademie sowie Ritter und Offizier des französischen Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Vom Mahler Chamber Orchestra wurde er mit dem Titel des Ehrendirigenten auf Lebenszeit ausgezeichnet. 2018 wurde er zum künstlerischen Leiter des Anima Mundi Festivals in Pisa ernannt. Die Berliner Philharmoniker dirigierte Daniel Harding zuletzt in drei Konzerten im September 2019 im Rahmen des Musikfest Berlin 2019, in denen Hector Berliozʼ „Roméo et Juliette“ auf dem Programm stand.

www.danielharding.com

Stand: Mai 2020

Daniel Harding

© Julian Hargreaves

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen