François-Xavier Roth

© Promo

François-Xavier Roth

François-Xavier was born in Paris in 1971 and is one of the most charismatic and versatile conductors today. As General Music Director of the City of Cologne, he has been head of both the Gürzenich-Orchester and Oper Köln since 2015. He is Principal Guest Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra and was the first artist ever to be appointed Associate Artist of the Philharmonie de Paris.

Highly esteemed for his inventive and unusual concert programmes, his distinctive approaches and powers of persuasion, François-Xavier Roth has been working with premier orchestras such as Staatskapelle Berlin, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony and Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich. In 2019/20, he will return to Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, Orchestre de Paris, Montreal Symphony, Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony, Münchner Philharmoniker and Mahler Chamber Orchestra, as well as performing twice with the Boulez Ensemble and giving his debut at Gewandhaus Leipzig.

In 2003, Roth founded the orchestra Les Siècles. Together, they have conceived programmes that are both innovative and rich in contrast, performed on modern as well as on historical instruments. François-Xavier Roth and Les Siècles have played across Europe as well as China. On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the world premiere of “Le Sacre du Printemps ”, Roth and Les Siècles endeavoured to trace Stravinsky’s original sound and presented it together with the dance companies of Pina Bausch and Dominique Brun in London, Paris, Frankfurt, Beijing, Nanjing, Shanghai and Tokyo. The orchestra was nominated for the 2019 Gramophone Orchestra of the Year Award.

This season, François-Xavier Roth’s concerts with the London Symphony Orchestra will include works by Béla Bartók, Luciano Berio, Igor Stravinsky and Edward Elgar as well as a new commissioned work by Sophya Polevaya. Together, they will perform concerts in Paris and Lyon. The third CD in the series “Panufnik Legacies” will also be released during this period.

In his fifth season at Oper Köln, François-Xavier Roth will conduct new productions of Richard Wagner’s “Tristan und Isolde” and Hector Berlioz’ “Béatrice et Bénedict” as well as the revival of Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s “Die Soldaten”. Together with the Gürzenich-Orchester, he will continue his Bruckner-cycle as well as his exploration of the works of Berlioz, and present new commissioned pieces by Bernhard Gander and Miroslav Srnika beside compositions by Johann Sebastian Bach, Jean-Philippe Rameau and … Rebel. On the occasion of the Beethoven- Year, the Gürzenich-Orchester’s concert format “The New Academy” will revive the atmosphere of Beethoven’s Vienna academy concerts and will combine intense Beethoven-moments with unusual contemporary stylistics. “The New Academy” will tour to London, Munich, Hamburg and Lyon.

François-Xavier Roth’s catalogue of recordings includes all symphonic poems by Richard Strauss, which he recorded during his tenure as Chief Conductor (2011-2016) with the SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden & Freiburg, as well as recordings of Stravinsky’s three ballets with Les Siècles. (“Le Sacre du Printemps” received the annual “German Record Critics’ Award” and the “Edison Klassiek Award”). “Daphnis and Chloé”, which was the Gramophone Awards Orchestral Album of the Year 2018, and “Ma Mère l’Oye” were released as part of a complete Ravel-cycle for Harmonia Mundi. A recital featuring Sabine Devieilhe for Erato was selected as Recording of the Year 2018 at the Victoires de la Musique Classique. A further recording is dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the death of Claude Debussy and features the composer’s “Jeux” and “Nocturnes”; another honours Berlioz on the 150th anniversary of his death with recordings of “Harold en Italie” and “Les nuits d’été”. In early 2019, Roth’s recording of Mahler’s Third Symphony with the Gürzenich-Orchester was released, following their recording of Mahler’s Fifth in 2017. Both works were premiered with the Gürzenich-Orchester. In August of this year, François-Xavier Roth’s debut concert as Principal Guest Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra was released on DVD under the title “The Young Debussy”.

Efforts towards reaching new listeners are an essential component of Roth’s work. Together with Festival Berlioz and Les Siècles, he founded the Jeune Orchestre Européen, a unique orchestra academy with its own inventory of historical instruments. Furthermore, Roth and Les Siécles launched “Presto!”, a television series for France 2 that reaches more than three million viewers every week. Gürzenich-Orchester’s youth programme “Ohrenauf!” received a Junge Ohren Preis (Young Ears Award) in the category Production in early 2017.

As a tireless champion of contemporary music, François-Xavier Roth has been the conductor of the pioneering Panufnik Composers Programme of the London Symphony Orchestra since 2015. Furthermore, he conducted the world premiere performances of works by Yann Robin, Georg-Friedrich Haas, Hèctor Parra and Simon Steen-Anderson and worked with composers like Pierre Boulez, Wolfgang Rihm, Jörg Widmann, Helmut Lachenmann and Philippe Manoury.

François-Xavier Roth was appointed Knight of the French Legion of Honour for his services as a musician, conductor, musical director and teacher.

www.francoisxavierroth.com

As of November 2019

Upcoming Events

Past Events

François-Xavier Roth

François-Xavier Roth, 1971 in Paris geboren, ist einer der charismatischsten und vielseitigsten Dirigenten unserer Zeit. Seit 2015 leitet er als Generalmusikdirektor der Stadt Köln sowohl das Gürzenich-Orchester als auch die Oper Köln. Er ist Principal Guest Conductor des London Symphony Orchestra und wurde als erster Künstler zum Associate Artist der Philharmonie de Paris ernannt.

Geschätzt für seine einfallsreichen und ungewöhnlichen Konzertprogramme, seine prägnante Herangehensweise und Überzeugungskraft, arbeitet François-Xavier Roth mit führenden Orchestern wie der Staatskapelle Berlin, dem Boston Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland, San Francisco Symphony und dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich. In der Spielzeit 2019/20 folgt er Wiedereinladungen der Berliner Philharmoniker, demRoyal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam , dem Orchestre de Paris, Montreal Symphony, Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony, den Münchner Philharmonikern und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra, tritt gleich zwei Mal mit dem Boulez Ensemble auf und gibt sein Debüt im Leipziger Gewandhaus.

2003 gründete Roth das Orchester Les Siècles, mit dem er so innovative wie kontrastreiche Programme konzipiert und diese auf modernen und historischen Instrumenten umsetzt. Mit Les Siècles ist er in ganz Europa sowie China und Japan aufgetreten. Anlässlich des 100. Jahrestages der Uraufführung von „Le Sacre du printemps“ empfanden Roth und Les Siècles Strawinskys Originalklang nach und präsentierten diesen anschließend bei Aufführungen mit den Tanzkompagnien von Pina Bausch und Dominique Brun in London, Paris, Frankfurt, Beijing, Nanjing, Shanghai und Tokio. Das Orchester ist für den Gramophone Orchestra of the Year Award 2019 nominiert.

In dieser Saison umfassen François-Xavier Roths Konzerte mit dem London Symphony Orchestra Werke von Béla Bartók, Luciano Berio, Igor Strawinsky und Edward Elgar sowie ein neues Auftragswerk von Sophya Polevaya; es wird sowohl in Paris als auch Lyon Konzerte geben. Die dritte CD in der Reihe der „Panufnik Legacies“ erscheint ebenfalls in diesem Zeitraum.

In seiner fünften Spielzeit an der Kölner Oper leitet François-Xavier Roth Neuproduktionen von Richard Wagners „Tristan und Isolde“ und Hector Berlioz‘ „Béatrice et Bénedict“ sowie die Wiederaufnahme von Bernd Alois Zimmermanns „Die Soldaten“. Mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester setzt er seinen Bruckner-Zyklus fort, erkundet weiterhin das Schaffen Berlioz‘ und präsentiert neue Auftragswerke von Bernhard Gander und Miroslav Srnka neben Kompositionen von Johann Sebastian Bach, Jean-Philippe Rameau und … Rebel. Anlässlich des Beethoven-Jahres erweckt das Gürzenich-Konzertformat „The New Academy“ die Atmosphäre von Beethovens Wiener Akademie-Konzerten zum Leben und bringt intensive Beethoven-Momente mit ungewöhnlichen zeitgenössischen Stilistiken zusammen. „The New Academy“ tourt auch durch London, München, Hamburg und Lyon.

François-Xavier Roths Veröffentlichungskatalog umfasst unter anderem alle symphonischen Dichtungen von Richard Strauss, die er während seiner Zeit als Chefidirigent (2011-2016) mit dem SWR Sinfonieorchesters Baden-Baden & Freiburg einspielte, sowie Aufnahmen der drei Strawinsky-Ballette mit Les Siècles („Le Sacre du Printemps“ gewann den „Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik“ und den Edison Klassiek Award). Zu den Veröffentlichungen eines vollständigen Ravel-Zyklus‘ für Harmonia Mundi zählen das zum Gramophone Awards Orchestral Album of the Year 2018 ernannte „Daphnis et Chloé“ sowie „Ma mère l’Oye“; ein Recital mit Sabine Devieilhe für Erato wurde bei den Victoires de la Musique Classique zur Aufnahme des Jahres 2018 gekürt. Eine weitere Veröffentlichung ist dem 100. Todestag Claude Debussys gewidmet und beinhaltet dessen „Jeux“ und „Nocturnes“; eine andere ehrt Berlioz zum 150. Todestag mit Aufnahmen von „Harold en Italie“ und „Les nuits d’été“. Anfang 2019 erschien auch François-Xavier Roths Einspielung von Mahlers Dritter Symphonie mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester, nachdem Dirigent und Orchester 2017 bereits Mahlers Fünfte veröffentlicht hatten. Beide Werke wurden mit Gürzenich uraufgeführt. Im August dieses Jahres erschien François-Xavier Roths Einstandskonzert als Erster Ständiger Gastdirigent des London Symphony Orchestra unter dem Titel The Young Debussy auf DVD.

Der Einsatz für die Gewinnung neuer Zuhörer ist essentieller Bestandteil der Arbeit von François-Xavier Roth. Gemeinsam mit dem Festival Berlioz und Les Siècles gründete er das Jeune Orchestre Européen Hector Berlioz, eine einzigartige Orchesterakademie mit ihrem eigenen Bestand an historischen Instrumenten. Darüber hinaus haben Roth und Les Siècles „Presto!“ ins Leben gerufen, eine Fernsehserie für France 2, die allwöchentlich über drei Millionen Zuschauer erreicht. Das Jugendprogramm des Gürzenich-Orchesters „Ohrenauf!“ wurde Anfang 2017 mit einem Junge Ohren Preis in der Kategorie Produktion ausgezeichnet.

Unermüdlicher Kämpfer für zeitgenössische Musik, ist François-Xavier Roth seit 2005 Dirigent des wegweisenden Panufnik -Komponistenprogramms des London Symphony Orchestra. Darüber hinaus brachte Roth Werke von Yann Robin, Georg-Friedrich Haas, Hèctor Parra und Simon Steen-Anderson zur Uraufführung und arbeitete mit Komponisten wie Pierre Boulez, Wolfgang Rihm, Jörg Widmann, Helmut Lachenmann und Philippe Manoury zusammen.

Für seine Verdienste als Musiker, Dirigent, musikalischer Leiter und Lehrer wurde François-Xavier Roth im vergangenen Jahr zum Ritter der französischen Ehrenlegion ernannt.

www.francoisxavierroth.com

Stand: November 2019

François-Xavier Roth

© Promo

Vergangene Veranstaltungen