Vladimir Jurowski

Vladimir Jurowski has been Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin since 2017. The conductor, pianist and musicologist takes on conducting challenges of all epochs and styles.

Trained initially at the Conservatory School of Music in Moscow, Vladimir Jurowski came to Germany in 1990, where he continued his studies at the conservatories in Dresden and Berlin – conducting with Rolf Reuter and accompaniment with Semion Skigin. In 1995, he made his international debut at the British Wexford Festival and in the same year at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden. He was subsequently First Kapellmeister of the Komische Oper Berlin (1997-2001) and Music Director of Glyndebourne Festival Opera (2001-2013). In 2003, Vladimir Jurowski was appointed Principal Guest Conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra and was its Principal Conductor from 2007 until summer 2021. He was also Artistic Director of the Yevgeny Svetlanov State Academic Symphony Orchestra of the Russian Federation, Principal Artist of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in the UK and Artistic Director of the George Enescu International Festival in Bucharest until summer 2021. He works regularly with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and ensemble unitedberlin. Since the 2021/22 season, Vladimir Jurowski has been General Music Director of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich – parallel to his engagement with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin – and thus holds one of the most prestigious positions in German musical life.

Vladimir Jurowski has conducted concerts with the most important orchestras in Europe and North America, including the Berlin, Vienna and New York Philharmonic Orchestras, the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, the Cleveland and Philadelphia Orchestras, the Boston and Chicago Symphony Orchestras, the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden and the Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig. He is also a regular guest at the BBC Proms, the Musikfest Berlin and the music festivals in Dresden, Lucerne, Schleswig-Holstein and Grafenegg as well as the Rostropowitsch Festival. In 2021/22, he will perform with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin at several concerts in Bucharest, Spain, Hungary, Austria, Korea, China and Hong Kong.

Vladimir Jurowski has received many awards for his performances, including numerous international recording prizes. In 2018, the jury of the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards named him Conductor of the Year. In 2016, he received an honorary doctorate from the Royal College of Music in London from the hands of Prince Charles. In summer 2020, Jurowski was awarded the Order of Cultural Merit by the President of Romania in recognition of his work as Artistic Director of the George Enescu Festival.

www.vladimirjurowski.com

As of June 2021

Vladimir Jurowski

© Simon Pauly

Past Events

Vladimir Jurowski

Vladimir Jurowski ist seit 2017 Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin. Der Dirigent, Pianist und Musikwissenschaftler stellt sich allen musikgeschichtlichen, stilistischen oder dirigiertechnischen Herausforderungen.

Ausgebildet zunächst an der Musikhochschule des Konservatoriums in Moskau, kam Vladimir Jurowski 1990 nach Deutschland, wo er sein Studium an den Musikhochschulen in Dresden und Berlin fortsetzte – Dirigieren bei Rolf Reuter, Korrepetition und Liedbegleitung bei Semion Skigin. 1995 debütierte er auf internationaler Ebene beim britischen Wexford Festival und im selben Jahr am Royal Opera House Covent Garden. Anschließend war er Erster Kapellmeister der Komischen Oper Berlin (1997–2001) und Musikdirektor der Glyndebourne Festival Opera (2001–2013). 2003 wurde Vladimir Jurowski zum Ersten Gastdirigenten des London Philharmonic Orchestra ernannt und war von 2007 bis Sommer 2021 dessen Principal Conductor. Ebenfalls bis Sommer 2021 war er Künstlerischer Leiter des Staatlichen Akademischen Sinfonieorchesters Jewgeni Swetlanow der Russischen Föderation und Principal Artist des Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in Großbritannien sowie Künstlerischer Leiter des Internationalen George-Enescu-Festivals in Bukarest. Er arbeitet regelmäßig mit dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem ensemble unitedberlin. Seit der Saison 2021/22 ist Vladimir Jurowski – parallel zu seinem Engagement beim Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin – Generalmusikdirektor der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München und bekleidet damit eine der renommiertesten Positionen im deutschen Musikleben.

Vladimir Jurowski ist rund um die Welt als Gastdirigent gefragt. Er hat Konzerte der bedeutendsten Orchester Europas und Nordamerikas geleitet, darunter die Berliner, Wiener und New Yorker Philharmoniker, das Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, das Cleveland und das Philadelphia Orchestra, die Sinfonieorchester von Boston und Chicago, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden und das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. Er gastiert zudem regelmäßig bei den BBC Proms, dem Musikfest Berlin sowie bei den Musikfestivals in Dresden, Luzern, Schleswig-Holstein und Grafenegg sowie beim Rostropowitsch-Festival. Mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin wird er 2021/22 bei mehreren Konzerten in Bukarest, Spanien, Ungarn, Österreich, Korea, China und Hongkong zu erleben sein.

Vladimir Jurowski wurde vielfach für seine Leistungen ausgezeichnet, darunter mit zahlreichen internationalen Schallplattenpreisen. 2018 kürte ihn die Jury der Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards zum Dirigenten des Jahres. 2016 erhielt er aus den Händen von Prince Charles die Ehrendoktorwürde des Royal College of Music in London. Im Sommer 2020 wurde Jurowski in Anerkennung seiner Tätigkeit als Künstlerischer Leiter des George-Enescu-Festivals vom Rumänischen Präsidenten mit dem Kulturverdienstorden ausgezeichnet.

www.vladimirjurowski.com

Stand: Juni 2021

Vladimir Jurowski

© Simon Pauly

Vergangene Veranstaltungen