Daniel Kötter

Daniel Kötter is an international filmmaker and music theater director. His works alternate between different media and institutional contexts and combine experimental film techniques with performative and documentary elements. They have been shown worldwide at numerous film and video art festivals, in galleries, theaters and concert halls.
His major works include the music theater trilogies “Falsche Arbeit, Falsche Freizeit, Freizeitspektakel” (2008-10), “KREDIT RECHT LIEBE” (2013-16) and “STADT LAND FLUSS” (2017-19, all with Hannes Seidl), the multi-channel trilogy “Arbeit und Freizeit” (2009-2011) as well as the film, performance and discourse series “state-theatre” about the urban conditions of performativity in the cities of Lagos, Tehran, Berlin, Detroit, Beirut, Mönchengladbach (2009-2014 with Constanze Fischbeck).
His extensive film and text work “KATALOG” (2013) was made in 13 countries around the Mediterranean with a particular interest in practices in space.
Visual research leads him again and again to the African continent and the Middle East.
2014-18 he worked with the curator Jochen Becker (metroZones) on the research, exhibition and film project “CHINAFRIKA. Under Construction”.
In 2017-20 he worked on the documentary film trilogy “Hashti Tehran” (2017, 60 ’), “Desert View” (2018, 84’) and “Rift Finfinnee” (2020, 80 ’) about urban peripheries in Tehran, Cairo and Addis Ababa. “Hashti Tehran” won the special award of the German Short Film Award, “Rift Finfinnee” the DEFA Award at DOK Leipzig.
Daniel Kötter is currently working on a series of spatial performances and 360° films on the landscape and social consequences of extractivism in Germany, West Papua, DR Congo and Estonia under the title “landscapes and bodies”.

 www.danielkoetter.de
 www.state-theatre.de
 katalog.danielkoetter.de

Daniel Kötter

© Nafiseh Fathollahzadeh

Past Events

Daniel Kötter

Daniel Kötter ist ein international tätiger Filmemacher und Musiktheater-Regisseur. Seine Arbeiten changieren zwischen verschiedenen medialen und institutionellen Kontexten und verbinden Techniken des Experimentalfilms mit performativen und dokumentarischen Elementen. Sie wurden weltweit auf zahlreichen Film- und Videokunstfestivals, in Galerien, Theatern und Konzerthäusern gezeigt.
Zu seinen Hauptwerken zählen die die Musiktheater-Trilogien „Falsche Arbeit, Falsche Freizeit, Freizeitspektakel“ (2008-10), „KREDIT RECHT LIEBE“ (2013-16) und „STADT LAND FLUSS“ (2017-19, alle mit Hannes Seidl), die Mehrkanal-Trilogie „Arbeit und Freizeit“ (2009-2011) sowie die Film-, Performance- und Diskursreihe „state-theatre“ über die Bedingungen des Performativen in den Städten Lagos, Teheran, Berlin, Detroit, Beirut, Mönchengladbach (2009-2014 mit Constanze Fischbeck).
Seine umfangreiche Film- und Textarbeit „KATALOG“ (2013) entstand in 13 Ländern rund um das Mittelmeer mit einem besonderen Interesse an Praktiken des Raums.
Visuelle Recherchen führen ihn immer wieder auf den afrikanischen Kontinent sowie in den Mittleren Osten.
2014-18 arbeitete er u.a. mit dem Kurator Jochen Becker (metroZones) an dem Recherche-, Ausstellungs- und Filmprojekt „CHINAFRIKA. Under Construction“.
2017-20 erarbeitete er die Dokumentarfilm-Trilogie „Hashti Tehran“ (2017, 60’), „Desert View“ (2018, 84‘) und „Rift Finfinnee“ (2020, 80‘) über urbane Peripherien in Teheran, Kairo und Addis Abeba. „Hashti Tehran“ gewann den Sonderpreis des Deutschen Kurzfilmpreises, „Rift Finfinnee“ den DEFA Preis bei DOK Leipzig.
Zur Zeit arbeitet Daniel Kötter unter dem Titel „landscapes and bodies“ an einer Reihe von Raumperformances und 360° Filmen zu den landschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Folgen des Extraktivismus in Deutschland, West Papua, DR Kongo und Estland.

www.danielkoetter.de
www.state-theatre.de
katalog.danielkoetter.de

Daniel Kötter

© Nafiseh Fathollahzadeh

Vergangene Veranstaltungen