Boston Symphony Orchestra

Now in its 142th season, the Boston Symphony Orchestra gave its inaugural concert in 1881, realizing the dream of its founder, the civil war veteran, businessman and philanthropist Henry Lee Higginson, who envisioned a great and permanent orchestra in his hometown of Boston. Today the BSO reaches millions of listeners, not only through its concert performances in Boston and at Tanglewood, but also via the internet, radio, television, educational programmes, recordings, and tours. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the BSO established its streaming platform, BSO NOW, extending the orchestra's offerings to a worldwide audience.

In May 2013, the Boston Symphony Orchestra began a new chapter in its history when the internationally acclaimed young Latvian conductor Andris Nelsons was announced as the BSO’s next music director, a position he took up in the 2014-15 season. Now in his ninth season as BSO Music Director, Maestro Nelsons has led the BSO in Grammy Award-winning recordings and on notable tours. He initiated a historic alliance between the BSO and the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, of which he became Gewandhauskapellmeister in 2018.

The Boston Symphony Orchestra commissions works from today's most important composers; its summer season at Tanglewood is among the world's most important music festivals; it helps to develop future audiences through BSO Youth Concerts and educational outreach programmes involving the entire Boston community; and, during the Tanglewood season, it operates the Tangle wood Music Center, one of the world's most important training grounds for young professional-caliber musicians. The Boston Symphony Chamber Players, made up of BSO principals, are known worldwide, and the Boston Pops Orchestra sets an international standard for performances of lighter music.

The Boston Symphony Orchestra gave its inaugural concert on October 22, 1881, under Georg Herschel, who remained as conductor until 1884. For nearly twenty years, BSO concerts were held in the old Boston Music Hall; the Symphony Hall, one of the world's most revered concert halls, opened on October 15, 1900. Herschel was succeeded by the German-born and -trained conductors Wilhelm Gerick, Arthur Nikesh, Emil Pair, and Max Fiedler, culminating in the appointment of the legendary Karl Muck, who served two tenures, 1906-08 and 1912-18. In 1915 the orchestra made its first transcontinental trip, playing thirteen concerts at the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco. Henri Rabid, engaged as conductor in 1918, was succeeded a year later by Pierre Monteux. These appointments marked the beginning of a French tradition maintained, even during the Russian-born Serge Koussevitzky's tenure (1924–1949), with the employment of many French-trained musicians. It was in 1936 that Koussevitzky led the orchestra's first concerts in the Berkshires; he and the players took up annual summer residence at Tanglewood a year later. Koussevitzky passionately shared Major Higginson's dream of "a good honest school for musicians," and in 1940 that dream was realized with the founding of the Berkshire Music Center (now called the Tangle wood Music Center). In summer 2019 educational offerings at Tanglewood were expanded via the inaugural season of the Tanglewood Learning Institute in the new Linde Center for Music and Learning, a four-building, multi-use complex that also provides additional concert and rehearsal space for the Tanglewood Music Center.

Koussevitzky was succeeded in 1949 by Charles Munch, who led the BSO on its first international tours. In 1956 the BSO was the first American orchestra to tour the Soviet Union. Erich Leinsdorf followed Munch in 1962; William Steinberg began his relatively brief tenure in 1969. Seiji Ozawa became the BSO’s thirteenth music director in 1973. His historic twenty-nine-year tenure extended until 2002, when he was named Music Director Laureate. In 1979, the BSO, under the direction of Seiji Ozawa, was the first American orchestra to tour mainland China after the normalization of relations. The first American-born conductor to hold the position, James Levine was the BSO’s music director from 2004 to 2011.

Today, the Boston Symphony Orchestra continues to fulfill and expand upon the vision of its founder Henry Lee Higginson, to bring a world-class musical experience to the people of Boston.

 www.bso.org

As of October 2022

Boston Symphony Orchestra

© Marco Borggreve

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Das Boston Symphony Orchestra spielt 2022/2023 seine 142. Saison. 1881 gab es sein Gründungskonzert und verwirklichte damit den Traum seines Gründers, des Bürgerkriegsveteranen, Geschäftsmannes und Philanthropen Henry Lee Higginson, der sich für seine Heimatstadt Boston schon lange ein eigenes, bedeutsames Orchester gewünscht hatte. Heute erreicht das BSO Millionen von Zuhörern, nicht allein durch seine Konzertauftritte in Boston und in Tanglewood, sondern auch über das Internet, Radio, Fernsehen, Bildungsprogramme, Einspielungen und Tourneen. Als Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie hat das BSO die Streaming-Plattform BSO NOW ins Leben gerufen, die die Angebote des Orchesters einem weltweiten Publikum zugänglich macht.

Ein neues Kapitel in seiner Geschichte hat das Boston Symphony Orchestra im Mai 2013 aufgeschlagen, als es den jungen lettischen Dirigenten Andris Nelsons zum Musikdirektor ernannte, der sein Amt zur Saison 2014/2015 antrat. Nelsons, der jetzt in seiner neunten Saison an der Spitze des Klangkörpers steht, hat das BSO auf erfolgreiche Tourneen geführt, die gemeinsamen Aufnahmen wurden vielfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. bei den renommierten Grammy Awards. Als Musikdirektor in Boston und Kapellmeister des Gewandhausorchesters Leipzig hat Nelsons außerdem eine besondere Allianz seiner beiden Klangkörper geschmiedet.

Das Boston Symphony Orchestra vergibt Auftragsarbeiten an die wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Komponisten, und die Sommersaison in Tanglewood in den Hügeln von Berkshire in Massachusetts zählt zu den bedeutendsten internationalen Musikfestivals. Durch die BSO Youth Concerts schafft sich das Orchester auch ein zukünftiges Publikum und erreicht mit seinen Bildungsprogrammen ganz Boston und Umgebung. Während der Tanglewood-Saison betreibt es außerdem das Tanglewood Music Center, das als eine der besten Ausbildungsstätten für professionelle Nachwuchsmusiker angesehen wird. Die Boston Symphony Chamber Players, bestehend aus leitenden Musikern des BSO, sind in der ganzen Welt bekannt, und das Boston Pops Orchestra setzt Maßstäbe im Bereich der leichteren Muse.

Das Boston Symphony Orchestra gab sein Eröffnungskonzert am 22. Oktober 1881 unter der Leitung von Georg Henschel, der bis 1884 Dirigent des Orchesters blieb. Fast zwanzig Jahre lang fanden die Konzerte des BSO in der alten Boston Music Hall statt, bevor am 15. Oktober 1900 die Symphony Hall, einer der ehrwürdigsten Konzertsäle der Welt, eröffnet wurde. Auf Georg Henschel folgten die in Deutschland geborenen und ausgebildeten Dirigenten Wilhelm Gericke, Arthur Nikisch, Emil Paur und Max Fiedler, eine Entwicklung, die ihren Höhepunkt in der Ernennung des legendären Karl Muck fand, der das Orchester von 1906 bis 1908 und von 1912 bis 1918 leitete. 1915 unternahm das BSO seine erste Transkontinentalreise, als es bei der Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco dreizehn Konzerte gab. Auf Henri Rabaud, Dirigent seit 1918, folgte ein Jahr später Pierre Monteux. Diese Personalentscheidungen markieren den Beginn einer französischen Tradition, die auch während der Amtszeit des in Russland geborenen Serge Koussevitzky (1924-1949) durch das Engagement vieler in Frankreich ausgebildeter Musiker fortgesetzt wurde. 1936 dirigierte Serge Koussevitzky das Orchester bei den ersten Konzerten in den Berkshires; ein Jahr später bezog er mit seinen Musikern die Sommerresidenz in Tanglewood. Serge Koussevitzky war ein leidenschaftlicher Verfechter von Major Higginsons Traum einer „guten ehrlichen Schule für Musiker“, der 1940 mit der Gründung des Berkshire Music Center (dem heutigen Tanglewood Music Center) Wirklichkeit wurde. Das Angebot in Tanglewood wurde im Sommer 2019 durch die erste Saison des Tanglewood Learning Institute im neuen Linde Center for Music and Learning erweitert, einem Mehrzweck-Gebäudekomplex mit zusätzlichen Konzert- und Probesälen.

Auf Serge Koussevitzky folgte 1949 Charles Munch, der das BSO auf seine erste internationale Tournee führte. 1956 trat das BSO unter der Leitung von Charles Munch als erstes amerikanisches Orchester in der Sowjetunion auf. Erich Leinsdorf wurde 1962 Music Director, auf ihn folgte 1969 William Steinberg. 1973 wurde Seiji Ozawa 13. Music Director und beendete seine historische 29-jährige Amtszeit 2002, als er Ehrenmusikdirektor wurde. Nach der Normalisierung der Beziehungen zu China unternahm das BSO 1979 unter Seiji Ozawa als erstes amerikanisches Orchester eine Tournee auf das chinesische Festland. Der erste gebürtige Amerikaner in der Position des Music Directors war James Levine von 2004 bis 2011.

Bis heute verwirklicht und erweitert das Boston Symphony Orchestra die Visionen seines Gründers Henry Lee Higginson, den Einwohnern Bostons erstklassige musikalische Erlebnisse zu bieten.

 www.bso.org

Stand: November 2022

Boston Symphony Orchestra

© Marco Borggreve

Vergangene Veranstaltungen