Andris Nelsons

Andris Nelsons assumed the position of Gewandhauskapellmeister of the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig in February 2018, a post he holds concurrently with that of Music Director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO). With these positions, and in leading a pioneering alliance between two such esteemed institutions, Grammy Award- winning Nelsons is firmly underlined as one of the most renowned and innovative conductors on the international scene today.

Andris Nelsons began his tenure as Music Director of the BSO in the 2014/15 season. After only one year, his contract was extended through to the 2021/22 season. Since the summer 2015, Nelsons has led the BSO on three tours of Europe, including appearances at the London Proms, in Hamburg, Vienna, Amsterdam, Paris and Leipzig. November 2017 saw the first tour of Japan, featuring performances in Tokyo’s Suntory Hall. In the current season, Nelsons will lead the BSO on a major tour of Far-East Asia with concerts in Seoul, Taipei, Hong Kong and Shanghai. As part of the Carnegie Hall’s Great American Orchestras series, the Orchestra will continue its regular New York appearances with a concert performance of the third act of Wagner’s “Tristan und Isolde” featuring Jonas Kaufmann.

Andris Nelsons gave his debut with the Gewandhausorchester in 2011, followed by regular appearances with the orchestra in the subsequent years. The title of Gewandhauskapellmeister was bestowed upon Nelsons in February 2018, in a four-week inauguration festival, which also marked the 275th anniversary of the orchestra’s foundation. Shortly afterwards, in April 2018, Nelsons and the Gewandhausorchester embarked upon their first tour of Europe together, featuring appearances at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, the Vienna Musikverein, the Baden-Baden Festspielhaus, the Philharmonie de Paris and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg. In the autumn of 2018, Nelsons led the orchestra in concerts in London, in Sweden and in the Latvian capital, Riga. 2019 saw the first tour together of Far-East Asia, including four concerts in Tokyo and appearances in Osaka, Shanghai and Beijing. The current season began with the first tour of the major European festivals of Nelsons’ tenure, including performances at the BBC Proms in London, the Lucerne Festival and the Salzburg Festival.

A major – and quite unique – highlight for Andris Nelsons, the BSO and the Gewandhausorchester will take place in October and November 2019: as part of their continuing alliance, the two orchestras will combine to perform three concerts together in Boston. In addition, the Gewandhausorchester will give two subscription concerts in Symphony Hall during its Boston residency.

During the 2019/20 season, Nelsons continues his regular collaborations with the Wiener Philharmoniker, with whom he conducted the prestigious New Year’s Day concert in 2020, broadcast to millions across the world. Furthermore, in celebration of the composer’s 250th anniversary, the Wiener Philharmoniker and Nelsons present a cycle of Beethoven’s symphonies at the Musikverein and on tour at the Philharmonie de Paris, Philharmonie am Gasteig in Munich, and Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie. Through the course of his career Nelsons has also been a frequent guest on the podium of the Berlin Philharmonic, the Concertgebouworkesrt and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, as well as at the Bayreuth Festival and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

Andris Nelsons has an exclusive recording relationship with Deutsche Grammophon, which has paved the way for three landmark projects, currently in realisation: together with the Gewandhausorchester, Nelsons is currently engaged in a project to present Bruckner’s symphonies in a new light, coupling them with works by Richard Wagner. The initial release of the 3rd Symphony in the spring of 2017 received the Edison Klassiek Award. The 4th Symphony was released in February 2018, followed by the 7th in April that year. The most recent editions of the cycle, symphonies Nos. 6 and 9, were released in May 2019. Nelsons and the Boston Symphony Orchestra are in the process of producing a Shostakovich cycle, comprising all fifteen symphonies and the opera “Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk”. Four recordings have already been released, the first three of which were each awarded the Grammy for Best Orchestral Performance. The latest edition of the cycle received the Grammy for the category Best Engineered Album. Finally, Nelsons’ recordings of Beethoven’s complete symphonies with the Wiener Philharmoniker was released in October 2019.

Born in Riga in 1978 into a family of musicians, Andris Nelsons began his career as a trumpeter in the Latvian National Opera Orchestra before studying conducting. He was Music Director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra from 2008–2015, Principal Conductor of the North-West German Philharmonic in Herford from 2006–2009, and Music Director of Latvian National Opera from 2003-2007.

www.andrisnelsons.com

As of May 2020

Andris Nelsons

© Marco Borggreve

Past Events

Andris Nelsons

Andris Nelsons ist seit Februar 2018 Gewandhauskapellmeister des Gewandhausorchesters Leipzig und seit der Spielzeit 2014/15 Musikdirektor des Boston Symphony Orchestra. Durch diese beiden Positionen und sein persönliches Engagement entstand auch eine zukunftsweisende Verbindung zwischen den beiden Institutionen, die den Grammy-gekürten Nelsons als einen der renommiertesten und innovativsten Dirigenten in der internationalen Musikszene ausweisen.

Seine Tätigkeit als Musikdirektor des Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO) nahm Nelsons mit Beginn der Saison 2014/15 auf. Bereits nach dem ersten Jahr wurde sein Vertrag bis 2021/22 verlängert. Seit Sommer 2015 unternahmen das BSO und Nelsons drei Europatourneen, die unter anderem zu den BBC Proms, Hamburg, Wien, Amsterdam, Paris und Leipzig führten. Im November 2017 standen sie erstmals gemeinsam in Japan auf der Bühne, darunter auch in der Suntory Hall. In der aktuellen Spielzeit geht es für das BSO und Nelsons auf große Tournee nach Asien mit Konzerten in Seoul, Taipeh, Hongkong und Shanghai. Im Rahmen der Reihe „Great American Orchestras“ der Carnegie Hall wird das Orchester seine Auftritte mit einer konzertanten Sonderaufführung vom dritten Akt von Richard Wagners „Tristan und Isolde“ mit Jonas Kaufmann fortsetzen.

Sein Debüt mit dem Gewandhausorchester gab Nelsons bereits 2011 und kehrte in den Folgejahren regelmäßig an das Gewandhaus zurück. Im Rahmen eines vierwöchigen Festivals, mit dem gleichzeitig der 275. Geburtstag des Orchesters gefeiert wurde, trat Nelsons im Februar 2018 schließlich das Amt des 21. Gewandhauskapellmeisters an. Bereits im April 2018 brachen Nelsons und das Gewandhausorchester zu ihrer ersten Europatournee auf, die sie ins Concertgebouw Amsterdam, den Wiener Musikverein, das Festspielhaus Baden-Baden sowie die Philharmonie de Paris und die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg führte, gefolgt von Gastspielen in Riga und Schweden. 2018/19 folgte die erste gemeinsame Asientournee unter anderem mit vier Konzerten in Tokyo, sowie Gastspielen in Osaka, Shanghai und Peking. In dieser Saison geht es erstmals gemeinsam auf Festivaltournee mit Konzerten unter anderem bei den BBC Proms, dem Lucerne Festival und den Salzburger Festspielen.

Ein besonderes Highlight für Nelsons, das BSO und das Gewandhausorchester fand im Oktober und November 2019 statt: Im Rahmen der Kooperation zwischen den beiden Orchestern geben sie gemeinsam drei Konzerte in Boston, zudem tritt das Gewandhausorchester im Rahmen der Abonnementreihe des BSO auf.

In der Saison 2019/20 setzt Nelsons seine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit den Wiener Philharmonikern fort, die er beim prestigeträchtigen Neujahrskonzert 2020 dirigierte, das weltweit millionenfach übertragen wird. Zum Anlass des 250. Geburtstags Ludwig van Beethovens geben die Wiener mit Nelsons einen Zyklus aller Symphonien Beethovens auf Tournee im Théâtre des Champs Elysées, der Philharmonie am Gasteig in München sowie der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat Nelsons außerdem vielfach mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Concertgebouworkest und dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks zusammengearbeitet und war regelmäßiger Gast bei den Bayreuther Festspielen sowie am Royal Opera House Covent Garden.

Die exklusive Partnerschaft von Andris Nelsons und der Deutschen Grammophon Gesellschaft ebnete den Weg für drei herausragende Großprojekte, die derzeit entstehen: Mit dem Gewandhausorchester arbeitet Nelsons an einem Projekt, welches Bruckners Symphonien neu beleuchtet und ihnen Werke von Wagner an die Seite stellt. Die im Frühjahr 2017 erschienene Aufnahme von Bruckners 3. Symphonie wurde mit dem Edison Klassiek Award ausgezeichnet. Im Februar 2018 wurde die 4. Symphonie des Bruckner-Zyklus veröffentlicht, die 7. Symphonie folgte im April 2018. Die jüngst veröffentlichte Einspielung der Symphonien 6 und 9 erschien im Mai 2019. Nelsons und das Boston Symphony Orchestra veröffentlichen einen Schostakowitsch-Zyklus, der alle Symphonien und die Oper „Lady Macbeth von Mzensk“ beinhalten wird. Die ersten vier CDs sind bereits erschienen, wobei die ersten drei mit je einem Grammy für „Best Orchestral Performance“ ausgezeichnet wurden und die neueste CD zusätzlich in der Kategorie „Best Engineered Album“ gewann. Darüber hinaus wurde im Oktober 2019 Nelsons’ Aufnahmen aller Beethoven Symphonien mit den Wiener Philharmonikern veröffentlicht.

1978 als Kind einer Musikerfamilie in Riga geboren, begann Andris Nelsons seine Karriere als Trompeter im Orchester der Lettischen Nationaloper bevor er Dirigieren studierte. Von 2008 bis 2015 war er Musikdirektor des City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, 2006 bis 2009 Chefdirigent der Nordwestdeutschen Philharmonie in Herford und von 2003 bis 2007 musikalischer Leiter der Lettischen Staatsoper.

www.andrisnelsons.com

Stand: Mai 2020

Andris Nelsons

© Marco Borggreve

Vergangene Veranstaltungen