Dillon

© Siggi Eggertsson

Dillon

The 25-year-old singer and artist Dominique Dillon de Byington was born in 1988 in Sao Paulo, Brazil, and moved to Cologne at the age of five, where she grew up. At the age of 17 Dillon’s first self-composed pieces arose in front of her camera at the parents’ piano and without any calculus or system, began to spread via YouTube and Myspace. At the age of 18 she moved to Berlin and one of her first songs, “The Rate Of Yesterday”, attracted the attention of the Berlin-based indie label Kitty-Yo which released her first digital single “C Unseen Sea” in 2008. Followed by the three tracks EP “Ludwig” on Combination Record, Dillon began exposing her draft of lo-fi pop combining hip-hop elements as well as minor electronic elements.

Not only DJ Koze certified Dillon a hopeful future, the band Tocotronic invited her as their support for their “Schall & Wahn” tour in 2010. The song “Aiming For Destruction” with the Cologne-based duo Coma was produced a little later that year and released by Ellen Alien on the BPitch Werkschau compilation in 2011. In the same year Dillon published her debut “This Silence Kills”. A collection of some of her previously written songs. Produced with Thies Mynther and Tamer Fahri Özgöenec, they created an unvarnished picture of an artist who earned great approval through both the indie scene, as well as the feuilleton. Dillon’s piano playing creates a breeding for her unique songs about the pitfalls of everyday life and the trials and tribulations of human existence. With her distinctive voice, the cold bass and a minimalist techno approach her debut was positioned between the chairs of chanson pop and fragile electronica.

After successful tours in Germany and appearances at Melt!, Dockville, New Fall and Berlin Festival to name a few, in spring 2013 Dillon began working on her second album: “The Unknown” not only pursues the path of “This Silence Kills”, but once again introduces an artist who, with a unique sense for emotional songwriting, is one of the most interesting and imposing storytellers. For Dillon, genre boundaries are waste paper. Whether it's jazz, piano-pop or miniature electro – for Dillon not only the atmosphere but words and feelings stand in the foreground. It must come from the heart.

www.dillon-music.com

As of May 2015

Past Events

Dillon

© Siggi Eggertsson

Dillon

Die 25-jährige Sängerin und Künstlerin Dominique Dillon de Byington wurde 1988 in Sao Paulo, Brasilien geboren. Mit fünf Jahren zog sie nach Köln und wuchs in der Domstadt auf. Spätestens mit 17 Jahren bricht sich ihre DIY-Attitüde Bahn. Es entstehen die ersten selbstkomponierten Stücke, die sie vor laufender Kamera am elterlichen Piano aufnimmt und via YoutTube und Myspace verbreitet – ohne Kalkül oder System. Im Alter von 18 Jahren zieht sie nach Berlin und eines ihrer ersten Stücke, „The Rate Of Yesterday“, zieht die Aufmerksamkeit des Berliner Indie-Labels Kitty-Yo auf sich, das 2008 mit „C Unseen Sea“ ihre erste Digital-Single veröffentlicht. Mit der 3-Track-EP „Ludwig“ folgt auf Combination Records ihr Entwurf eines LoFi-Pop, der neben elektronischen Elementen auch Hip-Hop als Inspiration ausweist.

Nicht nur DJ Koze bescheinigt Dillon eine hoffnungsvolle Zukunft, die Band Tocotronic lädt sie als Support auf Ihre Schall & Wahn-Tour 2010 ein. Mit der Kölner Duo Coma entsteht wenig später der Song „Aiming For Destruction“, den Ellen Alien auf der BPitch-Werkschau 2011 veröffentlicht. Im gleichen Jahr erscheint mit „This Silence Kills“ ihr Debütalbum, das einige ihrer bisher geschriebenen Songs versammelt. Produziert mit Thies Mynther und Tamer Fahri Özgöenec entsteht ein ungeschminktes Bild von einer Künstlerin, die sowohl in der Indie-Szene als auch im Feuilleton auf große Zustimmung trifft. Dillons Klavierspiel bildet den Nährboden für einzigartige Stücke über die Tücken des Alltags, den Irrungen und Wirrungen der menschlichen Existenz. Mit ihrer markanten Stimme, kalten Bässen und einen minimalistischen Techno-Ansatz positioniert sich ihr Debütalbum zwischen die Stühle von Chanson-Pop und fragiler Electronica.

Nach erfolgreichen Tourneen in Deutschland und Auftritten beim Melt!, Dockville, New Fall und dem Berlin Festival beginnen im Frühjahr 2013 die Arbeiten am zweiten Album: „The Unknown“ führt den Weg von „This Silence Kills“ nicht nur weiter, sondern stellt eine Künstlerin vor, die mit ihrem emotionalen Songwriting zu den interessantesten Geschichtenerzählerinnen im Indie-Bereich zählt. Dabei sind Genre-Grenzen für Dillon eher Makulatur. Ob Jazz, Piano-Pop oder Miniatur-Electro – für Dillon steht nicht nur die Atmosphäre, sondern ebenso das Wort und das Gefühl im Vordergrund. Es muss von Herzen kommen, was auf Herzen wirken soll.

www.dillon-music.com

Stand: Mai 2015

Vergangene Veranstaltungen