Ragnar Kjartansson

© Elisabet Davids

Ragnar Kjartansson

Ragnar Kjartansson (born 1976) lives and works in Reykjavík, Iceland. He studied at the Iceland Academy of the Arts and at The Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm. Kjartansson has exhibited widely around Europe and the US. Current and upcoming exhibitions include: “Creative Time’s Drifting in Daylight” in Central Park, New York, “The Fall” at Berliner Festspiele, “A Lot of Sorrow” at Johann König, Berlin and a show at Palais de Tokyo, Paris (October 2015).

Solo exhibition include “Me, My Mother, My Father and I” at New Museum, New York (2014), “The Visitors”, Guggenheim Bilbao (2014), “The Palace of the Summerland” at TBA21, Vienna (2014), “The Visitors”, Hangar Bicocca, Milano (2013); “A Lot of Sorrow - a six-hour performance with The National”, MoMA’s PS1, New York (2013); “The Visitors”, Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich (2012); “Song”, Carnegie Museum of Art (2011) – touring to MOCA North Miami and to ICA Boston (2012).

Group exhibitions featuring major works by Kjartansson include the 55th Venice Biennale, The Encyclopedic Palace curated by Massimiliano Gioni; Performa 11, New York (2011) where his 12-hour performance Bliss was awarded the Malcolm McLaren Award; Icelandic Pavilion, 53rd Venice Biennale (2009); the 2nd Turin Triennial, Italy (2008); Manifesta 8 & 10, Italy (2008) St Petersburg (2014) and the Reykjavik Arts Festival in Iceland (2014, 2012, 2008, 2005, 2004).

Kjartansson draws on the entire arc of art in his performative practice. The history of film, music, theatre, visual culture and literature finds its way into his video installations, durational performances, drawing and painting. Pretending and staging become key tools in the artist's attempt to convey sincere emotion and offering a genuine experience to the audience. Kjartansson's playful work is full of unique moments where a conflict of the dramatic and the banal culminates in a memorable way.

www.i8.is/artist/ragnar-kjartansson/

As of May 2015

Past Events

Ragnar Kjartansson

© Elisabet Davids

Ragnar Kjartansson

 

Ragnar Kjartansson, 1976 geboren, lebt und arbeitet im isländischen Reykjavík. Er studierte an der isländischen Kunstakademie und an der Königlichen Kunstakademie in Stockholm. Kjartansson stellte sowohl in Europa als auch in den USA aus. Aktuelle und demnächst stattfindende Ausstellungen sind u.a.: „Creative Time’s Drifting in Daylight“ im New Yorker Central Park, „The Fall“ bei den Berliner Festspielen, „A Lot of Sorrow“ bei Johann König, Berlin und eine Ausstellung im Palais de Tokyo in Paris (Oktober 2015).

Eine Auswahl seiner Einzelausstellungen umfasst u.a. „Me, My Mother, My Father and I“ am New York Museum, New York (2004), „The Visitors“, im Guggenheim Bilbao (2014), „The Palace of the Summerland“ bei TBA21 in Wien (2014), „The Visitors“ im Hangar Bicocca, Mailand, „A Lot of Sorrow“, eine 6-Stunden-Performance mit The National im PS1 des MoMA, New York (2013), „The Visitors“, im Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich (2013)und „Song“, im Carnegie Museum of Art (2011). Die letztgenannte Ausstellung wurde zusätzlich im MOCA North Miami und im ICA Boston (2012) gezeigt.

Kjartanssons wichtigste Arbeiten waren u.a. bei folgenden Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen: Beim enzyklopädischen Palast, kuratiert von Massimiliano Gioni bei der 55. Biennale von Venedig, bei Performa 11, New York (2011), wo seine 12-Stunden-Performance „Bliss“ den Malcolm McLaren-Preis erhielt, im isländischen Pavillon der 53. Biennale von Venedig, bei der 2. Turiner Triennale (2008); bei Manifesta 8 & 10 in Italien (2008) St. Petersburg (2014) und wiederholt beim Reykjavik Arts Festival in Island (2014, 2012, 2008, 2005, 2004).

Kjartansson bezieht sich in seiner performativen Praxis auf den gesamten Bogen der Kunst. Traditionen von Film, Musik, Theater, visueller Kultur und Literatur finden sich in seinen Videoinstallationen, Langzeitperformances, Zeichnungen und Gemälden wieder. Der Künstler versucht, unter Anwendung von Vorspiegelung und Inszenierung dem Publikum aufrichtige Gefühle und eine authentische Erfahrung zu vermitteln. Kjartanssons Arbeiten sind spielerisch und voller einzigartiger Momente, in denen der Konflikt zwischen Dramatik und Banalität auf unvergessliche Weise kulminiert.

www.i8.is/artist/ragnar-kjartansson/ 

Stand: Mai 2015