Jan-Christoph Gockel

© Andreas Etter

Jan-Christoph Gockel

Jan-Christoph Gockel, who was born in Gießen in 1982 and grew up near Kaiserslauten, studied theatre, film and media studies in Frankfurt/Main. During his studies, he carried out projects with and was a guest student of Christopf Nel, Burkhard C. Kosminski and Armin Petras. From 2005 to 2009, he studied theatre direction at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts in Berlin.

During his theatre direction studies, he completed his first productions at the Festival de Liège in Belgium and at the Schaubühne am Lehninerplatz, Berlin. Here, he also completed his studies by directing the world premiere of “Die Wissenden” by Nina Ender. Since then he has worked as a freelance director. Besides frequently collaborating with young playwrights, Gockel’s works include strong elements of musical and documentary theatre, as well as puppet-show.

His performance “Psychiatrie!” was nominated for the Nestroy Prize in 2010 in the category of Special Award, and was invited to the Heidelberg Stückemarkt. His production “Balkanmusik” was performed in 2011 for the Autorentagen at the Deutsches Theater Berlin. In 2008 Gockel worked for the Werkstattage at the Burgtheater Wien, in 2010 at the biennal “New European Plays” in Wiesbaden, and in 2009, he was a fellow of the International Forum of the Berlin Theatertreffen.

In the 2011/2012 season, Jan-Christoph Gockel directed the world premiere of “The Talented Mr Ripley” by Patricia Highsmith at the Schaubühne and did guest performances of the same production, including at the Tempere Theatre Festival in Finland. He subsequently worked as a director at the Staatstheater Oldenburg and Staatstheater Mainz, Heidelberg Theatre and the Badische Staatstheater in Karlsruhe.

In the 2013/2014 season, he continued his collaboration with Bern and Karlsruhe theatres. He inaugurated the new Halle Beuel at the Theater Bonn with his own version of “Metropolis”. Since the 2014/2015 season, Jan Christoph Gockel has been part of the artistic direction of the Staatstheater Mainz as the resident director. He also continues to direct in Bonn and Karlsruhe. In the 2015/2016 season, Jan-Christoph Gockel is directing “Merlin oder Das Wüste Land” by Tankred Dorst at the Schauspielhaus Graz, which includes puppets by Michael Pietsch, among others.

As of November 2015

Past Events

Jan-Christoph Gockel

© Andreas Etter

Jan-Christoph Gockel

 

Jan-Christoph Gockel, geboren 1982 in Gießen, aufgewachsen bei Kaiserslautern, studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft in Frankfurt/Main. Während des Studiums verwirklichte er Projekte und Hospitanzen bei Christopf Nel, Burkhard C. Kosminski und Armin Petras. Von 2005 bis 2009 studierte er Regie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch, Berlin.

Während des Regiestudiums realisierte er erste Inszenierungen beim Festival de Liège, Belgien und an der Schaubühne am Lehninerplatz, Berlin. Dort schloss er mit der Uraufführung von „Die Wissenden“ von Nina Ender sein Studium ab. Seitdem arbeitet er als freier Regisseur. Neben der häufigen Zusammenarbeit mit jungen Autoren bezieht Gockel musikalische, dokumentarische Elemente sowie Puppenspiel stark in seine Arbeiten ein.

Seine Performance „Psychiatrie!“ wurde für den Nestroy-Preis 2010 in der Kategorie „Spezialpreis“ nominiert und zum Heidelberger Stückemarkt eingeladen. Die Inszenierung „Balkanmusik“ war 2011 bei den Autorentheatertagen am Deutschen Theater Berlin zu sehen. Gockel arbeitete bei den Werkstattagen des Burgtheaters Wien 2008, bei der Biennale „Neue Stücke aus Europa“ Wiesbaden 2010 und war Stipendiat des Internationalen Forums des Berliner Theatertreffens 2009.

In der Saison 2011/2012 übernahm Jan-Christoph Gockel an der Berliner Schaubühne die Regie der Uraufführung „Der talentierte Mr. Ripley“ von Patricia Highsmith und gastierte mit dieser Produktion u. a. beim Tampere Theaterfestival in Finnland. Es folgten Regiearbeiten für das Oldenburgische Staatstheater, das Staatstheater Mainz, das Theater Heidelberg und das Badische Staatstheater in Karlsruhe.

In der Saison 2013/14 setzte er die Zusammenarbeit mit den Theatern in Bern und Karlsruhe fort. Am Theater Bonn eröffnete er die neue Halle Beuel mit einer eigenen Fassung von „Metropolis“. Seit der Spielzeit 2014/2015 ist Jan-Christoph Gockel als Hausregisseur Teil der künstlerischen Leitung am Staatstheater Mainz. Zudem inszeniert er weiterhin in Bonn und Karlsruhe. In der Spielzeit 2015/2016 inszeniert Jan-Christoph Gockel am Schauspielhaus Graz „Merlin oder Das wüste Land“ von Tankred Dorst u. a. mit Puppen von Michael Pietsch.

Stand: November 2015

Vergangene Veranstaltungen