Natacha Diels

Natacha Diels’ work combines ritual, improvisation, traditional instrumental practice, and cynical play to create worlds of curiosity and unease. An accomplished composer and performer, Natacha’s unique musical approach contributes to the ongoing development of new American experimentalism. She holds degrees in flute performance, integrated digital media, and is currently completing a DMA in music composition from Columbia University.

Natacha founded the experimental music collective Ensemble Pamplemousse in 2003, and continues to be its executive director and flautist. In 2009 she co-founded the performance duo On Structure with Jessie Marino. Pamplemousse performs globally and has commissioned over 100 compositions from musically and demographically under-represented composers. Inexorably uncompromising, the group has developed its name by presenting exquisitely challenging music at both internationally recognized festivals such as MATA Festival (NY) and lesser-known gems such as Louisville’s Experimental Music Festival (KY).

As flautist, Natacha has recorded or performed with such luminaries as Christian Wolff, Frederick Rzewski, and Vijay Lyer; and has premiered works by Dave Broome, Luke Dubois, Andrew Greenwald, Bryan Jacobs, George Lewis, Jessie Marino, and Tristan Perich, among numerous others. Her performance has been described as “an insane, barking bird who can’t find his way out of his own birdcage” (The Sound Projector).

Natacha has taught courses in electronic and computer music at Columbia University and Parson’s School of Design (2012-2014); and has conducted numerous workshops or lectures in composition and computer music at schools such as the School at the Art Institute of Chicago, Wesleyan University, and University of Southern California. A devoted teacher of all ages, Natacha has also designed and taught workshops at the Montessori School of Raleigh and a summer music camp in Léogane, Haiti.

With a focus on choreographed movement, traditional instrumental technique, and a wide array of DIY electronics, Natacha’s compositions have been described as “a fairy tale for a fractured world” (Music We Care About) and “fantastic playful modern chamber music full of magic and wit” (Vital Weekly). Natacha’s work has received support from the American Music Center’s Composer Assistance Program (2011); Issue Project Room’s Emerging Artist Commission (2011); and the Cary New Music Performance Fund (2013), among others. Recently, she was a winner in Heather Roche’s crowd-funded commission competition (2015) and a finalist in the Fresh Minds Festival for audio-visual work (2015).

http://natachadiels.com 

As of January 2016

Past Events

Natacha Diels

 

Natacha Diels’ Arbeit kombiniert Riten, Improvisation, traditionelle Instrumentalpraxis und zynisches Spiel und erschafft so Welten der Neugier und des Unbehagens. Der einzigartige musikalische Ansatz dieser in Komposition und Auftritt gleichermaßen versierten Künstlerin trägt maßgeblich zur Weiterentwicklung des neuen amerikanischen Experimentalismus bei. Sie studierte die Fächer Querflöte und Integrierte Digitalmedien und promoviert zurzeit an der Columbia University.

Im Jahr 2003 gründete Natacha Diels das experimentell ausgerichtete Musik-Kollektiv Pamplemousse; bis heute ist sie dessen Geschäftsführerin und Flötistin. Mit Jessie Marino gründete sie 2009 das Performance-Duo On Structure. Pamplemousse tritt weltweit auf und hat bereits mehr als 100 Kompositionen von musikalisch und demographisch unterrepräsentierten Komponisten in Auftrag gegeben. Das kompromisslose Ensemble machte sich einen Namen mit Aufführungen von erlesen anspruchsvoller Musik, die sowohl bei international anerkannten Festivals wie dem New Yorker MATA Festival als auch bei weniger bekannteren, aber keineswegs weniger wertvollen Veranstaltungen wie dem Experimental Music Festival in Louisville, Kentucky, dargeboten werden.

Als Flötistin hat Natacha Diels mit Koryphäen wie Christian Wolff, Frederick Rzewski und Vijay Lyer bei Auftritten oder Aufnahmen zusammengearbeitet; außerdem brachte sie unter anderem Werke von Dave Broome, Luke Dubois, Andrew Greenwald, Bryan Jacobs, George Lewis, Jessie Marino und Tristan Perich zur Uraufführung. Ihr Spiel wurde von der Zeitschrift The Sound Projector als das „eines wahnsinnigen, bellenden Vogels, der nicht aus seinem eigenen Vogelkäfig herausfindet“ beschrieben.

Natacha Diels unterrichtete zwischen 2012 und 2014 Seminare in elektronischer und computergestützter Musik an der Columbia University und der Parson’s School of Design und hielt zahlreiche Workshops und Vorlesungen über Komposition und computergestützte Musik ab, unter anderem an Instituten wie der School of the Art Institute in Chicago, der Wesleyan University und der University of Southern California. Als begeisterte Lehrerin aller Altersklassen hat sie außerdem Workshops an der Montessori-Schule von Raleigh und ein musikalisches Ferienlager in Léogane auf Haiti entwickelt und durchgeführt.

Ihr Interesse an choreographierter Bewegung, traditioneller Instrumentaltechnik und einem breiten Spektrum an selbstgebauter Elektronik brachte Natacha Diels‘ Kompositionen Beschreibungen wie „ein Märchen für eine gebrochene Welt“ (Music We Care About) und „fantastisch spielerische moderne Kammermusik voller Magie und Geist“ (Vital Weekly) ein. Ihre Arbeit wurde unter anderem durch das Composer Assistance Program des American Music Centers (2011) gefördert, durch die Emerging Artist Commission des Issue Project Rooms (2011) sowie den Cary New Music Performance Fund (2013). Zuletzt war sie eine der Gewinner*innen des Heather Roche Crowd-Funded Commission Wettbewerbs und Finalistin beim Fresh Minds Festival für audio-visuelle Kunst (2015).

http://natachadiels.com 

Stand: Januar 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen