Juliet Fraser

Soprano Juliet Fraser has a repertoire dominated by the very old and the very new. She has performed as a guest soloist with contemporary music ensembles like Musikfabrik, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, Asko | Schönberg, Remix, ICTUS, Plus-Minus and Talea. She is also a core member of EXAUDI vocal ensemble, which she co-founded with composer/conductor James Weeks in 2002.

Juliet is an active commissioner of new music and has worked particularly closely with composers Michael Finnissy, Bernhard Lang, Cassandra Miller and Rebecca Saunders. Much of her commissioning focuses on creating a body of new work for voice and piano (with duo partner Mark Knoop) or for voice and tape/live electronics. Premieres this season include new solo works by Naomi Pinnock, Sivan Eldar, Cassandra Miller, Rebecca Saunders and Christopher Fox at festivals such as Essen NOW!, Huddersfield, Aldeburgh, Manifeste and TIME:SPANS.

Her discography includes Morton Feldman’s “Three Voices” (Hat Hut), Bernhard Lang’s “The Cold Trip, part 2” (Kairos), Michael Finnissy’s “Andersen-Liederkreis” (Hat Hut), a binaural recording of Milton Babbitt’s “Philomel” (all that dust), and portrait discs of Cassandra Miller (all that dust) and Frank Denyer (another timbre). A new CD of recent solo works written for her by four emerging-generation composers – Lisa Illean, Sivan Eldar, Nomi Epstein and Lawrence Dunn – was released on the HCR label in April. Juliet is the founder and artistic director of the eavesdropping series in London, and co-director with Mark Knoop and Newton Armstrong of all that dust, a new label for new music.

www.julietfraser.co.uk

As of May 2020

Juliet Fraser

© Dimitri Djuric

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Juliet Fraser

Das Repertoire der Sopranistin Juliet Fraser reicht von Alter bis zur vom Neuen Musik. Sie tritt als Gastsolistin mit Ensembles für zeitgenössische Musik auf, so mit der Musikfabrik, dem Klangforum Wien, dem Ensemble Modern, mit Asko | Schönberg, Remix, ICTUS, Plus-Minus und Talea. Sie ist auch Kernmitglied des EXAUDI-Vokalensembles, das sie 2002 gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten-Dirigenten James Weeks gründete.

Juliet setzt sich aktiv für die zeitgenössische Musik ein. Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Komponist*innen wie Michael Finnissy, Bernhard Lang, Cassandra Miller und Rebecca Saunders ist dabei ebenso zentral. Wie die Vergabe von Kompositionsaufträgen, um neuen Korpus an Werken für Gesang und Klavier (mit dem Duo-Partner Mark Knoop) oder für Stimme und Tonband bzw. Live-Elektronik zu schaffen. Zu den Premieren dieser Saison zählen neue Solowerke von Naomi Pinnock, Sivan Eldar, Cassandra Miller, Rebecca Saunders und Christopher Fox bei Festivals wie Essen NOW!, Huddersfield, Aldeburgh, Manifeste und TIME: SPANS.

Ihre Diskographie umfasst Morton Feldmans „Drei Stimmen“ (Hat Hut), Bernhard Langs „The Cold Trip, Teil 2“ (Kairos), Michael Finnissys „Andersen-Liederkreis“ (Hat Hut), eine binaurale Aufnahme von Milton Babbitts „Philomel“ (all dieser Staub) und CD Porträts von Cassandra Miller (all that dust) und Frank Denyer (another timbre). Eine neue CD mit den Solowerken, die vier Komponist*innen der aufstrebenden Generation - Lisa Illean, Sivan Eldar, Nomi Epstein und Lawrence Dunn - für sie geschrieben haben, wurde im April auf dem HCR-Label veröffentlicht. Juliet ist die Gründerin und künstlerische Leiterin der eavesdropping series in London und Co-Direktorin von all that dust, einem neuen Label für neue Musik, das sie zusammen mit Mark Knoop und Newton Armstrong betreibt.

www.julietfraser.co.uk

Stand: Mai 2020

Juliet Fraser

© Dimitri Djuric

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen