Jeremias Schwarzer

Recorder virtuoso Jeremias Schwarzer has made a name for himself on the scenes of both early and new music through his musicality. His dedication to the expansion of playing techniques of his instrument has caused him to become a leading specialist for a new and literally unheard of repertory.

Jeremias Schwarz has premiered more than 80 works by some of the most interesting composers of our times, including Rolf Riehm, Annette Schlünz, Salvatore Sciarrino, Misato Mochizuki and Samir Odeh-Tamimi. As a soloist, he has performed with the symphony orchestras of BR, SWR and HR, the Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and Münchner Kammerorchester under the baton of conductors like Carl St. Clair, Lothar Zagrosek, Jonathan Stockhammer, Alexander Liebreich, Peter Rundel and Beat Furrer. In 2008, the premiere of Salvatore Sciarrino’s “4 Adagi” for recorder and orchestra, performed together with Filarmonica della Scala under Daniel Harding at Milan’s La Scala brought him great international acclaim. Since then, Jeremias Schwarzer has been featured at the world’s most important concert stages, including Prinzregententheater Munich, Radialsystem V in Berlin, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, Tokyo Opera City Hall, Harvard University and La Monnaie in Brussels.

Jeremias Schwarzer regularly appears at international festivals and concert series, such as Donaueschinger Musiktage, ISCM World Music Days, Belgrade Flute Festival, KlaraFestival Brussels or musica viva in Munich. Beyond his pioneering performances as an instrumentalist, he has been opening up new and exciting spheres of perception for concert audiences by developing unusual projects for concerts and communication. In 2012, he curated the programme “changeXchange” for Künstlerhaus Nürnberg, where musically-minded amateurs had an opportunity to work on music by John Cage with professional artists. Jeremias Schwarzer is Professor for Recorder and Contemporary Music at the Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg and has held master classes, lectures and residencies at academies and universities in Vienna, Huddersfield, Freiburg, Belgrade, New York, Harvard, at Darmstädter Summer Courses, the Salzburg Mozarteum and the Irino Foundation in Tokyo. Numerous CD-recordings were published by Neos, wergo, HatHut and Channel Classics among others.

The 2015/16 season will see a number of important premieres: His new project “alif::split in the wall” (music by Stefan Goldmann and Samir Odeh-Tamimi, installation by Chiharu Shiota) will be realised by the Berlin Zafraan Ensemble founded by the Federal German Cultural Foundation and on cooperation with several European partners. Furthermore, in June 2016 Jeremias Schwarzer will premiere two new recorder concertos by José Maria Sanchez Verdú (with the Dresden Philharmonics) and Toshio Hosokowa (with Ensemble Resonanz). In the new musical theatre work by Swiss composer Wolfgang Heiniger (premiere in March 2016), Jeremias Schwarzer will be one of two main performers. Additionally, there will be further premieres of works by Malika Kishino (duet for recorder and drums, with Isao Nakamura) and Volker Blumenthaler. The season finale will take place in July 2016 in Feldkirch, where the Austrian premiere of “Sounds and Clouds”, a project conceived by Jeremias Schwarzer and concert designer Folkert Uhde, featuring music by Antonio Vivaldi and Toshio Hosokawa and the Ensemble Holland Baroque. The CD of this project was released by Channel Classics in October 2015 to great international critical acclaim.

www.recorderprojects.de

As of January 2016

Past Events

Jeremias Schwarzer

 

Jeremias Schwarzer hat sich als Blockflötist durch seine Virtuosität und Musikalität in der Welt der alten ebenso wie der neuen Musik einen hervorragenden Namen gemacht. Sein Engagement für die spieltechnische Weiterentwicklung seines Instrumentes weist ihn zudem als führenden Spezialisten für ein neues und im Wortsinn unerhörtes Repertoire aus.

Für inzwischen über 80 Uraufführungen arbeitete er mit einigen der interessantesten Komponisten der heutigen Zeit zusammen, darunter Rolf Riehm, Annette Schlünz, Salvatore Sciarrino, Misato Mochizuki und Samir Odeh-Tamimi. Als Solist konzertierte er u.a. mit den Sinfonieorchestern des BR, SWR und HR, dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin, den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und dem Münchener Kammerorchester unter Dirigenten wie Carl St. Clair, Lothar Zagrosek, Jonathan Stockhammer, Alexander Liebreich, Peter Rundel und Beat Furrer. Große internationale Beachtung erzielte 2008 die Uraufführung von Salvatore Sciarrinos „4 Adagi“ für Blockflöte und Orchester mit der Filarmonica della Scala unter Daniel Harding an der Mailänder Scala. Seitdem ist Jeremias Schwarzer als Solist auf den wichtigsten Konzertpodien der Welt zu erleben, so im Prinzregententheater München, Radialsystem V Berlin, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, Tokyo Opera City Hall, Harvard University und La Monnaie Brüssel.

Regelmäßig ist Jeremias Schwarzer bei internationalen Festivals und Konzertreihen wie Donaueschinger Musiktage, Weltmusiktage der IGNM, Belgrade Flute Festival, KlaraFestival Brüssel oder musica viva München zu Gast. Über seine wegweisenden Auftritte als Instrumentalist hinaus erschließt er durch die Entwicklung ungewöhnlicher Konzert- und Vermittlungsprojekte neue und spannende Wahrnehmungsräume für die Konzertbesucher. Für das Künstlerhaus Nürnberg kuratierte er 2012 das Programm „changeXchange“ mit Werken von John Cage, in dem interessierte Laien mit professionellen Künstlern zusammenarbeiteten. Jeremias Schwarzer unterrichtet als Professor für Blockflöte und aktuelle Musik an der Hochschule für Musik Nürnberg, außerdem im Rahmen von Meisterkursen, Vorträgen und Residenzen an Hochschulen und Universitäten in Wien, Huddersfield, Freiburg, Belgrad, New York, Harvard, den Darmstädter Ferienkursen, am Mozarteum Salzburg und der Irino Foundation in Tokio. Zahlreiche CD- Veröffentlichungen erschienen u.a. bei Neos, wergo, HatHut und Channel Classics.

In der Saison 2015/16 stehen für Jeremias Schwarzer einige wichtige Uraufführungen an: sein neues Projekt „alif::split in the wall“ (Musik von Stefan Goldmann und Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Installation von Chiharu Shiota) wird vom Berliner Zafraan Ensemble gemeinsam mit der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und mehreren europäischen Partnern realisiert. Außerdem bringt Jeremias Schwarzer im Juni 2016 zwei neue ihm gewidmete Blockflötenkonzerte von José Maria Sanchez Verdú (mit den Dresdner Philharmonikern) und Toshio Hosokowa (mit dem Ensemble Resonanz) zur Uraufführung. Im neuen Musiktheaterwerk des Schweizer Komponisten Wolfgang Heiniger (Premiere im März 2016) ist Jeremias Schwarzer mit seinen Blockflöten einer der beiden Hauptdarsteller. Außerdem stehen weitere Uraufführungen von Malika Kishino (Duo für Blockflöte und Schlagzeug mit Isao Nakamura) und Volker Blumenthaler an. Die Saison findet im Juli 2016 in Feldkirch ihren Abschluss mit der österreichischen Erstaufführung des von Jeremias Schwarzer und dem Konzertdesigner Folkert Uhde konzipierten Projektes „Sounds and Clouds“ mit Musik von Antonio Vivaldi und Toshio Hosokawa und dem Ensemble Holland Baroque. Die CD zu diesem Projekt erschien im Oktober 2015 bei Channel Classics und wurde von der internationalen Kritik begeistert aufgenommen.

www.recorderprojects.de 

Stand: Januar 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen