Chiharu Shiota

Chiharu Shiota is a Japanese installation artist who settled in Berlin in 1996. Originally a student of painting at Kyoto Seika University, she soon began to develop three-dimensional installation pieces. After a stay in Canberra/Australia, she came to Germany to continue her studies at the Berlin University of the Arts.

Since then, her work has been shown at numerous international exhibitions. In 2012 alone, she had solo shows at the Moscow Manège, at La Sucrière in Lyon and the Marugame Genichiro-Inokuma Museum of Contemporary Art in Kagawa, among others, and in 2008 at the National Museum of Art in Osaka. She was also presented at significant group shows, including shows at CCC Strozzina in Florence and the Kiev International Biennial of Contemporary Art in 2012, at the Aichi Triennial in Nagoya in 2010 and the Moscow Biennial of Contemporary Art in 2009. In 2011, she created the stage design for Toshio Hosokawa’s opera “Matsukaze”, a coproduction of Sasha Waltz & Guests with the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie, the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, the Polish National Opera and Staatsoper Berlin. In 2015, Chiharu Shiota successfully represented her home country Japan at the Venice-Biennial; her work “The Key in the Hand” attracted great attention.

A primary subject of her work is memory as something that exists, but is neither tangible nor verifiable. To this end, she often works with used objects. She displays their stories in extensive installations, often by weaving miles of black woolen threads around them. Walking through her installations becomes a physical experience that evokes a new sense of space.

www.chiharu-shiota.com

As of January 2016

Past Events

Chiharu Shiota

Chiharu Shiota ist eine japanische Installationskünstlerin, die seit 1996 in Berlin beheimatet ist. Ursprünglich studierte sie Malerei an der Kyoto Seika Universität, fing aber noch während des Studiums an, mit Installationen dreidimensionale Arbeiten zu entwickeln. Nach einem Auslandsaufenthalt in Canberra/Australien kam sie nach Deutschland, um ihr Studium an der Universität der Künste fortzusetzen.

Seitdem wurden ihre Arbeiten im Rahmen zahlreicher internationaler Ausstellungen gezeigt. Allein 2012 hatte sie unter anderem Soloausstellungen in der Manege in Moskau, La Sucrière in Lyon, Marugame Genichiro-Inokuma Museum of Contemporary Art in Kagawa sowie 2008 im National Museum of Art in Osaka. Darüber hinaus nahm sie an maßgebenden Gruppenausstellungen teil, wie 2012 im CCC Strozzina in Florenz und der Kiev International Biennale of Contemporary Art sowie der Aichi Triennale 2010 in Nagoya und Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art 2009. Für Toshio Hosokawas Oper „Matsukaze“, einer Koproduktion von Sasha Waltz & Guests mit dem Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie, dem Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, der Polish National Opera und der Staatsoper Berlin, schuf sie 2011 das Bühnenbild. 2015 vertrat Chiharu Shiota ihr Heimatland Japan sehr erfolgreich bei der Biennale in Venedig und sorgte mit ihrer Arbeit „The Key in the Hand“ für Aufsehen.

Vorrangiges Thema ihrer Arbeiten ist die Erinnerung als etwas, das existiert, aber dennoch nicht greifbar oder beweisbar ist. Dafür verarbeitet sie gerne gebrauchte Objekte. In raumfüllenden Installationen stellt sie deren Geschichten heraus, oft, indem sie kilometerlange schwarze Wollfäden um sie herumwebt. So wird das Begehen ihrer Installationen zu einem physischen Erlebnis, das ein neues Raumgefühl hervorruft.

www.chiharu-shiota.com

Stand: Januar 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen