Zafraan Ensemble

Zafraan stands for music that reflects today's life, today's society, today's reality in all its facets. In interaction with other art forms, Zafraan observes, explores and processes what surrounds us: people, events, nature, technologies, the normalities and absurdities of today.
The group, consisting of ten permanent members from Spain, France, New Zealand, Australia and Germany, was formed in Berlin in 2009 and plays mainly contemporary repertoire covered by the core instrumentation of violin, viola, cello, bass, flute, clarinet, saxophone, harp, piano and percussion. In collaboration with conductors such as Manuel Nawri or Titus Engel, with artists such as Chiharu Shiota, Aliénor Dauchez, Salome Kammer, Ulrich Rasche, Christoph Winkler, with composers such as Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Johannes Schöllhorn, Elena Mendoza, Stefan Keller, Lula Romero, Eres Holz, Sarah Nemtsov or Johannes Boris Borowski, they push the limits, take risks and create something new.
Dramaturgically cleverly conceived programmes are a trademark of the ensemble, but also staged concerts or immersive formats in which a linkage with art forms such as theatre, performance, installation and dance takes place.
In 2017, the ensemble launched the festival series “Match Cut” at the Musikbrauerei Berlin, which experienced its second edition at the Volksbühne Berlin in 2019. Here, the ensemble explored the musical interfaces with adjacent genres together with the audience, which was integrated by Invisible Playground, and with groups such as the Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra, Squintaloo, Babylon Orchestra or Phillip Sollmann and John Gürtler. Next year will see the third edition.
The ensemble used its tenth anniversary as an occasion for joint concerts with other groups such as L'Itinéraire, Court-Circuit and KNM Berlin. In September 2020, the ten-part concert series “UA Berlin” began, presenting important Berlin premieres since Arnold Schönberg's “Pierrot Lunaire” and placing them in artistic contexts.
The ensemble's high live presence quality is regularly combined with going into recording studios, often in collaboration with WDR, SWR and RBB. Most recently, this has resulted in the recording of chamber music works by Christophe Bertrand “Vertigo” on bastille musique (2020); the chamber music works by Johannes Schöllhorn are in the process of completion.
The CD releases “Palimpsesto” on Testklang (2014), “Borowski, Holz, Keller: Klangrede” on bastille musique (2016), “Samir Odeh-Tamimi: Chamber Works” on Kairos (2018) “Lula Romero: Ins Offene:” on Wergo (2019) were each met with a very positive response internationally and were longlisted for the German Record Critics' Prize.

http://zafraanensemble.com/

Zafraan Ensemble

© Neda Navaee

Past Events

Zafraan Ensemble

Zafraan steht für Musik, die das heutige Leben, die heutige Gesellschaft, die heutige Realität in all ihren Facetten reflektiert. Im Zusammenspiel mit anderen Kunstformen beobachtet, erforscht und verarbeitet Zafraan das, was uns umgibt: die Menschen, das Geschehen, die Natur, die Technologien, die Normalitäten und die Absurditäten von heute.
Die aus zehn festen Mitgliedern aus Spanien, Frankreich, Neuseeland, Australien und Deutschland bestehende Gruppe formierte sich 2009 in Berlin und spielt hauptsächlich aktuelles Repertoire, das von der Kernbesetzung mit Violine, Viola, Cello, Bass, Flöte, Klarinette, Saxophon, Harfe, Klavier und Perkussion abgedeckt wird. In Zusammenarbeit mit Dirigenten wie Manuel Nawri oder Titus Engel, mit Künstler*innen wie Chiharu Shiota, Aliénor Dauchez, Salome Kammer, Ulrich Rasche, Christoph Winkler, mit Komponist*innen wie Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Johannes Schöllhorn, Elena Mendoza, Stefan Keller, Lula Romero, Eres Holz, Sarah Nemtsov oder Johannes Boris Borowski gehen sie ans Limit, riskieren und schaffen Neues.
Ein Markenzeichen des Ensembles sind dramaturgisch klug konzipierte Programme, aber auch inszenierte Konzerte oder immersive Formate, in denen eine Verknüpfung mit Kunstrichtungen wie Theater, Performance, Installation und Tanz stattfindet.
2017 startete das Ensemble in der Musikbrauerei Berlin die Festivalreihe „Match Cut“, die 2019 ihre zweite Ausgabe in der Volksbühne Berlin erlebte. Dabei erkundete das Ensemble gemeinsam mit dem Publikum, das von Invisible Playground eingebunden wurde, und mit Gruppen wie dem Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra, Squintaloo, Babylon Orchestra oder Phillip Sollmann und John Gürtler die musikalischen Schnittstellen mit angrenzenden Genres. Im kommenden Jahr wird die dritte Ausgabe zu erleben sein.
Sein zehnjähriges Bestehen nahm das Ensemble zum Anlass für gemeinsame Konzerte mit anderen Gruppen wie L'Itinéraire, Court-Circuit und KNM Berlin. Im September 2020 begann die zehnteilige Konzertreihe „UA Berlin“, die wichtige Berliner Uraufführungen seit Arnold Schönbergs „Pierrot Lunaire“ präsentiert und in künstlerische Zusammenhänge stellt.
Die hohe Live-Präsenz des Ensembles wird regelmäßig mit dem Gang in Tonstudios verbunden, häufig in Zusammenarbeit mit dem WDR, SWR und dem RBB. Zuletzt entstanden dabei die Aufnahmen mit Kammermusikwerken von Christophe Bertrand „Vertigo“ bei bastille musique (2020), die Aufnahme von Kammermusikwerke von Johannes Schöllhorn sind in der Fertigstellung.
Die CD-Veröffentlichungen „Palimpsesto“ bei Testklang (2014), „Borowski, Holz, Keller: Klangrede“ bei bastille musique (2016), „Samir Odeh-Tamimi: Chamber Works“ bei Kairos (2018) „Lula Romero: Ins Offene:“ bei Wergo (2019) stießen international auf sehr positive Resonanz und wurden vom Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik auf die Longlist gesetzt.

http://zafraanensemble.com/

Zafraan Ensemble

© Neda Navaee

Vergangene Veranstaltungen