Steven Prengels

In 2009, Steven Prengels graduated as a Master in Composition at the Conservatory of Amsterdam in the class of Wim Henderickx, with whom he already had obtained a master's degree in composition at the Conservatory of Antwerp (BE) in 2007. He also studied at the University of Leuven (BE) and the Lemmens Conservatory (BE).

His work covers a wide range of artistic fields, and besides composing, arranging and creating soundscapes, he spends a lot of time on visual arts as well. His work has been executed by bass-baritone Dietrich Henschel, the Chamber Orchestra of Belgium, Brussels Philharmonic, deFilharmonie, SPECTRA, Symphony Orchestra of Flanders and the Nieuw Ensemble Amsterdam.

In the world of theatre and dance, he often works as music director and composer. Highlights are “Gardenia” (2010, by Alain Platel, Frank Van Laecke and Les Ballets C de la B) of which he created the musical concept, followed by “C(H)ŒURS” (2012, by Alain Platel, les ballets C de la B and Teatro Real Madrid). In this large scale production with choir, orchestra and dancers he created additional music and soundscapes to the work of Wagner and Verdi. In 2014 he created “tauberbach”, as music director and composer together with Alain Platel (Les Ballets C de la B). In 2015 he collaborated on “Accattone” (Ruhrtriennale), together with artistic director Johan Simoens and conductor Philippe Herreweghe. In the same year he created “En Avant, Marche!” with Alain Platel and Frank Van Laecke (Les Ballets C de la B/NTGent). Currently he is working with Alain Platel on a new piece for the Ruhrtriennale, which premieres in September 2016.

www.stevenprengels.com

As of May 2016

Past Events

Steven Prengels

 

Im Jahr 2009 schloss Steven Prengels einen Masterstudiengang in Komposition am Amsterdamer Konservatorium bei Wim Henderickx ab. Schon 2007 hatte er bei Henderickx einen Master in Komposition am Konservatorium von Antwerpen erhalten. Außerdem studierte er an der Universität Leuven und am Lemmens Konservatorium.

Seine Arbeit umfasst ein breites Spektrum künstlerischer Disziplinen. Neben der Komposition, dem Arrangement und der Entwicklung von Klanglandschaften beschäftigt er sich ausführlich mit bildender Kunst. Seine Arbeiten wurden bereits von Bassbariton Dietrich Henschel, dem Kammerorchester Belgiens, den Brüsseler Philharmonikern, deFilharmonie, SPECTRA, dem Flämischen Symphonieorchester und dem Nieuw Ensemble Amsterdam aufgeführt.

In Theater und Tanz ist er oft als musikalischer Leiter und Komponist tätig. Zu seinen bekanntesten Arbeiten gehören „Gardenia“ (2010, von Alain Platel, Frank Van Laecke und Les Ballets C de la B), für das er das musikalische Konzept entwickelte, und „C(H)ŒURS“ (2012, von Alain Platel, Les Ballets C de la B und Teatro Real Madrid). Bei dieser großangelegten Produktion mit Chor, Orchester und Tänzern komponierte er zusätzliche Musik und Klanglandschaften zur Musik von Wagner und Verdi. 2014 entwickelte er als musikalischer Leiter und Komponist gemeinsam mit Alain Platel (Les Ballets C de la B) „tauberbach“. Im Jahr 2015 erarbeitete er mit dem künstlerischen Leiter Johan Simons und dem Dirigenten Philippe Herreweghe für die Ruhrtriennale „Accattone“. Im gleichen Jahr produzierte er „En Avant, Marche!“ zusammen mit Alain Platel und Frank Van Laecke (Les Ballets C de la B, NTGent). Derzeit arbeitet er mit Alain Platel an einem neuen Stück, das bei der Ruhrtriennale im September 2016 uraufgeführt wird.

www.stevenprengels.com 

Stand: Mai 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen