Cynthia Millar

© Steven Nilsson

Cynthia Millar

Cynthia Millar studied the Ondes Martenot first with John Morton in England and later with Jeanne Loriod. Since she first performed the “Turangalîla-Symphonie” at the BBC Promenade Concerts in London with Mark Elder and the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, she has performed with many of the world’s leading conductors including Sir Simon Rattle, Sir Andrew Davis, André Previn, Esa Pekka Salonen, Edo de Waart, Yakov Kreitzburg, Leonard Slatkin, Yan Pascal Tortelier, David Robertson, Kent Nagano, Franz Welser-Möst, Mark Wigglesworth, Mattias Bammert, Donald Runnicles, Ilan Volkov, Mariss Jansons, and Gustavo Dudamel. Her many performances have included the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, the Edinburgh and Luzern Festivals as well as regular appearances at the BBC Promenade Concerts, and with orchestras including the Los Angeles Philharmonic, San Francisco, St Louis, and Cincinnati Symphonies, Cleveland Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra of Washington, the Sydney, New Zealand and Singapore Symphonies, London Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic, Philharmonia, CBSO, the BBC Orchestras, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmoniqe de Monte Carlo, Orchestre National de Lyon, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, and Orquestra Sinfónica de Castilla y León. She has recorded “Turangalîla” with the Bergen Symphony Orchestra conducted by Juanjo Mena for Hyperion.

Other repertoire includes Honegger’s “Jeanne d’Arc au Bûcher” which in 2011 she performed in a series of concerts conducted by Marin Alsop at the Oregon Bach Festival and then with the Baltimore and London Symphony Orchestras; with Antonio Pappano and the Academia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome; with David Robertson and the BBC Symphony Orchestra; with Libor Pešek and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra at the BBC Proms, and with David Zinman at the Aspen Festival; Varèse “Equatorial” with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and Michael Tilson Thomas, and Messiaen’s “Trois petites liturgies” with the Cleveland Orchestra and George Benjamin, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Ludovic Morlot, the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Proms conducted by David Robertson and with the same orchestra at the Barbican conducted by Donald Runnicles. She has recorded this work with the London Sinfonietta and Terry Edwards on the Virgin Classics Label, and also with the Netherlands Chamber Choir for Globe.

Cynthia Millar has played in over one hundred film and television scores, most notably for Elmer Bernstein (who encouraged her to learn the Ondes Martenot and for whom she also often recorded as piano soloist, notably in “Far from Heaven”), Richard Rodney Bennett, Maurice Jarre, Henry Mancini and Miklos Rozsa. She also writes for film, television and theatre and her work in this field includes scores for films by Arthur Penn, Robert Wise, Martha Coolidge and Peter Yates.

Most recent performances include “Turangalîla” with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Seattle Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine, London Symphony Orchestra, the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo and on tour in Europe, and “Trois petites liturgies” with the Orchestra of La Monnaie and the Münchner Rundfunkorchester. The current season includes “Turangalîla” with the Oslo Philharmonic conducted by Vasily Petrenko, the Orchestre de Paris under Paavo Järvi, and on tour with the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra under Gustavo Dudamel.

As of June 2016

Past Events

Cynthia Millar

© Steven Nilsson

Cynthia Millar

Cynthia Millar studierte die Ondes Martenot zunächst in England bei John Morton und später bei Jeanne Loriod. Seit ihrem ersten Auftritt mit der „Turangalîla-Symphonie“ bei den BBC Promenade Concerts in London, gemeinsam mit dem National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain unter der Leitung von Mark Elder, spielte sie mit zahlreichen, weltweit renommierten Dirigenten, darunter Sir Simon Rattle, Sir Andrew Davies, André Previn, Esa Pekka Salonen, Edo de Waart, Yakov Kreitzburg, Leonard Slatkin, Yan Pascal Tortelier, David Robertson, Kent Nagano, Franz Welser-Möst, Mark Wigglesworth, Mattias Bammert, Donald Runnicles, Ilan Volkov, Mariss Jansons und Gustavo Dudamel. Sie trat bei Festivals wie dem Maggio Musicale Fiorentino und den Festivals von Edinburgh und Luzern auf und ist regelmäßig bei den BBC Promenade Concerts sowie zusammen mit Orchestern wie dem Los Angeles Philharmonic, den Symphonieorchestern von San Francisco, St Louis und Cincinnati, dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem National Symphony Orchestra of Washington, den Symphonieorchestern von Sydney, Neuseeland und Singapur, dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem London Philharmonic, dem Orchester Philharmonia, dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, den Orchestern der BBC, dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, dem schwedischen Radio-Sinfonieorchester, dem Orchestre Philharmoniqe de Monte Carlo, dem Orchestre National de Lyon, dem Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg und dem Orquestra Sinfónica de Castilla y León zu hören.

Zu ihrem Repertoire gehört außerdem Honeggers „Jeanne d’Arc au Bûcher“, das sie 2011 bei einer von Marin Alsop dirigierten Konzertreihe beim Oregon Bach Festival und anschließend mit den Symphonieorchestern von Baltimore und London spielte, außerdem mit Antonio Pappano und der Academia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom, David Robertson und dem BBC Symphony Orchestra, Libor Pešek und dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra bei den BBC Proms und mit David Zinman beim Aspen Festival aufführte. Edgard Varèses „Equatorial“ spielte sie gemeinsam mit dem San Francisco Symphony Orchestra unter Michael Tilson Thomas, und Olivier Messiaens „Trois petites liturgies“ mit dem Cleveland Orchestra unter George Benjamin, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra unter Ludovic Morlot, mit dem BBC Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von David Robertson bei den BBC Proms, sowie mit demselben Orchester unter Donald Runnicles am Londoner Barbican. Dieses Werk spielte sie zudem mit der London Sinfonietta unter der Leitung von Terry Edwards für das Label Virgin Classics und mit dem Niederländischen Kammerchor für Globe ein.

Cynthia Millar spielte außerdem bei mehr als einhundert Film- und Fernsehmusiken mit, vor allem für Elmer Bernstein, der ihr das Studium der Ondes Martenot nahelegte und für den sie ebenfalls mehrfach als Klaviersolistin tätig war. Ihre bekannteste gemeinsame Arbeit war die an der Filmmusik für „Far from Heaven“. Außerdem spielte sie Musiken von Richard Rodney Bennett, Maurice Jarre, Henry Mancini und Miklos Rozsa. Sie komponiert selbst Musik für Film, Fernsehen und Theater, unter anderem für Filme von Arthur Penn, Robert Wise, Martha Coolidge und Peter Yates.

Ihre jüngsten Auftritte waren unter anderem „Turangalîla“ mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, der Seattle Symphony, dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem hr-Sinfonieorchester, dem Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine, dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra in Tokio und auf Europatournee sowie „Trois petites liturgies“ mit dem Orchestre de la Monnaie und dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester. In dieser Spielzeit stehen unter anderem „Turangalîla“ mit den Osloer Philharmonikern unter der Leitung von Wassili Petrenko, mit dem Orchestre de Paris unter Paavo Järvi sowie auf einer Konzertreise mit dem Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar unter Gustavo Dudamel an.

Stand: Juni 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen