Pekka Kuusisto

© Koopo Kamu

Pekka Kuusisto

Described by “The Telegraph” as a musician “who surely has the most personal sound of any classical violinist now alive”, Pekka Kuusisto is internationally renowned for his fresh approach to the repertoire. An advocate of new music, Kuusisto regularly works with composers such as Nico Muhly and Thomas Adès and gave the world premiere of Sebastian Fagerlund’s Violin Concerto. The subsequent recording with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra was released on BIS in early 2015, to widespread critical acclaim. Future recording plans include Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto with the Tapiola Sinfonietta, featuring Pekka as director and soloist, and paired with traditional Finnish rune singing.

This season Kuusisto returns to the Scottish Chamber, City of Birmingham Symphony and Toronto Symphony orchestras and debuts with Bamberger Symphoniker. As soloist, last season’s highlights included concerts with the Seattle and BBC Scottish symphony orchestras, MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig and Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia. A keen chamber musician, regular partners include Anne Sofie von Otter, Simon Crawford-Phillips, Nicolas Altstaedt, Alexander Lonquich and Olli Mustonen. This season Kuusisto performs recitals at the Bachwoche Festival in Ansbach, Amsterdam's Concertgebouw, Dortmund Konzerthaus and London’s Wigmore Hall.

Kuusisto is widely recognised for his flair in directing ensembles from the violin. From January 2016 he becomes Artistic Director of ACO Collective – a string ensemble which connects the musicians of the Australian Chamber Orchestra with Australia’s most talented young professional musicians to deliver innovative projects across the country – and following a longstanding creative collaboration with the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, he takes on the role of Artistic Partner with the ensemble from 2016/17. In 2015, he directed The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen on a sold-out tour of South America and is a regular guest with the Mahler, Swedish and Irish chamber orchestras and the Britten Sinfonia.

In addition to his many international commitments Kuusisto frequently performs and curates projects in his native Finland. This season he returns to the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra to perform Sibelius’ Violin Concerto to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the composer’s birth, conducted by Susanna Mälkki. He is Artistic Director of Our Festival, which takes place annually in Sibelius’ home town. Named Festival of the Year by Finland Festivals in 2011, it was later awarded the State of Finland Music Prize for its innovative programming. Regularly collaborating with performers across the artistic spectrum, he joins forces with actress Seela Sella and director Kristian Smeds for a new theatrical production “Tabu” at the Finnish National Theatre, which features Kuusisto as both composer and performer.

In 2013, Kuusisto was the recipient of the Nordic Council Music Prize, with judges describing him as “a violinist in the absolute elite”.

As of June 2016

Past Events

Pekka Kuusisto

© Koopo Kamu

Pekka Kuusisto

Pekka Kuusisto – laut „The Telegraph“ ein Instrumentalist, „der sicher über den persönlichsten Klang aller lebenden Violinisten verfügt“ – wird international wegen seiner innovativen Herangehensweise an das Repertoire hoch angesehen. Als Verfechter der neuen Musik arbeitet Kuusisto regelmäßig mit Komponisten wie Nico Muhly und Thomas Adès. Er war an der Uraufführung von Sebastian Fagerlunds Violinkonzert beteiligt, und seine Einspielung dieses Werkes mit dem Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra erschien unter großem Lob der Kritiker Anfang 2015 bei BIS. Zu Aufnahme-Plänen der Zukunft gehören Jean Sibelius’ Violinkonzert mit der Tapiola Sinfonietta und Kuusisto als Leiter und Solist, gepaart mit traditionell finnischem Runengesang.

In der aktuellen Spielzeit kehrt Kuusisto zum Scottish Chamber, City of Birmingham Symphony und Toronto Symphony Orchestra zurück und feiert sein Debüt mit den Bamberger Symphonikern. Zu den solistischen Höhepunkten der letzten Saison gehören Konzerte mit dem Seattle und dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, dem MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig und dem Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia. Auch im Bereich der Kammermusik tut sich Kuusisto hervor und zu engen künstlerischen Partnern gehören Anne Sofie von Otter, Simon Crawford-Phillips, Nicolas Altstaedt, Alexander Lonquich und Olli Mustonen. In dieser Spielzeit tritt Kuusisto auf der Bachwoche in Ansbach auf, im Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, dem Dortmunder Konzerthaus und der Londoner Wigmore Hall.

Kuusisto ist bekannt für sein Talent im Bereich des Dirigierens von der Violine aus. Ab Januar 2016 ist er künstlerischer Leiter des ACO Collective – ein Streicherensemble, das die Mitglieder des Australian Chamber Orchestra mit den talentiertesten jungen professionellen Instrumentalisten zusammenbringt, um landesweit innovative Projekte zur Aufführung zu bringen. Zudem wird er ab 2016/17 künstlerischer Partner des Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, mit dem ihn eine langjährige Partnerschaft verbindet. 2015 hat er die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen auf einer Tournee durch Südamerika geleitet und er ist häufig gesehener Gast beim Mahler Chamber Orchester, beim Schwedischen und Irischen Kammerorchester sowie der Britten Sinfonia.

Zusätzlich zu seinen zahlreichen internationalen Auftritten ist Kuusisto oft bei Projekten in seinem Heimatland Finnland zu erleben. In dieser Saison kehrt er zum Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra zurück, um im Rahmen von Sibelius’ 150. Geburtstag dessen Violinkonzert unter der Leitung von Susanna Mälkki zu spielen. Er ist der künstlerische Leiter von „Our Festival“, das jährlich in Sibelius’ Heimstadt stattfindet. Es wurde 2011 von Finnland Festivals zum Festival des Jahres gekürt und gewann später den finnischen Staatspreis für Musik für die innovative Programmgestaltung. Kuusisto arbeitet häufig mit Künstlern des gesamten künstlerischen Spektrums zusammen und ist als Komponist und Violinist an der neuen Theaterproduktion „Tabu“ mit der Schauspielerin Seela Sella und dem Regisseur Kristian Smeds am finnischen Nationaltheater beteiligt.

2013 wurde Pekka Kuusisto der Musikpreis des Nordischen Rates verliehen – die Preisrichter beschrieben ihn als „ein Violinist der absoluten Elite.“

Stand: Juni 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen