Tamara Stefanovich

“Fearless, dazzling, exceptional” (The Guardian)

Tamara Stefanovich is captivating audiences worldwide with her highly elaborated recital programmes, as chamber musician or soloist with the world’s leading orchestras. Being passionate about a broad repertoire from Bach to the contemporary, she has performed with the Cleveland Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony and Philharmonic Orchestras, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Bamberger Symphoniker and Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen amongst others. Stefanovich performs at the world’s major concert venues including Suntory Hall Tokyo and London’s Royal Albert and Wigmore Halls. She features in international festivals such as La Roque d’Antheron, Salzburger Festspiele and Beethovenfest Bonn. In the current season Stefanovich will perform at Hamburg’s Elbphihlarmonie, London’s Barbican Center, Vienna’s Konzerthaus and Brussel’s Flagey.

The 2018/19 season saw Tamara Stefanovich debut with the hr-Sinfonieorchester, giving the world premiere of Zeynep Gedizliogu’s new piano concerto alongside returns to Stavanger Symphony Orchestra and the Danish National Symphony Orchestra for performances of Hans Abrahamsen’s “Left, alone”. Highlights of the 2019/20 season include performances with Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and Kirill Petrenko, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks with Pablo Heras-Casado and Philharmonia Orchestra under Karl-Heinz Steffens amongst others.

Recent engagements have included performances with Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo. Stefanovich also undertook an extensive US recital tour marking the 90th birthday of Pierre Boulez garnering exultant reviews.

Fruitful collaboration connects Tamara Stefanovich with composers including Pierre Boulez, George Benjamin, Hans Abrahamsen and György Kurtág. She works with chamber music partners Such as Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Pierre-Laurent Aimard and Matthias Goerne and regularly partners with conductors such as Esa-Pekka Salonen, Vladimir Jurowski and Susanna Mälkki.

Her award-winning discography includes a recording of Kurtág’s “Quasi una Fantasia” and his double concerto with Asko | Schönberg Ensemble and Reinbert de Leeuw/Jean-Guihen Queyras for ECM. She received the Edison Award and her recording of Bartók’s Concerto for two pianos, percussion and orchestra with Pierre-Laurent Aimard and the London Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Pierre Boulez (Deutsche Grammophon) was nominated for a Grammy Award. Following her first solo recording with works by Bach and Bartók Tamara is dedicating her second album “Influences” to works of Ives, Bartók, Messiaen and Bach. Since its release on Pentatone in March 2019 “Influences” has received five star reviews and has been praised by critics.

Tamara regularly leads educational projects at London’s Barbican Centre, Kölner Philharmonie and at Klavier-Festival Ruhr such as the innovative online project of interactive pedagogical analyses Boulez’ “Notations”: www.explorethescore.org. She was co-founder and curator of Portland International Piano’s Festival “The Clearing”. A convinced European she studied in Belgrade, at Curtis Institute and at Colognes Musikhochschule.

www.tamara-stefanovich.com

As of June 2020

Tamara Stefanovich

© Marco Borggreve

Past Events

Tamara Stefanovich

„Unerschrocken, schillernd, einzigartig“ (The Guardian)

Tamara Stefanovich überzeugt in ihren Konzerten das Publikum weltweit mit ausgeklügelten Recital-Programmen, als Kammermusikerin oder als Solistin der bedeutenden internationalen Orchester. Die Pianistin konzertierte u. a. mit dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, dem London Symphony und Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen. Regelmäßig tritt sie in den renommiertesten Konzertsälen und bei hochkarätigen Festivals auf, darunter die Carnegie Hall in New York, die Berliner Philharmonie, die Wigmore Hall in London, Lucerne Festival und die Salzburger Festspiele. Als Kammermusikerin wird sie in der laufenden Saison in der Elbphilharmonie, Flagey Brüssel, dem Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, dem Konzerthaus Wien sowie Barbican Center in London zu erleben sein.

Im September 2018 brachte sie mit dem hr-Sinfonieorchester das neue Klavierkonzert von Zeynep Gedizlioğlu zur Uraufführung und war unter anderem beim Danish National Symphony Orchestra und Stavanger Symphony Orchestra zu Gast. In der Saison 2019/20 ist sie mit dem Israel Phiharmonic Orchestra mit Kirill Petrenko, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunk und Pablo Heras-Casado und dem Phihlarmonia Orchestra unter Karl-Heinz Steffens zu erleben.

Zuletzt war Tamara Stefanovich mit dem Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, dem MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, WDR Sinfoniesorchester Köln, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo in Konzerten zu hören. Ihre ausgedehnte Rezital-Tournee durch die USA anlässlich Pierre Boulez’ 90. Geburtstag wurde von Kritikern hoch gelobt.

Eine fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit verbindet Tamara Stefanovich mit Komponist*innen wie György Kurtág, Pierre Boulez, Hans Abrahamsen und Sir George Benjamin. Zu ihren musikalischen Partner*innen zählen Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Pierre-Laurent Aimard und Matthias Goerne; regelmäßig arbeitet sie auch mit Dirigent*innen wie Esa-Pekka Salonen, Vladimir Jurowski und Susanna Mälkki.

Ihre preisgekrönte Diskographie umfasst u. a. eine Aufnahme von Kurtágs „Quasi una Fantasia“ und seines Doppelkonzerts mit dem Asko | Schönberg Ensemble unter Reinbert de Leeuw bei ECM. Sie wurde mit dem Edison Award ausgezeichnet und war für die Einspielung von Bartóks Konzert für 2 Klaviere, Schlagzeug und Orchester mit Pierre-Laurent Aimard und dem London Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Pierre Boulez auf Deutsche Grammophon für einen Grammy nominiert. Nach ihrem ersten Solo-Album, auf dem sie Werke von Bach und Bartók präsentierte, widmet sie sich für ihr zweites Album „Influences“, das nach seiner Veröffentlichung von der Presse hoch gelobt wurde, Werken von Ives, Bartók, Messiaen und Bach (März 2019, Pentatone).

Tamara Stefanovichs pädagogisches Engagement erstreckt sich von einer langjährigen Lehrtätigkeit in Belgrad, Köln und Freiburg bis hin zu ihrer Beschäftigung als Jurorin internationaler Klavierwettbewerbe. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Klavier-Festival Ruhr hat sie ein innovatives Online-Projekt veröffentlicht (www.explorethescore.org), in dem sie interaktiv Boulez’ „Notations“ analysiert. Außerdem war sie Kuratorin des Festivals „The Clearing“ im Rahmen der Portland International Piano Series. Die überzeugte Europäerin wurde an der Universität Belgrad ausgebildet, wo sie Psychologie, Soziologie und Pädagogik studierte, ehe sie am Curtis Institute (USA) und an der Musikhochschule Köln ihr Studium fortsetzte.

www.tamara-stefanovich.com

Stand: Mai 2020

Tamara Stefanovich

© Marco Borggreve

Vergangene Veranstaltungen