Ann Masina

Ann Masina was born in the late 70s in Witbank, Mpumalanga and started singing in Africa Sings Choral Society in 1994 as a soloist. She participated in numerous choir competitions such as the Old Mutual/Telkom Competition and the Ikwekwezi Choral Competition.

In 1999, she joined the Nico Malan Opera House, also known as Cape Town Opera House and presently headed by Professor Angelo Gobbato. She performed operas such as “Carmen” and “Aida” with great acclaim. Masina took her vocal training under the tutelage of Pierre du Toit from the Pretoria Technikon OperaSchool. She is a co-founder of JOAT Opera Group, a self-supporting company performing extracts from different operas and musical at various social and official events. In 2002, she performed in a musical called “Sauer Street” at the Wits Theatre, performing with the late Lindelani Buthelezi and the late Ramolao Makhene as well as with the JMI Ochestra.

In 2003, she performed with the Black Tie Ensemble. In 2004, she was a soloist at the Sowetan Nation Building Mass Choir Festival. In 2008, she joined a European Tour by the double Grammy Award Winners Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC). She performed at the 46664 Concert at Hyde Park in London with the SGC as ambassadors for the late former South African President, Nelson Mandela. In 2008 and 2009, she took part in the Robyn Orlin productions “Dressed to Kill, Killed to Dress” and “Walking Next to Our Shoes” with an extensive tour of France.

In 2009, she performed with the Bala Brothers at Gold Reef City, did a Japan/Singapore-tour with the Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC) and performed at the FIFA Final Draw in Cape Town. In 2011, she renewed her collaboration with Robyn Orlin in the production “Venus / have u hugged, kissed and respected your brown Venus today”. Since 2012, she has been a part of William Kentridge’ “Refusal of Time”-workshop and the performance of “Refuse the Hour”, which toured through Europe (Festival Avignon, RomaEuropa, Holland Festival).

Masina is a versatile, talented and formidably large woman with an even bigger voice who handles opera, classical, gospel, jazz and pop with great aplomb.

As of May 2016

Past Events

Ann Masina

 

Ann Masina wurde Ende der 70er Jahre in Witbank, Mpumalanga geboren und begann 1994 als Solistin in der Africa Sings Choral Society zu singen. Sie nahm an zahlreichen Chorwettbewerben teil, darunter die „Old Mutual/Telkom Competition“ und die „Ikwekwezi Choral Competition“.

Im Jahr 1999 wurde sie am Nico Malan Opera House engagiert, das auch als Cape Town Opera House bekannt ist und von Professor Angelo Gobbato geleitet wird. Sie trat mit großem Erfolg in Opern wie „Carmen“ und „Aida“ auf. Ann Masina bildete ihre Stimme bei Pierre du Toit von der Pretoria Technikon Opera School aus. Sie ist Mitgründerin der JOAT Opera Group, einer unabhängigen Gruppe, die bei verschiedenen sozialen und offiziellen Anlässen Auszüge aus Opern vorträgt. Im Jahr 2002 wirkte sie im Musical „Sauer Street“ am Wits Theatre mit und arbeitete dabei mit den mittlerweile verstorbenen Künstlern Lindelani Buthelezi und Ramolao Makhene sowie dem JMI Orchestra zusammen.

2003 trat sie gemeinsam mit dem Black Tie Ensemble auf und 2004 war sie Solistin beim Sowetan Nation Building Choir Festival. Im Jahr 2008 nahm sie an einer Europatournee des zweifachen Grammy-Gewinners Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC) teil. Sie trat mit dem SGC als Botschafter Nelson Mandelas beim 46664-Konzert im Londoner Hyde Park auf. 2008 und 2009 wirkte sie bei Robyn Orlins Produktionen „Dressed to Kill, Killed to Dress“ und „Walking Next to Our Shoes“ mit, die in zahlreichen Orten Frankreichs zu sehen war.

Im Jahr 2009 trat sie mit den Bala Brothers in Gold Reef City auf, tourte mit dem SGC in Japan und Singapur und sang bei der FIFA Endrundenauslosung in Kapstadt. 2011 arbeitete sie bei der Produktion „Venus / Have u hugged, kissed and respected your brown Venus today“ erneut mit der Choreographin Robyn Orlin zusammen. Seit 2012 wirkt sie beim Workshop „Refusal of Time“ und bei der Produktion „Refuse the Hour“ von William Kentridge mit, die in Europa gastiert (u.a. beim Festival d’Avignon, RomaEuropa und beim Holland Festival).

Ann Masina ist eine vielseitige, talentierte und beeindruckende starke Frau mit einer noch stärkeren Stimme, die souverän zwischen den Fächern Oper, Klassik, Gospel, Jazz und Pop wechselt.

Stand: Mai 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen