Matthew Ford

© Matthew Ford

Matthew Ford

Matt Ford is widely regarded as the finest big band singer in the UK, performing for 5 years with the multi-award winning Syd Lawrence Orchestra. In 2006 Matt was voted “Best UK Male Big Band Vocalist” and nominated alongside Jamie Cullum in the inaugural Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Awards (Best UK Male Vocalist category). As a soloist Matt makes regular appearances with the John Wilson Orchestra, the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and BBC Concert Orchestras, and has also worked with the Northern Sinfonia, City of Birmingham Symphony, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Halle and Philharmonia Orchestras. Matt Ford has worked with many conductors including John Wilson, Neil Thompson, David Brophy, Robert Ziegler, Richard Balcombe, Stephen Bell and Larry Blank.

In 2009 Matt broadcast with the BBC Big Band for the 30th Anniversary of BBC Radio 2’s “Big Band Special”. His appearances with the RTE Concert Orchestra are regularly broadcast on RTE 1 and Lyric FM throughout Eire, whilst his album recordings have aired across the UK on BBC Radio 2. In 2010 Matt was invited to join the cast of “Singing in the Rain” (as R.F Simpson) for the first ever concert performance of the original film score, performed at Royal Festival Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra. In May 2011 Matt recorded “That’s Entertainment” for EMI Classics with the John Wilson Orchestra and in September 2011 Ford made his BBC Proms debut performing as featured soloist in “Hooray For Hollywood” with the John Wilson Orchestra which was broadcast on BBC TV and radio. Matt returned to the BBC Proms in August 2013 in “Hollywood Rhapsody” with the John Wilson Orchestra and American jazz star Jane Monheit. He made his US Debut in October 2013 in Los Angeles with the John Wilson Orchestra alongside Seth MacFarlane, Anna Jane Casey, Sierra Boggess and Julian Ovenden.

In 2014 Matt Ford returned to Dublin with the RTE CO and to BBC Radio 2, Celebrating Doris Day’s 90th Birthday, with the Clare Teal and the BBC CO for “Friday Night Is Music Night”. In 2014 he performed at the Harrogate, Aldeburgh and Grafenegg festivals with the John Wilson Orchestra, and at Henley, Petworth and Malling with “Close To You”, a new Sinatra show celebrating his much acclaimed recordings with the Hollywood String Quartet. In 2015 Matt Ford appeared on television on Sky Arts “Cole Porter in Hollywood” and on the BBC Four Documentary “The Sound Of Song”. Concert appearances in 2015 included the Halle Orchestra in a tribute to Gene Kelly, the RTE Concert Orchestra and performances at Hampton Court Palace, Harrogate, Cheltenham, Aldeburgh, Newry, and Thaxted Festivals and a national tour “Gershwin in Hollywood” with the John Wilson Orchestra. In February 2016 he made his debut in France with a live broadcast on French national radio with his own show from the Auditorium de la Maison de la radio. Matt Ford features on the John Wilson Orchestra’s new CD release “Gershwin in Hollywood” which was released in May 2016 on Warner Classics.

www.matthewford.info

As of August 2016

Past Events

Matthew Ford

© Matthew Ford

Matthew Ford

 

Matthew Ford wird weithin als der beste Bigband-Sänger im Vereinigten Königreich angesehen und hat fünf Jahre lang beim mehrfach ausgezeichneten Syd Lawrence Orchestra gesungen. Im Jahr 2006 wurde er zum „Best UK Male Big Band Vocalist“ gewählt und gemeinsam mit Jamie Cullum bei den ersten Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Awards nominiert (in der Kategorie „Best UK Male Vocalist“). Als Solist ist Matt Ford regelmäßig mit dem John Wilson Orchestra, dem RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra und dem BBC Concert Orchestra zu hören und hat außerdem mit der Northern Sinfonia, dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestras und den Orchestern Hallé und Philharmonia zusammengearbeitet. Matt Ford arbeitete unter anderem mit den Dirigenten John Wilson, Neil Thompson, David Brophy, Robert Ziegler, Richard Balcombe, Stephen Bell und Larry Blank zusammen.

2009 sang Matt Ford für die BBC Big Band bei einer Sendung aus Anlass des 30. Jubiläums des BBC Radio 2-Programms „Big Band Special“. Seine Auftritte mit dem RTÉ Concert Orchestra werden regelmäßig auf RTÉ 1 und Lyric FM in ganz Irland ausgestrahlt und seine Alben sind im gesamten Vereinigten Königreich auf BBC Radio 2 zu hören. 2010 wurde Matt Ford eingeladen, im Musical „Singin’ in the Rain“ die Rolle des R.F. Simpson bei der ersten konzertanten Aufführung der Originalpartitur mit dem Philharmonia Orchester in der Royal Festival Hall zu übernehmen. Im Mai 2011 nahm er mit dem John Wilson Orchester „That’s Entertainment“ für das Label EMI Classics auf und im September 2011 gab er sein Debüt bei den BBC Proms, wo er als Solist zusammen mit dem John Wilson Orchestra in „Hooray for Hollywood“ auftrat. Das Konzert wurde im Rundfunk- und Fernsehprogramm ausgestrahlt. Im August 2013 war er erneut mit dem John Wilson Orchestra bei den Proms zu erleben, in „Hollywood Rhapsody“ mit der amerikanischen Sängerin Jane Monheit. Im Oktober 2013 trat er zum ersten Mal bei einem Konzert in Los Angeles mit dem John Wilson Orchestra in den Vereinigten Staaten auf, neben Seth MacFarlane, Anna Jane Casey, Sierra Boggess und Julian Ovenden.

2014 arbeitete Ford wieder in Dublin mit dem RTÉ Concert Orchestra zusammen. Er wirkte an der BBC Radio 2-Sendung „Friday Night is Music Night“ mit, in der die Sängerin und Moderatorin Clare Teal Doris Day zu ihrem 90. Geburtstag gemeinsam mit dem BBC Concert Orchestra ehrte. Im selben Jahr trat Matt Ford mit dem John Wilson Orchestra bei Festivals in Harrogate, Aldeburgh und Grafenegg auf. In Henley, Petworth und Malling stellte er „Close to You“ vor, ein neues Frank Sinatra-Programm, in dem seine gefeierten Aufnahmen mit dem Hollywood String Quartet neu präsentiert wurden. 2015 wirkte Matt Ford bei Fernsehsendungen auf Sky Arts („Cole Porter in Hollywood“) und BBC Four (in der Dokumentation „The Sound of Song“) mit. Er spielte mit dem Hallé Orchester ein Gene Kelly-Tributkonzert, arbeitete mit dem RTÉ Concert Orchestra zusammen, trat im Hampton Court Palace auf, bei Festivals in Harrogate, Cheltenham, Aldeburgh, Newry und Thaxted und nahm an einer nationalen Tournee mit dem John Wilson Orchestra und dem Programm „Gershwin in Hollywood“ teil.

Im Februar 2016 war er zum ersten Mal bei einer Live-Übertragung seines eigenen Konzertprogramms aus dem „Auditorium de la Maison de la Radio“ im staatlichen französischen Rundfunk zu hören. Matt Ford wirkte an „Gershwin in Hollywood“ mit, der neuesten CD-Veröffentlichung des John Wilson Orchestras die im Mai 2016 bei Warner Classics erschien.

In seiner Freizeit entspannt er sich beim Sport (Schwimmen und Golf). Er hat auch den London Marathon durchgestanden, was er außer als einen seiner größten Erfolge jenseits seiner Sängerkarriere ansieht. Mit seiner Familie lebt er auf dem Land in Leicestershire.

www.matthewford.info 

Stand: August 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen