Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela

The Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela (SBSOV) was founded by maestro José Antonio Abreu and is the flagship orchestra of the National System of Youth and Children’s Orchestras and Choirs of Venezuela. Under the music direction of maestro Gustavo Dudamel, its 170 members – who have been named UNESCO Artists for Peace – have been trained under the El Sistema’s Orchestral Academic Program, taking master classes with distinguished professors and performing under conductors of international stature such as Sir Simon Rattle, Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Kristof Penderecki, Esa-Pekka Salonen and Lorin Maazel.

Between 2000 and 2014, the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra toured in Europe, Asia and the Americas, appearing at festivals such as the BBC Proms in London, the Edinburgh International Festival, the Schleswig-Holstein Festival, the Semperoper of the Sächsische Staatsoper Dresden, Carnegie Hall’s “Lights, Voices from Latin America”, the Lucerne and Salzburg festivals, the Istanbul Music Festival and the Immortal Beethoven Festival held in Los Angeles.

Different venues around the world have had the SBSOV on their stages, including the Royal Festival Hall, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, the Salle Pleyel in Paris, the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, and many others in cities such as Oslo, Stockholm, St. Petersburg, Moscow, Warsaw, Athens, Granada, Madrid, Barcelona, Zurich, Beijing, Seoul, Tokyo, Chicago, Philadelphia, Washington, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Toronto, Montreal and Bogotá.

The SBSOV has been resident orchestra at the Lucerne Festival at Easter (2010); the Walt Disney Hall (January-February 2012) – as part of the Mahler Project in which Dudamel led Mahler’s nine completed symphonies with the LA Phil and the SBSOV in Los Angeles and later in Caracas – ; the Salzburg Festival (2013), where it became the first foreign orchestra to take on the ritual of performing Mozart’s Mass in C Minor in St Peter’s Abbey; the Teatro alla Scala in Milan (2015), where the Bolívars gave three concerts and eight performances of Giacomo Puccini's “La Bohème”, becoming thus the first orchestra not based at Teatro alla Scala featured by the prestigious opera house in one of its productions of “La Bohème”.

The Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra and Gustavo Dudamel are exclusive artists of Deutsche Grammophon, with which they recorded Beethoven’s Fifth and Seventh's Symphonies and Mahler’s Fifth Symphony, as well as their successful album “Fiesta”, and an album that features works by Tchaikovsky, including the Fifth Symphony and “Francesca da Rimini”. In 2013, the SBSOV recorded the soundtrack of Alberto Arvelo's film “El Libertador”, under the baton of Gustavo Dudamel, who composed it. A year later, they recorded an album featuring extracts from Richard Wagner's operatic tetralogy “Der Ring des Nibelungen”.

The Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela gratefully acknowledges the generous support provided by the Hilti Foundation with the purchase of instruments.

www.fundamusical.org.ve

As of August 2016

Past Events

Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela

Das Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela (OSSBV)wurde von Maestro José Antonia Abreu gegründet und ist das Vorzeigeorchester des nationalen Systems für Jugend- und Kinderorchester und -chöre in Venezuela (El Sistema). Unter der musikalischen Leitung von Maestro Gustavo Dudamel wurden seine 170 Mitglieder – die von der UNESCO zu „Künstlern für den Frieden“ ernannt wurden – im Rahmen des akademischen Orchesterprogramms des El Sistema ausgebildet. Sie besuchten Meisterklassen bei hervorragenden Lehrern und spielten unter der Leitung von international renommierten Dirigenten wie Sir Simon Rattle, Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Krzysztof Penderecki, Esa-Pekka Salonen und Lorin Maazel.

Zwischen 2000 und 2014 unternahm das Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela Konzertreisen durch Europa, Asien sowie Nord- und Südamerika und trat dabei auf Festivals wie den BBC Proms, dem Edinburgh International Festival, dem Schleswig-Holstein Festival auf, in der Semperoper der Sächsischen Staatsoper Dresden und in der Carnegie Hall bei „Lights, Voices from Latin America“. Außerdem waren sie bei den Festivals von Luzern und Salzburg zu erleben, beim Istanbul Music Festival und beim „Immortal Beethoven“-Festival in Los Angeles.

Das OSSBV war in verschiedensten Konzertsälen in aller Welt zu erleben, darunter die Royal Festival Hall, das Wiener Konzerthaus, das Teatro alla Scala in Mailand, die Pariser Salle Pleyel, die Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom, das Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires und viele weitere in Städten wie Oslo, Stockholm, Sankt Petersburg, Moskau, Warschau, Athen, Granada, Madrid, Barcelona, Zürich, Beijing, Seoul, Tokio, Chicago, Philadelphia, Washington, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Toronto, Montreal und Bogotá.

Das OSSBV war als Gastorchester beim Luzerner Osterfestival (2010), an der Walt Disney Hall (Januar/Februar 2012, als Teil des Mahlerprojekts, bei dem Gustavo Dudamel die neun Mahler-Symphonien mit dem Los Angeles Philharmonic und dem OSSBV in Los Angeles und später in Caracas dirigierte), bei den Salzburger Festspielen (2013), wo es als erstes ausländisches Orchester die alljährliche Darbietung von Mozarts c-Moll-Messe in der Stiftskirche St. Peter übernahm, beim Teatro alla Scala (2015), wo die Bolívaren drei Konzerte gaben und acht Vorstellungen von Giacomo Puccinis „La Bohème“ begleiteten und damit als erstes nicht fest an der Scala engagiertes Orchester in diesem gefeierten Opernhaus an einer Produktion von „La Bohème“ mitwirkte.

Das Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela und Gustavo Dudamel sind Exklusivkünstler der Deutschen Grammophon, für die sie Beethovens Fünfte und Siebte Symphonie sowie Mahlers Fünfte Symphonie einspielten, außerdem ihr erfolgreiches Album „Fiesta“ sowie ein Album mit Werken von Tschaikowski, darunter die Fünfte Symphonie und „Francesca da Rimini“. Im Jahr 2013 nahm das OSSBV die Filmmusik von Alberto Arvelos Film „El Libertador“ auf, dirigiert von Gustavo Dudamel, der sie auch komponierte. Ein Jahr später nahmen sie ein Album mit Auszügen aus Richard Wagners Opernzyklus „Der Ring der Nibelungen“ auf.

Das Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar de Venezuela dankt der Hilti-Stiftung für ihre großzügige Unterstützung bei der Anschaffung von Instrumenten hin.

www.fundamusical.org.ve 

Stand: August 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen