Shelly Kupferberg

Shelly Kupferberg

Shelly Kupferberg was born in 1974 in Tel-Aviv, and grew up in former West Berlin. She studied journalism, theatre studies and musicology at the Free University Berlin and began working as a journalist for public radio while still a student. For over 20 years now, she has contributed to ARD, moderated culture, society and book magazine programmes (Deutschlandradio, former radiomultikulti, Funkhaus Europa, rbb Kulturradio, rbb television) and works as a freelance editor for Deutschlandradio Kultur.

In her role as a moderator she has appeared on stage with countless international authors, including TC Boyle, Zeruyah Shalev, Donna Leon, Martin Suter, Jonathan Safran Foer, Amos Oz, Arnon Grünberg, Otto de Kat, Cornelia Funke, etc. Since 2000, she has been active as a moderator at Berlin’s international literature festival, has moderated the Harbour Front Literaturfestival Hamburg for many years now and has been a regular fixture at readings with international authors under the patronage of foreign minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier. One of her thematic focal points is contemporary literature from Israel, and she regularly moderates the Goethe-Institut und Heinrich Böll Foundation’s German-Israeli Literature Days, as well as readings with Israeli authors at the Leipzig Book Fair. She was also a moderator at the international Authors’ Conference in Berlin in 2014 and 2016.

In addition to culture and literature, her thematic focal points include civil society, democracy and participation, discrimination and migration. For many years now, she has moderated events/awards ceremonies for foundations, ministries, cultural institutions and festivals. As a moderator, she is also present at the Berlinale and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin’s Opera Lounge. In 2015, she was active as a moderator within the framework of Queen Elizabeth II’s visit to Berlin. This spring, she moderated a “Symphonic Mob” for the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester under conductor Kent Nagano.

As of August 2016

Shelly Kupferberg

Shelly Kupferberg

Shelly Kupferberg, 1974 in Tel-Aviv geboren, wuchs in West-Berlin auf. Sie studierte Publizistik, Theater- und Musikwissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin und begann schon während ihres Studiums, als Journalistin für den öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk zu arbeiten. Neben zahlreichen Beiträgen für die ARD moderiert sie seit über 20 Jahren Kultur-, Gesellschafts- und Buchmagazine (Deutschlandradio, ehem. radiomultikulti, Funkhaus Europa, Kulturradio vom rbb, rbb Fernsehen) und arbeitet als freie Redakteurin für Deutschlandradio Kultur.

Als Moderatorin ist sie mit zahlreichen internationalen Schriftsteller*innen auf der Bühne in ganz Deutschland zu erleben, darunter TC Boyle, Zeruyah Shalev, Donna Leon, Martin Suter, Jonathan Safran Foer, Amos Oz, Arnon Grünberg, Otto de Kat, Cornelia Funke, etc. Seit dem Jahr 2000 ist sie als Moderatorin beim internationalen literaturfestival berlin unterwegs, moderiert seit vielen Jahren beim Harbour Front Literatur Festival Hamburg und hat für Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier regelmäßig Lesungen mit internationalen Autor*innen moderiert. Einer ihrer thematischen Schwerpunkte ist zeitgenössische Literatur aus Israel, seit vielen Jahren moderiert sie die deutsch-israelischen Literaturtage von Goethe-Institut und Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung und Veranstaltungen mit israelischen Schriftsteller*innen auf der Leipziger Buchmesse. Ebenso moderierte sie die internationale Schriftstellerkonferenz in Berlin 2014 und 2016.

Ihre thematischen Schwerpunkte sind neben der Kultur und Literatur im Besonderen auch Themen, wie Zivilgesellschaft, Demokratie und Partizipation, Diskriminierungs-, sowie Migrationsthemen. Sie moderiert neben diversen Radiosendungen seit vielen Jahren Veranstaltungen/Preisverleihungen für Stiftungen, Ministerien, Kultureinrichtungen und Festivals. Als Moderatorin ist sie ebenfalls u.a. bei der Berlinale zu erleben, wie auch im Rahmen der regelmäßigen „Opera Lounge“ der Deutschen Oper Berlin. 2015 moderierte sie Queen Elizabeth II. im Rahmen ihres Besuchs in Berlin. Für das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin moderierte sie in diesem Frühjahr einen „Symphonic Mob“ unter der Leitung des Dirigenten Kent Nagano.

Stand: August 2016