Vimbayi Kaziboni

Described as “a conductor of great intensity without distancing, maneuvering without indifference” (Neue Musikzeitung), Zimbabwean-born conductor, Vimbayi Kaziboni (*1988) has led many critically lauded performances with orchestras across the globe, in Australia, Austria, Brazil, France, Germany, Kyrgyzstan, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland the United Kingdom, the United States and Uzbekistan, performing at some of the most prestigious concert halls in the world, including Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Hall, Lincoln Center, South Bank Centre, Philharmonie de Paris, Elbphilharmonie, Deutschlandfunk, Hessischer Rundfunk, Oper Frankfurt, Sala São Paulo, among others.

In the upcoming season, Kaziboni makes debuts at the Berlin Philharmonie, Kölner Philharmonie, Tonhalle Düsseldorf, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Wiener Konzerthaus, Davies Symphony Hall, and the Concertgebouw. Kaziboni will also make debuts conducting the London Sinfonietta, Los Angeles Philharmonic (National Composers Intensive), San Francisco Symphony (Sound Box), the Boston Lyric Opera, the Grossman Ensemble, and will serve as assistant conductor to Sir Simon Rattle at the BBC Proms at Royal Albert Hall in London.

Hailed among the foremost interpreters of contemporary music of his generation, Kaziboni has worked directly with many of the leading composers that include Helmut Lachenmann, Steve Reich, George Benjamin, Heiner Goebbels, Augusta Read Thomas, John Adams, George Lewis, Liza Lim, Morten Lauridsen, Dai Fujikura, Rebecca Saunders, Matthias Pintscher, Olga Neuwirth, Bruno Mantovani, Nicolaus A. Huber, and Jacob TV and many others. Kaziboni has had a long association with two of the foremost orchestras of contemporary music in Europe: Ensemble Modern (Frankfurt), first as conductor of the International Ensemble Modern Academy (2012/13); and Ensemble Intercontemporain (Paris), first as assistant conductor (2015/17).

Kaziboni has also been artistic director of The What’s Next? Ensemble (Los Angeles), artistic director of The New Philharmonic Omaha, and director of orchestras at Gettysburg College. In addition, recent collaborators have included International Contemporary Ensemble (New York), Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Ensemble Contrechamps (Geneva), Omaha Symphony, Hamburg Camerata, Omnibus Ensemble (Tashkent) and the Martha Graham Dance Company (New York).

A former Fulbright Fellow (2013–2014), Mr. Kaziboni holds degrees from the University of Southern California (USC) in Los Angeles and the University of Music and Performing Arts Frankfurt (HfMDK) in Germany. He serves as a professor of orchestral studies at Boston Conservatory.

www.vimbayikaziboni.com

As of February 2017

Vimbayi Kaziboni

© Ensemble intercontemporain

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Vimbayi Kaziboni

Der 1988 in Simbabwe geborene Dirigent Vimbayi Kaziboni wird als „ein Dirigent von großer Intensität“ charakterisiert (Neue Musikzeitung). Von der Kritik hoch gelobt sind seine Auftritte mit Orchestern auf der ganzen Welt, so in Australien, Österreich, Brasilien und Frankreich, Deutschland, Kirgisistan, Mexiko, Niederlanden, Neuseeland, Philippinen, Südafrika, Spanien, Schweiz, Vereinigten Königreich, Vereinigten Staaten und Usbekistan. Er ist Gast in den renommiertesten Konzertsälen der Welt, darunter die Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Hall, Lincoln Center, South Bank Center, Philharmonie de Paris, Elbphilharmonie, Hessischer Rundfunk, Oper Frankfurt, Sala São Paulo und viele andere mehr.

In der kommenden Saison debütiert Vimbayi Kaziboni in der Berliner Philharmonie, der Kölner Philharmonie, der Tonhalle Düsseldorf, dem Bayerischen Rundfunk, dem Wiener Konzerthaus, dem Davies Symphony Hall und dem Concertgebouw. Kaziboni wird außerdem zum ersten Mal die London Sinfonietta, die Los Angeles Philharmonic (National Composers Intensive), die San Francisco Symphony (Sound Box), die Boston Lyric Opera und das Grossman Ensemble leiten und als Assistent des Dirigenten Sir Simon Rattle bei den BBC Proms in der Royal Albert Hall in London agieren.

Kaziboni zählt in seiner Generation zu den führenden Interpret*innen zeitgenössischer Musik und arbeitet mit vielen der führenden Komponist*innen unserer Zeit zusammen, darunter Helmut Lachenmann, Steve Reich, George Benjamin, Heiner Goebbels, Augusta Read Thomas, John Adams und George Lewis, Liza Lim, Morten Lauridsen, Dai Fujikura, Rebecca Saunders, Matthias Pintscher, Olga Neuwirth, Bruno Mantovani, Nicolaus A. Huber und Jacob TV unter vielen anderen. Mit zwei der bedeutendsten Ensembles zeitgenössischer Musik in Europa pflegt er intensive Beziehungen: dem Ensemble Modern aus Frankfurt, hier zuerst als Dirigent der International Ensemble Modern Academy (2012/13) und dem Ensemble Intercontemporain aus Paris, dort zunächst als Assistent des Dirigenten (2015/17).

Kaziboni war künstlerischer Leiter des The What’s Next? Ensemble (Los Angeles), künstlerischer Leiter der New Philharmonic Omaha und Orchesterdirektor am Gettysburg College. Zuletzt hat er mit dem International Contemporary Ensemble (New York), der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie, dem Ensemble Contrechamps (Genf), der Omaha Symphony, der Hamburg Camerata, dem Omnibus Ensemble (Taschkent) und der Martha Graham Dance Company (New York) zusammengearbeitet.

Als ehemaliger Fulbright Fellow (2013–2014) hat Kaziboni an der University of Southern California (USC) in Los Angeles und an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Frankfurt (HfMDK) in Deutschland studiert. Er ist Professor für Orchesterstudien am Boston Conservatory.

www.vimbayikaziboni.com

Stand: Mai 2020

Vimbayi Kaziboni

© Ensemble intercontemporain

Vergangene Veranstaltungen