Monteverdi Choir

Ever since its founding in the 1960s, the Monteverdi Choir has been a leading force in the world of choral music. Through a combination of consummate technique, historically informed performance practice and a strong appreciation for visual impact, the Choir constantly strives to bring fresh perspectives, immediacy and drama to its performances across the world.

Amongst its many trailblazing tours was the Bach Cantata Pilgrimage in 2000, during which the Choir performed all 198 of Johann Sebastian Bach’s sacred cantatas in over 60 churches throughout Europe and North America. The entire project was recorded and released by the Monteverdi Choir & Orchestra’s record label, Soli Deo Gloria, with Gramophone hailing the venture as “one of the most ambitious musical projects of all time”. The Monteverdi Choir has over 150 recordings to its name and has won numerous prizes.

The Choir has taken part in a variety of projects across different repertoires, ranging from a tour of Bach’s “St Matthew Passion” (performed from memory) with the English Baroque Soloists (EBS) to Berlioz’s “La damnation de Faust” and Verdi’s Requiem with the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique (ORR). It has also performed in several staged opera productions, including “Orphée et Eurydice” at the Royal Opera House (2015), “Der Freischütz” (2010), “Carmen” (2009) at the Opéra Comique in Paris, and “Les Troyens” at the Théâtre du Châtelet (2003). In 2017 the Choir took part in the Royal Philharmonic Society Award-winning Monteverdi 450 project, which saw them perform all three of Monteverdi’s surviving operas with Gardiner and the EBS across Europe and the United States.

In 2019, the Choir showcased a new production of Handel’s “Semele” alongside Gardiner and the English Baroque Soloists, touring to celebrated halls across Europe, including Milan’s Teatro alla Scala. The highlights continued into the summer as the Choir joined Gardiner, the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique and an international cast of soloists for critically acclaimed performances of Berlioz’s “Benvenuto Cellini”. The Choir rounded off the year with a series of debut performances in Russia and South America, performing sacred choral works by Monteverdi, Carissimi, Purcell and Scarlatti.

In 2020, the Monteverdi Choir accompanied the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique in performances of Beethoven’s 9th symphony in Barcelona, New York and Chicago, forming part of a wider project celebrating the 250th anniversary of the composer. The choir was set to continue this tour and perform Beethoven’s “Missa solemnis” across Europe, before the COVID-19 pandemic brought this project to a halt. The ensemble also gave its inaugural concerts at the Settimana di Musica Sacra di Monreale festival in Sicily, performing choral Baroque masterpieces alongside the English Baroque Soloists.

So far in 2021, the choir has performed its first live streamed concert: Bach’s “St John Passion” with the English Baroque Soloists, filmed in Oxford’s historic Sheldonian Theatre and streamed on Deutsche Grammophon’s online platform DG Stage.

Monteverdi Choir

Past Events

Monteverdi Choir

Seit seiner Gründung in den 1960er Jahren ist der Monteverdi Choir eine führende Kraft in der Welt der Chormusik. Durch eine Kombination aus perfekter Technik, historisch informierter Aufführungspraxis und einer starken Wertschätzung für visuelle Wirkung ist der Chor ständig bestrebt, neue Perspektiven, Unmittelbarkeit und Dramatik in seine Aufführungen auf der ganzen Welt zu bringen.

Zu den vielen bahnbrechenden Tourneen gehörte die Bach Cantata Pilgrimage im Jahr 2000, bei der der Chor alle 198 geistlichen Kantaten von Johann Sebastian Bach in über 60 Kirchen in Europa und Nordamerika aufführte. Das gesamte Projekt wurde vom Plattenlabel des Monteverdi Choir & Orchestra, Soli Deo Gloria, aufgenommen und veröffentlicht. Gramophone lobte das Projekt als „eines der ehrgeizigsten musikalischen Projekte aller Zeiten“. Der Monteverdi Choir hat über 150 Aufnahmen eingesungen und zahlreiche Preise dafür gewonnen.

Der Chor hat an einer Vielzahl von Projekten mit unterschiedlichem Repertoire teilgenommen, von einer Tournee mit Bachs „Matthäus-Passion“ (auswendig aufgeführt) mit den English Baroque Soloists bis zu Berlioz' „La damnation de Faust“ und Verdis Requiem mit dem Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique. Außerdem wirkte der Chor in mehreren szenischen Opernproduktionen mit, darunter „Orphée et Eurydice“ am Royal Opera House (2015), „Der Freischütz“ (2010) sowie „Carmen“ (2009) an der Opéra Comique in Paris und „Les Troyens“ am Théâtre du Châtelet (2003). 2017 nahm der Chor an dem mit dem Royal Philharmonic Society Award ausgezeichneten Projekt „Monteverdi 450“ teil, in dessen Rahmen er mit Gardiner und den English Baroque Soloists alle drei erhaltenen Opern Monteverdis in Europa und den USA aufführte.

2019 präsentierte der Chor eine neue Produktion von Händels „Semele“ an der Seite von Gardiner und den English Baroque Soloists und tourte damit durch renommierte Säle in ganz Europa, darunter das Teatro alla Scala in Mailand. Die Höhepunkte setzten sich im Sommer fort, als der Chor zusammen mit Gardiner, dem Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique und einer internationalen Besetzung von Solist*innen eine von der Kritik gefeierte Aufführung von Berlioz' „Benvenuto Cellini“ gab. Der Chor rundete das Jahr mit einer Reihe von Konzerten in Russland und Südamerika ab, bei denen er geistliche Chorwerke von Monteverdi, Carissimi, Purcell und Scarlatti aufführte.

Im Jahr 2020 begleitete der Monteverdi Choir das Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique bei Aufführungen von Beethovens 9. Symphonie in Barcelona, New York und Chicago und war damit Teil eines größeren Projekts zur Feier des 250-jährigen Jubiläums des Komponisten. Das Ensemble gab auch seine Eröffnungskonzerte beim Festival Settimana di Musica Sacra di Monreale in Sizilien, wo es zusammen mit den English Baroque Soloists Meisterwerke des Barocks aufführte.

Im Jahr 2021 hat der Chor bereits sein erstes live gestreamtes Konzert aufgeführt: Bachs „Johannespassion“ mit den English Baroque Soloists, aufgezeichnet im historischen Sheldonian Theatre in Oxford und gestreamt auf der Online-Plattform DG Stage der Deutschen Grammophon.

Monteverdi Choir

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen