George Lewis

George Lewis is the Edwin H. Case Professor of American Music at Columbia University, and Area Chair in Composition. A Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy, Lewis’s other honours include the Doris Duke Artist Award (2019), a MacArthur Fellowship (2002), a Guggenheim Fellowship (2015), a United States Artists Walker Fellowship (2011), an Alpert Award in the Arts (1999), and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Lewis studied composition with Muhal Richard Abrams at the AACM School of Music, and trombone with Dean Hey. A member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) since 1971, Lewis's work in electronic and computer music, computer-based multimedia installations, and notated and improvisative forms is documented on more than 150 recordings, and he is widely regarded as a pioneer of interactive computer music, creating programs that improvise in concert with human musicians. His work has been presented by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonia Orchestra, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart (today SWR Symphonieorchestr), Mivos Quartet, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, London Sinfonietta, Spektral Quartet, Talea Ensemble, Dinosaur Annex, Ensemble Pamplemousse, Wet Ink, Ensemble Erik Satie, Eco Ensemble, and others, with commissions from American Composers Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Harvestworks, Ensemble Either/Or, Orkestra Futura, Turning Point Ensemble, San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, 2010 Vancouver Cultural Olympiad, IRCAM, Glasgow Improvisers Orchestra, and others. His music is published by Edition Peters.

Lewis has served as Fromm Visiting Professor of Music, Harvard University; Ernest Bloch Visiting Professor of Music, University of California, Berkeley; Paul Fromm Composer in Residence, American Academy in Rome; Resident Scholar, Center for Disciplinary Innovation, University of Chicago; and CAC Fitt Artist in Residence, Brown University. Lewis received the 2012 SEAMUS Award from the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States, and his book, A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music (University of Chicago Press, 2008) received the American Book Award and the American Musicological Society’s Music in American Culture Award; Lewis was elected to Honorary Membership in the Society in 2016. Lewis is the co-editor of the two-volume Oxford Handbook of Critical Improvisation Studies (2016), and his opera Afterword (2015), commissioned by the Gray Center for Arts and Inquiry at the University of Chicago, has been performed in the United States, United Kingdom, and the Czech Republic. Lewis holds honorary doctoral degrees from the University of Edinburgh, New College of Florida, and Harvard University.

In 2020/21 George Lewis is a Fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Georges Lewis

© private

Past Events

Georges Lewis

© privat

George Lewis

 

George Lewis ist Edwin H. Case Professor of American Music an der Columbia University und Area Chair im Fach Komposition. Er ist Fellow der American Academy of Arts and Sciences und Correspoding Fellow der British Academy. Weitere Ehrungen für George Lewis sind unter anderem Fellowships der MacArthur Foundation (2002), der Guggenheim Foundation (2015), United States Artists Walker Fellowship (2011), der Alpert Award in the Arts (1999) sowie weitere Fellowships des National Endowment for the Arts.

George Lewis studierte bei Muhal Richard Abrams an der AACM School of Music Komposition und bei Dean Hey Posaune. Er ist seit 1971 Mitglied der Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) und seine Arbeiten im Bereich der elektronischen und computergestützten Musik, computergestützten Multimedia-Installation sowie notierter und improvisierter Formate sind in mehr als 150 Aufnahmen dokumentiert. Seine Werke wurden von Ensembles wie dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, dem London Philharmonia Orchestra, dem Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, dem Mivos Quartet, dem Boston Modern Orchestra Project, der London Sinfonietta, dem Spektral Quartet, dem Talea Ensemble, dem Dinosaur Annex, dem Ensemble Pamplemousse, Wet Ink, dem Ensemble Erik Satie und dem Eco Ensemble aufgeführt. Auftragsarbeiten schuf er unter anderem für das American Composers Orchestra, das International Contemporary Ensemble, Harvestworks, das Ensemble Either/Or, das Orkestra Futura, das Turning Point Ensemble, die San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, die Kultur-Olympiade in Vancouver 2010, IRCAM und das Glasgow Improvisers Orchestra.

Seine Lehrtätigkeit umfasst unter anderem Gastprofessuren und Residenzen an der Harvard University, der University of California, Berkeley, der American Academy in Rom, dem Center for Disciplinary Innovation der University of Chicago und der Brown University. Lewis erhielt im Jahr 2012 den SEAMUS Award der Society for Electro-Acoustic Musik in the United States, und sein Buch “A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music” (University of Chicago Press, 2008) erhielt den American Book Award und den American Culture Award der American Musicological Society. Im Jahr 2016 wurde er zum Ehrenmitglied dieser Gesellschaft gewählt. George Lewis ist Mitherausgeber des zweibändigen „Oxford Handbook of Critical Improvisation Studies“ (2016). Seine Oper „Afterword“ (2015), eine Auftragsarbeit des Gray Center for Arts and Inquiry an der University of Chicago wurde bereits in den Vereinigten Staaten, Großbritannien und der Tschechischen Republik aufgeführt. 2015 erhielt Lewis den Titel eines Doktors der Musik (DMus, Honoris Causa) von der University of Edinburgh und 2017 wurde ihm der Titel Doctor of Humane Letters (PhD, Honoris Causa) des New College of Florida verliehen.

Stand: Juli 2017

Vergangene Veranstaltungen