Justin Doyle

Justin Doyle is Chief Conductor and artistic director of the RIAS Kammerchor Berlin.

Born in 1975 in Lancaster, England, Doyle’s musical education began as a chorister at Westminster Cathedral, and a choral scholar at King’s College, Cambridge. He won second prize in the prestigious Cadaqués Orchestra Conducting Competition in 2006 in Barcelona and was awarded the Conductor Fellowship with the BBC Singers, with whom he continues to work until today.

His work as Chief Conductor of RIAS Kammerchor began with the 2017-18 season with a critically acclaimed debut of the “Marienvesper” by Claudio Monteverdi at the Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin, which he and the choir also presented during their debut in Japan. Since then, he has initiated several commissioned works, which the ensemble presents as world premieres each season. Furthermore, he and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin concentrate on works by Georg Friedrich Händel on a regular basis. He expands the polyphone repertoire of the choir and directs the singers to works such as the “Missa Salisburgensis” by Heinrich Biber or an individual compilation of folk songs from all over the world. The first two recordings with the RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, “Hymn to Cecilia” by Benjamin Britten and “Missa Cellensis” by Joseph Haydn, were celebrated by the audience and critics.

This season Ieads Doyle to ensembles like the choir of the Bayerischer Rundfunk, the MDR-Rundfunkchor, the Swedish Radio Choir, the Coro Sinfônico do Estado de São Paulo and the BBC Singers. Moreover, he worked with orchestras such as the Orchestra of Opera North, the Royal Northern Sinfonia, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and the Finnish Baroque Orchestra on a regular basis.

Justin Doyle is in great demand as an opera conductor as well, especially works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Joseph Haydn and Benjamin Britten, and productions of former seasons at the Opera North, at the Buxton Festival and at the Garsington Opera Festival. Additionally, Justin Doyle commits passionately to music from other cultures and musical education. Since 2018 Doyle has been visiting professor for Choral Conducting at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin. Furthermore, he is Distinguished Visiting Artist at the Finnish Sibelius Academy.

As of July 2020

Justin Doyle

© Matthias Heyde

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Justin Doyle

Justin Doyle ist Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des RIAS Kammerchors Berlin.

1975 in Lancaster geboren, war Doyle zunächst Chorknabe an der Westminster Cathedral in London und später Choral Scholar am renommierten King’s College in Cambridge. Seinen internationalen Durchbruch als Dirigent brachte 2006 ein zweiter Preis bei der angesehenen Cadaqués Orchestra International Conducting Competition in Barcelona sowie ein Stipendium bei den BBC Singers, das den Beginn einer beständigen Zusammenarbeit markierte.

Doyles Arbeit als Chefdirigent des RIAS Kammerchors begann Anfang der Saison 2017/18 mit Claudio Monteverdis „Marienvesper“ im Pierre Boulez Saal, die er beim gemeinsamen Japan-Debüt erneut aufführte. Seitdem hat Doyle eine Reihe mit großen Auftragswerken ins Leben gerufen, die das Ensemble in jeder Saison zur Uraufführung bringt. Darüber hinaus stellt er gemeinsam mit der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin regelmäßig Werke Georg Friedrich Händels in den Mittelpunkt, weitet kontinuierlich das polyphonische Repertoire des Chores aus und leitet die Sänger*innen in Konzerten mit Werken wie Heinrich Bibers monumentaler „Missa Salisburgenis“ oder einer persönlichen Zusammenstellung von Volksliedern aus aller Welt. Die ersten beiden gemeinsamen CD-Einspielungen mit dem RIAS Kammerchor, Benjamin Brittens „Hymn to Cecilia“ und Joseph Haydns „Missa Cellensis“, wurden mit größter Begeisterung von Publikum wie Kritik gefeiert.

Weitere Engagements führen Doyle in der Saison 2020/21 zu Klangkörpern wie dem Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem MDR-Rundfunkchor, dem Swedish Radio Choir, dem Coro Sinfônico do Estado de São Paulo und den BBC Singers. Darüber hinaus arbeitete er regelmäßig mit Orchestern wie dem Orchestra of Opera North, der Royal Northern Sinfonia, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und dem Finnish Baroque Orchestra zusammen.

Auch als Operndirigent ist Justin Doyle sehr gefragt, insbesondere bei Werken von Mozart, Haydn und Britten, mit Produktionen in vergangenen Spielzeiten an der Opera North, beim Buxton Festival wie auch beim Garsington Opera Festival. Nicht zuletzt engagiert sich Justin Doyle mit Leidenschaft für Musik anderer Kulturen und für die musikalische Erziehung. Seit 2018 ist er Gastprofessor im Studiengang Chordirigieren an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin. Darüber hinaus ist er Distinguished Visiting Artist an der finnischen Sibelius-Akademie.

Stand: Juli 2020

Justin Doyle

© Matthias Heyde

Vergangene Veranstaltungen