Antú Romero Nunes

© Armin Smailovic

Antú Romero Nunes

Antú Romero Nunes was born in Tübingen in 1983, the son of a Chilean mother and a Portugese father. He gained his first theatre experience as a director and actor at the Tübinger Theater in Lindenhof. Following this he worked as a direction and production assistant on theatre and film productions in Chile. After his return to Germany in 2005 he began to study Directing at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts in Berlin and as a student he staged productions at theatres in Düsseldorf, Berlin and Schwerin. He directed his final year graduation production, “Der Geisterseher”, based on Schiller’s unfinished novel at the Maxim Gorki Theatre in Berlin, which led to an invitation to the 2010 “Radikal jung” festival for emerging talent at the Munich Volkstheater. His Frankfurt production of ‘Peer Gynt’ earned him another invitation to Radikal jung.

The critics at “Theater heute” magazine voted Antú Romero Nunes as Most Promising Director of the Year 2010 for his production, “Das Prinzip Meese”.

From the 2010/2011 season to 2012/13, he was director in residence at the Maxim Gorki Theatre in Berlin. He staged “Invasion!” by Jonas Hassen Khemiri at Thalia in Gaußstraße for the first time in 2009 and in 2010 he followed it up with “Atropa. Die Rache des Friedens” by Tom Lanoye. “Merlin oder Das wüste Land” was his first production on the main stage at Thalia. “Don Giovanni. Letzte Party” by Mozart/da Ponte and “Moby Dick” by Herman Melville followed.

In March 2012 Antú Romero Nunes received the 2011 Kurt Hübner Prize (a scholarship for young directors) for his piece, “Rocco und seine Brüder” at the Maxim Gorki Theatre, and furthermore his production of “Die Räuber” at the Maxim Gorki Theatre was awarded the Friedrich Luft Prize for the “Best Berlin and Potsdam Production of the Year 2012”.

Antú Romero Nunes has joined Thalia as Director in Residence for the 2014/15 season.

Source: Thalia Theater, Hamburg

As of April 2018

Past Events

Antú Romero Nunes

© Armin Smailovic

Antú Romero Nunes

Antú Romero Nunes wurde 1983 in Tübingen als Sohn einer Chilenin und eines Portugiesen geboren. Erste Theatererfahrungen sammelte er als Regisseur und Schauspieler am Tübinger Theater Lindenhof. Danach arbeitete er als Regie- und Produktionsassistent für Theater- und Filmproduktionen in Chile. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland 2005 begann er sein Regie-Studium an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“ in Berlin und inszenierte während des Studiums an den Theatern in Düsseldorf, Berlin und Schwerin. Seine Diplominszenierung „Der Geisterseher“ nach Schillers Romanfragment realisierte er am Maxim Gorki Theater in Berlin und wurde damit 2010 zum Nachwuchsfestival Radikal jung – Das Festival für junge Regie des Münchner Volkstheaters eingeladen. Auch mit seinem Frankfurter „Peer Gynt“ wurde er zu Radikal jung eingeladen.

Die Kritiker*innen der Zeitschrift „Theater heute" kürten Antú Romero Nunes für seine Inszenierung „Das Prinzip Meese“ zum Nachwuchsregisseur des Jahres 2010.

Von der Spielzeit 2010/11 bis 2012/13 war er Hausregisseur am Maxim Gorki Theater. Am Thalia in der Gaußstraße inszeniert er 2009 „Invasion!“ von Jonas Hassen Khemiri, 2010 folgte „Atropa. Die Rache des Friedens“ von Tom Lanoye. „Merlin oder Das wüste Land“ war seine erste Inszenierung auf der großen Bühne des Thalia Theater Hamburg. „Don Giovanni. Letzte Party“ nach Mozart/da Ponte und „Moby Dick“ nach Herman Melville folgten.

Im März 2012 erhielt Antú Romero Nunes den Kurt-Hübner-Preis 2011 (als Förderpreis für eine junge Regiearbeit) für das Stück „Rocco und seine Brüder“ am Maxim Gorki Theater, außerdem wurde seine Inszenierung „Die Räuber“ am Maxim Gorki Theater als „beste Berliner und Potsdamer Aufführung des Jahres 2012“ mit dem Friedrich-Luft-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Ab der Spielzeit 2014/15 ist Antú Romero Nunes Hausregisseur am Thalia Theater, Hamburg.

Quelle: Thalia Theater, Hamburg

Stand: April 2018

Vergangene Veranstaltungen