Yannick Nézet-Séguin

© Hans van der Woerd

Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Yannick Nézet-Séguin (Montreal, 1975) has been chief conductor of the Rotterdam Philharmonic since 2008. He received his first piano lessons at the age of five. At the Montreal conservatory he studied piano, composition, chamber music and orchestral conducting. At the same time he was trained in choral conducting at the Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey. After his graduation he continued his studies with some of the greatest conductors, among whom Carlo Maria Giulini.

In 2000 Yannick Nézet-Séguin was appointed artistic leader and principal conductor of the Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal – a position he still holds. The same year he conducted his first opera production. In 2005 Yannick Nézet-Séguin made his debut with the Rotterdam Philharmonic that appointed him chief conductor. He is also music director of the Philadelphia Orchestra. As a guest conductor he worked with all major orchestras worldwide, and he conducted opera in the most prestigious theatres.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the Rotterdam Philharmonic have made numerous successful tours, including concerts in London, Paris, Vienna, New York, Toronto, Tokyo and Beijing. Besides they embarked upon a series of much lauded CDs, including an internationally awarded recording of works by Maurice Ravel for EMI Classics and CDs for the Deutsche Grammophon label. Furthermore, Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra combined their versatility in projects ranging from opera’s to family shows and from subscription concerts to community projects.

Next to the concerts in Rotterdam, Yannick Nézet-Séguin’s schedule with the Rotterdam Philharmonic comprises concerts in San Sébastian, Essen, London (BBC Proms), Luzern, Rheingau Festival, Berlin (Musikfest), Dortmund and the prolongation of the orchestra’s residency in the Paris Théâtre des Champs-Elysées.

As of April 2018

Past Events

Yannick Nézet-Séguin

© Hans van der Woerd

Yannick Nézet-Séguin

 

Yannick Nézet-Séguin (*1975 in Montreal) ist seit 2008 Chefdirigent des Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra. Er erhielt seine ersten Klavierstunden im Alter von fünf Jahren und studierte am Konservatorium in Montréal Klavier, Komposition, Kammermusik und Dirigieren. Gleichzeitig ließ er sich zum Chorleiter am Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey ausbilden. Nach seinem Studienabschluss vertiefte er seine Ausbildung direkt bei einigen der großen Dirigenten, unter anderem bei Carlo Maria Giulini.

In Jahr 2000 wurde Yannick Nézet-Séguin zum künstlerischen Leiter und Chefdirigenten des Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal ernannt – eine Position, die immer noch innehält. Im selben Jahr leitet er als Dirigent seine erste Opernproduktion. 2005 hatte er sein Debüt mit dem Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, das ihn dann zu ihrem Chefdirigenten ernannte. Er ist musikalischer Leiter des Philadelphia Orchestra, arbeitet als Gastdirigent mit allen großen Orchestern der Welt und dirigiert Opernaufführungen in den führenden Opernhäusern.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin und das Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra haben zahlreiche erfolgreiche Tourneen absolviert, u.a. nach London, Paris, Wien, New York, Toronto, Tokyo und Beijing. Daneben haben sie eine Reihe hoch gelobter CDs herausgebracht, darunter eine Aufnahme mit Werken von Maurice Ravel für EMI Classics, die international viel Anerkennung fand und CDs für die Deutsche Grammophone. Ihre Vielseitigkeit und ihr Engagement stellen Yannick Nézet-Séguin und das Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra in den unterschiedlichsten Projekten und Formaten unter Beweis, von der Oper zum Familienvorstellung, von Abonnement Konzerten zu sozialen Projekten.

Neben den Konzerten, die Yannick Nézet-Séguin und das Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra in Rotterdam bestreiten, kommen weitere Konzerte in San Sébastian, Essen, London (BBC Proms), Luzern, Rheingau Festival, Berlin (Musikfest Berlin), Dortmund hinzu sowie die Verlängerung der Residenz des Orchesters am Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris.

Stand: April 2018

Vergangene Veranstaltungen