Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

© Guido Pijper

Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra ranks among Europe’s foremost orchestras, being internationally known for the intense energy of its performances, its acclaimed recordings and its innovative audience approach. With performances from the local venues to concert halls worldwide, educational performances and community projects, the orchestra reaches an annual audience of 150,000 to 200,000. In 2018, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra celebrates its 100th anniversary.

Chief conductors
The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1918. From 1930, under chief conductor Eduard Flipse, it developed into one of the foremost orchestras of the Netherlands. In the 1970s, with Jean Fournet and Edo de Waart, the orchestra gained international recognition. Valery Gergiev’s appointment heralded a new period of bloom, which continued from 2008 with Yannick Nézet-Séguin; chief conductor until the 2017–2018 season, after which he remains with the orchestra as honorary conductor. Lahav Shani starts his first season as chief conductor in 2018–2019.

Concerts
Home of the Rotterdam Philharmonic is De Doelen Concert Hall, but the orchestra can frequently be heard in other locations – from the local venues to the most prestigious halls at home and abroad. Since 2010, the Rotterdam Philharmonic has been a resident orchestra of the Paris Théâtre des Champs-Elysées.

Recordings
Since the groundbreaking Mahler recordings with Eduard Flipse in the 1950s, the Rotterdam Philharmonic has made a large number of critically lauded recordings. At present the orchestra has contracts with Deutsche Grammophon and BIS Records; in recent years it also recorded for EMI and Virgin Classics. For the rereleasing of historical recordings the orchestra formed its own label Rotterdam Philharmonic Vintage Recordings.

As of April 2018

Past Events

Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

Das Rotterdamer Philharmonische Orchester zählt zu den führenden Orchestern Europas und ist international bekannt für die intensive Energie seiner Auftritte, seine gefeierten Aufnahmen und seine innovative Publikumsansprache. Mit seinen Auftritten in der Region und in Konzertsälen auf der ganzen Welt, mit pädagogischen Veranstaltungen und Gemeindeprojekten erreicht das Orchester jährlich zwischen 150.000 und 200.000 Zuschauer. Im Jahr 2018 feierte das Rotterdamer Philharmonische Orchester sein 100-jähriges Bestehen.

Chefdirigenten
Das Rotterdamer Philharmonische Orchester wurde 1918 gegründet. Ab 1930 entwickelte es sich unter Chefdirigent Eduard Flipse zu einem der führenden Orchester der Niederlande. In den 1970er Jahren erlangte das Orchester unter Jean Fournet und Edo de Waart internationale Anerkennung. Die Ernennung von Valery Gergiev läutete eine neue Blütezeit ein, die ab 2008 mit Yannick Nézet-Séguin als Chefdirigent bis zur Saison 2017–2018 andauerte, danach bleibt er dem Orchester als Ehrendirigent erhalten. Lahav Shani begann seine erste Saison als Chefdirigent in der Saison 2018-2019.

Konzerte
Die Rotterdamer Philharmonie ist in der Konzerthalle De Doelen beheimatet, aber das Orchester ist auch häufig an anderen Orten zu hören – von den lokalen Spielstätten bis hin zu den renommiertesten Sälen im In- und Ausland. Seit 2010 ist die Rotterdamer Philharmonie Gastorchester des Pariser Théâtre des Champs-Elysées.

Einspielungen
Seit den bahnbrechenden Mahler-Aufnahmen mit Eduard Flipse in den 1950er Jahren hat das Rotterdamer Philharmonische Orchester zahlreiche von der Kritik gelobte Aufnahmen gemacht. Zurzeit hat das Orchester Verträge mit der Deutschen Grammophon und BIS Records; in den letzten Jahren hat es auch für EMI und Virgin Classics aufgenommen. Für die Wiederveröffentlichung historischer Aufnahmen gründete das Orchester sein eigenes Label Rotterdam Philharmonic Vintage Recordings.

Stand: April 2018

Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

© Guido Pijper

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen