CHORWERK RUHR

© Pedro Malinowski

CHORWERK RUHR

CHORWERK RUHR is one of Germany’s leading chamber choirs. Founded in 1999, this ensemble has developed into an established beacon of the vocal arts in the German-speaking world. Its most remarkable quality is to be able to satisfy the exacting demands of solo casting and at the same time achieve perfect fusion of the ensemble within a choral sound.

In November 2011 the multi-award-winning conductor Florian Helgath took over as Artistic Director. He regards the focal point of his work as highlighting new choral music in the context of traditional musical forms, thereby enabling the listener to appreciate its innovation against the background of our rich musical history.

CHORWERK RUHR has established itself as one of the most illustrious artistic names associated with the Ruhr metropolitan region and one of Germany’s top choirs. Since it was founded, the ensemble has performed concerts of music from all periods up to and including the present day with such prominent conductors as Kent Nagano, Sylvain Cambreling, Rupert Huber, Emilio Pomàrico, Peter Rundel and Hans Zender.

In concerts with distinguished orchestras including Berliner Philharmoniker, Concerto Köln, Ensemble Resonanz, l’arte del mondo, Ensemble Modern, Bochumer Symphoniker and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra CHORWERK RUHR has consistently delighted audiences and earned excellent reviews. Numerous recordings with WDR and DLF as well as regular appearances at music festivals both in Germany and abroad reflect the popularity of this excellent ensemble. Every year CHORWERK RUHR performs in a special co-operative project as part of the Ruhrtriennale.

CHORWERK RUHR is an integral part of Kultur Ruhr GmbH, funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

www.chorwerkruhr.de

As of July 2019

Past Events

ChorWerk Ruhr

 

ChorWerk Ruhr zählt zu den bedeutendsten Kammerchören in Deutschland. Das 1999 gegründete Vokalensemble entwickelte sich zu einer festen Säule der Vokalkunst im deutschsprachigen Raum. Die außerordentliche Qualität des Chores ist es, den speziellen Anforderungen solistischer Besetzungen ebenso gerecht zu werden wie eine perfekte Verschmelzung des Ensembles im Chorklang zu erreichen.
Im November 2011 hat der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Dirigent Florian Helgath die Künstlerische Leitung übernommen. Er sieht den Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit darin, neue Chormusik in Bezug auf traditionelle Musikformen zu beleuchten und somit für die Zuhörer*innen vor dem Hintergrund der reichen Musikgeschichte neu wirken zu lassen.
ChorWerk Ruhr hat sich als eines der hochwertigen künstlerischen Markenzeichen der Metropolregion Ruhr und als einer der Spitzenchöre Deutschlands etabliert. Seit der Gründung fanden Konzerte mit Musik aus allen Epochen bis zur Gegenwart statt in Zusammenarbeit mit namhaften Dirigenten wie Frieder Bernius, Sylvain Cambreling, Reinhard Goebel, Robin Gritton, Rupert Huber, Susanna Mälkki, Kent Nagano, Peter Neumann, Emilio Pomàrico, Peter Rundel, Marcus Stenz, Bruno Weil und Hans Zender.
In Konzerten mit renommierten Orchestern wie der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Concerto Köln, Ensemble Resonanz, l’arte del mondo, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble Modern, den Bochumer Symphonikern, dem SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg und dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks begeistert ChorWerk Ruhr immer wieder sein Publikum und erntet herausragende Kritiken. Häufige Aufnahmen durch WDR und DLF und die Teilnahme an nationalen sowie internationalen Musikfestivals spiegeln die Beliebtheit des Ensembles wider. Alljährlich kooperiert ChorWerk Ruhr in besonderer Form mit der Ruhrtriennale.ChorWerk Ruhr ist ein Bestandteil der Kultur Ruhr GmbH, gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Stand: Mai 2018

Vergangene Veranstaltungen